We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do it”

Maligne Lake Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maligne Lake is the largest glacially formed and fed lake in the Canadian Rockies and those remnants of the last Ice Age still cling to the cliffs, rest in the cirques and cap off the pinnacles of Maligne Lakes' fabulous ring of 3,360 meter mountains. It is the melt waters of those glaciers that give the lake its' lovely, tranquil-blue colour and that backdrop of lofty peaks which holds back the busy world and provides a calming wilderness experience. World-famous Spirit Island, on Maligne Lake is the heart and soul of Jasper National Park. Accessible only by boat this diminutive icon of the Canadian Rockies is the destination point of the scenic Maligne Lake cruise. The worldwide fame of Maligne Lake is historically and intrinsically bound to the art of Photography. Diminutive Spirit Island, resting in the hall of the Gods at the south end of Maligne Lake is, arguably the most photographed locale in the Canadian Rockies.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“do it”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

this is well worth the reasonable cost and experience. this is the picture you see on all the travel magazines and posters in little eateries and you can then exclaim, "I have been there. That is lake Maligne." I have had that happen more than any other place I have visited in my life in Canada, except for maybe Peyto Lake which is near Lake Louise.
There is a restaurant lodge and some fire trails you can walk on as well ,but take the cruise. you will not regret it ...a must do on the trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    198
    61
    29
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Superb 90 mins cruise on lake”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Well worth it if you don't canoe. Staff was helpful when we arrived early to change our internet booking to an earlier time. The onboard guide Cary was friendly and informative. The cruise takes you deep into the lake and the view is panoramic with a 10 min halt at Spirit Island

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seema60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maligne_Lake_1, Guest Relations Manager at Maligne Lake Cruise, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your experience at Maligne Lake. I've passed on your comments to Cary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The very heart of the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you only had one day in the Canadian Rockies, then this cruise would allow you to the very heart of them. This is the unspoiled world that nature provided. Spirit Island, so small but world famed set against a backdrop of a ring of magnificent peaks. How forunate we Canadians are to be able to say: "This is my own, my native land".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank valueadding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So worth it!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We actually just took this cruise today! We bought tickets in advance for the 11:00 AM cruise but got there before 10:00. We were able to be placed on the 10:05 cruise instead. It was a brisk morning but the boat was warm enough inside. There is a snack bar area where you can buy hot chocolate, tea or coffee and take it with you on the boat. That was really nice. Our tour guide was very informative and humorous. She and the boat captain did an excellent job. Once you get to Spirit Island, you only have about 10 minutes for taking pictures. That is the only negative thing about the whole experience. After returning to dock, we visited the snack shop and really great gift shop. Honestly, this was the nicest gift shop we've found so far on this trip. There is also a big deck area outside where you can eat. I highly recommend spending some time at Maligne Lake and taking this cruise. There is a lot of wildlife in this area, especially on the drive to the lake from Jasper. We actually saw a black bear at the lake! It was a beautiful day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maligne_Lake_1, Guest Relations Manager at Maligne Lake Cruise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, MPoe, for your great review! I have passed along your comments to the boat crew who were very pleased to hear them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit expensive, but the scenery was worth it.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We lucked out with a completely clear and sunny sky on the day we made the trip from Jasper to the lake. The drive was nice, giving us a chance to check out some big horned sheep along the way. They were standing about three feet from our vehicle! Once we arrived there we went straight to the tour bookings area and signed on for the hour and a half boat ride. At first I was a little bit turned off by the 60 dollars(ish) per person, but we decided that it was a once a lifetime sort of trip and that we would go. The boat ride out was fun, with a few nice bumps that made for a little excitement. Along the way, the guide gave us a rundown of the lake and area as well as giving us some information on the glacier that feeds the lake. The shore excursion was a good opportunity to get a few pictures of spirit island, though the guide had very little information on that spot. The ride back to the dock was just as nice, and we were able to spend some more time out on the deck of the boat watching the waves and wake of the boat. (You were allowed out on deck anytime the boat wasnt in the process of docking, there and back.)

After landing, we had a burger fresh off the BBQ and wandered around checking out the beautiful scenery.

Good time all around, but be prepared to spend a few bucks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RiderPride13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Lake Cruise also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Lake Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing