We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So refreshing to see”

Bright Spot Family Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So refreshing to see”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Jasper is still an amazing place, and while it has commercialized, it has not nearly sold out to the point of being another Banff. The Bright Spot is a shinning example of a small town road side diner that stays true to its small town roots. We needed a quick stop during a long drive and decided to try this place. We were seated immediately upon walking in, and the waitress was prompt with our drink orders. The menu is consistent with a road side diner and is similar to a menu you would find at a ABC, Homestyle, or similar chain. What shocked us was the speed of service. We ordered and within 10 minutes had our meal. The meals were great and we were able to keep the stop to 40 minutes including gassing up at the Petro Can. If you are looking for a quick stop on your way through, with low prices and excellent service this place is for you. It stays true to its small town roots, and doesn't make you pay because of its location. Will stop there on the next trip through!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurrowsRulesVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    20
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“great food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

no crowds, great service, good menu. walk in get seated, no lines any time we were there, very pleasant staff

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank marty s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pancakes for breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A local recommended this place to us for breakfast. The petrol station is not normally where I would go for breakfast but I had been in Canada for almost 3 weeks and still hadn't had pancakes and maple syrup for breakfast. This cafe is just like a truck stop diner in the movies and definitely a favourite with the locals. The pancakes were brilliant and hit the spot. Forget the coffee - I had tea but we had a great time! Well worth taking the plunge and eating at the gas station.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Plain, no frills dining”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant reminded me of some you see on American movies that are like mobile units with bench seating. Menu was mainly traditional Canadian fair & recommended by locals. Given we were travelling across Canada dress was limited to walking attire & Jeans which suited this place just fine. I had a beef sandwich which came with a gravy dip & fries & portion was ample washed down with a beer. Husband had house burger with fries & beer - £26.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 324NorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
285 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The menu offers a wide variety of items that are reasonably priced. Service is excellent, as was the food and the portions are generous. The pan fried trout and Mediterranean (Greek) salad is excellent and is recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottAfghanistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bright Spot Family Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Bright Spot Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing