We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miette Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

An excellent little resort! One of the few 'Mom&Pop' places around. Clean, very well maintained, with a friendly staff. The food is good and reasonable priced. It is an ideal location to relax in the mountains -highly recommended across the board.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee maker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    78
    21
    9
    11
See reviews for
78
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Miette Hot Springs Resort
is located adjacent to the Miette Hot Springs Center approx. 18 km up the road from Highway 16 turnoff, high in the Rockies.
There are several options for accomodation - small cabins, and apartment style living quarters that can accomodate either singles, couples or families. The cabins are rustic and the apartments are minimalist, but the apartments do have television (which cabins do not).
Situated high in the Rockies there are options for hiking and sight-seeing, soaking in the hot springs next door or dining in the resort's restaurant that has a good menu with some very good specials including wonderful greek dishes.
The attached store provides some of the basics that you may need, but bring supplies with you unless you plan to take all meals in the restaurant or next door at the Hot Spring's snack bar.The nearest supermarket is in Jasper town (or Hinton).
This is a great home base for many day trips into the Park area and is truely a place to get away from it all as long as you have transportation.
Book EARLY in the season since cabins go quickly.

Room Tip: Cabins are rustic - apartments have sink, stove-top and refridgerator - no oven. There is a general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fitzsidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked a cabin for two nights with another couple.

This is a rustic area, 18 KM up a winding, hilly road, and about 45 minutes outside of the Jasper townsite. This is not a luxurious resort - its basic accommodation for families. The cabins are unpretentious and cozy. They were built in 1938 - so adjust your expectations accordingly. You get beds, sitting area, kitchenette, and dining area plus bathroom with shower only.

Kitchenette is small, fridge is tiny, and you do have to wash your own dishes.

We were happy with the accommodation and enjoyed the rustic, step-back-in-time aspects. An enjoyable stay was had by all.

Little minuses: Beds have seen better days. Ours was saggy in the middle and squeaked something fierce. There aren't really separate bedrooms - just room dividers you pull closed.

At first blush we thought that perhaps the cabins were a tad overpriced - but when you consider the cost of hauling every single up that hill (staff and supplies included) - it's actually quite reasonable.

We ate at the restaurant and found the service friendly and charming, the prices reasonable, but the food only so-so.

We had no trouble with bookings (we changed our reservation a week before we arrived) and found the owners to be helpful and available.

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaSuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a self contained log cabin. I wouldn't say it was a LOG cabin but it was made of wood. It's very dated and run on a shoe string budget. The cabins are dark, the room smelled smokey from the fire place, the beds were creaky and like Becks4444 said " The towels in the bathroom were anciently old ..."
The restaurant food was ok...
Probably should have gone for another room, more updated, but we were in the mountains, close to the pools and we were happy.
Whould I go back? Probably not. I would just do a day trip from Jasper instead.

Room Tip: Don't choose a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just got back from our annual retreat to this great place. As always, everything was fantastic, except the weather which we have no control over and accept. John, Anna and all their staff were fabulous. This year we stayed in the Chalet again. It was very accommodating, clean, and quiet with everything we needed. Apparently they recently put new beds, pillows, etc in there and we sure noted the comfort. It is so wonderful to just relax in the comfort of the room, on the lawn chairs and picnic tables outside of the rooms and, more important, in the hot springs which are just a short walk away. There are also lots of great trails to wander or even just wander around the site for fresh air and exercise. And, of course, I would be remiss if I did not mention the great food, very reasonably priced, in their restaurant. Something I highly recommend. Service is good, price is right and food is great be it for breakfast, lunch or supper. If staying in a kitchenette, you can also bring your own stuff to cook up. Units have everything you need but the spices!

We had a fabulous time once again and look forward to next year. Met some great people from the Netherlands, Winnipeg, etc. The family from the Netherlands were next door neighbors. He is in their military and currently doing duty in Texas. They were great to chat with!

Anna, John, Christina's and staff....we look forward to next year. Keep up the great hospitality and comfort of your wonderful resort.

The Glubish Family

Room Tip: Reluctant to tell my secrets but room 52 in the chalet is an end room so has extra windows...nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I would be very wary pre-booking Miette Hot Springs Resort. I was assisting relatives to pre-book some spots for their Canadian vacation and Miette was one of those locations. I used my credit card on their behalf. Part way through the trip they had to make some changes so I called reservations and because it was inside the 7 day cancellation window I was charged yet when reservations was checked the day of the original reservation there was "no vacancy"!! I am thinking they made double on those rooms that night!! Sad to think we treat visitors this way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

There is something to be said about rustic accommodation and this can be part of an adventure but we were disappointed. Our cabins were dark, stuffy and very dated. The towels in the bathroom were anciently old and the bed absolutely horrible. The mattress was worn out with bumps and sags and super squeaky. The cabin had no coffee maker or microwave.
The owners were just meh. I am not sure if they know how to be friendly or engaging. Too bad. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becks4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
21.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
20.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
21.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
21.3 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,019 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miette Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miette Hot Springs Resort

Property: Miette Hot Springs Resort
Address: Range Road 275A, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in the Rocky Mountains inside Jasper National Park, our wonderful family owned and operated resort adjacent to the beautiful Miette Hot Springs. Our rustic resort offers cozy cabins, chalets, and motel rooms for your stay. Come join us in the restaurant and gift shop before or after your swim. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miette Hot Springs Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing