We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Might be OK at half the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
526 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Might be OK at half the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

All hotels in Jasper are expensive, and many have negative reviews. Even though I was booking six months in advance, some hotels in Jasper were already sold out. After extensive research, I reserved a room at the Sawridge Inn. My final bill was $522.62 for the two nights.

The hotel is a giant courtyard in the interior and the rooms are arranged around it. Either you have an inner courtyard-facing room, or an exterior outdoors-viewing room. My room faced the courtyard. Looking out my window, I could look directly down onto the people dining below. One morning, I opened the curtain and had a shocking view down a woman's cleavage who was eating breakfast.

The room was hot when I arrived, and there was no external ventilation. I turned on the room air conditioner, and it was extremely noisy. I found the source of the vibration, and jammed a wash cloth in the unit...which seemed to help. The room was never adequately cooled by the old (perhaps 1970's? vintage) control unit.

There was a severe problem with the hot and cold variance in the shower. As you were taking a shower, suddenly the temperature of the water would turn to scalding. This was extremely alarming. My understanding is that there are devices hotels can use to prevent this; obviously they are not installed. This hot surge happened every time I took a shower (sometimes more than once).

The formal dining area is in the same atrium as the pool. During my stay, noisy children seemed to be in the pool during all hours the pool was open. If you attempted to dine during this time, the ambiance was ruined by screams and splashes. When eating a late breakfast, we were forced to shout across the table in an effort to overcome the background annoyance. In addition, you could smell the pool's chlorine from our table.

If you do decide to book a room, try to find out about the "breakfast vouchers". Our waitress seemed surprised that we did not have them. We had to pay full price for the breakfast buffet. The cold buffet seemed like a much better deal than the "hot" buffet; the pancakes and eggs were not worth the extra $$.

The "fitness room" consisted of two pieces of older cardio equipment in an extremely small room facing the pool. There were no weights. For a hotel of this size, two workout machines are completely inadequate. The hotel should not be permitted to advertise a "fitness center".

There was free WiFi in the room, but the keyboard/TV interface was an additional $10 / day.

There was a coffee maker in my room and a small refrigerator. The room was clean. We had two double beds in the room, which made the small room feel cramped.

The hotel is the last one on the main drag through town. It is too far to walk to the downtown restaurants and back. You have to drive and try to find parking.

Due to the high price of the lodging, I ended up being unhappy with my stay at the Sawridge. Next time I will look for lodging outside of Jasper. I would rather spend two nights in a tent than pay that high price again for a room with nothing special.

  • Liked — In the town of Jasper
  • Disliked — Cost of room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    571
    240
    71
    44
See reviews for
360
627
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis,IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

This hotel was nice and relatively close to town but there were a couple problems. First maid service was a bit sloppy. It looked as though someone started to set up the room and then got distracted and forgot to finish it. For example only 1 towel for 2 people. We did request more and got them quickly. Also the food in the restaurant was so so. Several in our group complained the prime rib wasn't very good and the pork was dry. I had trout and pasta both were good.

Helpful?
Thank Cherche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights in the Sawridge but wasnt impressed by this hotel. The location of the hotel is a major drawback as it is right on the outskirts of Jasper and not convenient as it was a good walk into the centre of the town. Room was fine and large. Thankfully we had an outside room with balcony as i wouldnt have liked to have an inside room overlooking the pool and restuarnt which could have been noisy. Staff were not that helpful in reception or in the restuarnt. Had a buffet breakfast each morning during the stay which was good but the dining room was freezing even in the summer. The pool was small but adequate. During our stayed we never used the evening resturant. After leaving we discovered items had been added to our bill which we hadnt used and when we checked out we were told that there was no charges to our room but later we discovered that they had charged us venetually we did get our money back. Average hotel

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Location, Unfriendly staff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just returned from the Canadian Rockies, including a three night stay at the Sawridge. Whereas I would not describe our experience as 'terrible', for the money paid, it certainly was not good. The room we had was ok and located on the exterior with a balcony overlooking the petrol station. Many rooms in this hotel are interior facing rooms overlooking the atrium - pool area or dining room. Guests complained that many of these rooms were dingey. Staff were not unpleasant but did not go out of their way - the front desk alleged not to have long distance telephone connections, the bar served us two wrong meals and the staff at breakfast claimed they had no butter one morning. Talking of breakfast, the buffet was not good and poorly cooked. Eating in the atrium restaurant can be noisy from the swimming pool - but even if not in use the smell of chlorine is hard to igore. I think we were quite fortunate in our experience, but during our visit numerous individuals, both from coach parties and travelling independently had many complaints. Jasper does not appear to have the standard of accommodation say found at Banff - but I'm sure there must be better value hotels. We certainly felt that we had wasted our money for the service provided at the Sawridge.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff.UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

15 minute walk from downtown.Used extensively by the major tour companies.It is worth the extra for a mountain view and balcony.Room average and clean.Small swimming pool.Large resteraunt we did not try as the temperature was far too hot for comfort.A large bar serving bar food,the worst fish and chips we have ever had so did not bother again.Luckily we had good weather and it was not too crowded.Overpriced like all the accomodation in this town.

  • Liked — position and peaceful,stunning views.
  • Disliked — a little dowdy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

The Sawridge was generally acceptable, but I really thought that hotels had cracked the dim lighting problem that was so common until a few years ago.

We had two large beds, but only one bedside table, with a single lamp on it. This had a dim low energy bulb, and it was impossible to read in bed - you had to hold the book directly under the shade,

There were only two other lights in the room, making it generally gloomy.

Housekeeping brought a 60w incandescent bulb for the bedside light, and failed to provide the extra lamp I'd asked for. As the lampshade was so low, this wasn't much of an improvement, so the next time we were in town, I bought a pack of 100w bulbs.

The last time I'd had to do that was in a fleapit fire trap in Blackpool ten years ago, which doesn't reflect very well on the Sawridge.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HarryLTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

We did a trip of British Columbia and Alberta. Jasper was the second to last place we stayed in.

We had an excellent time.

The Sawridge is welcoming and accommodating. It is a big hotel, very very clean, spacious and warm - which we needed after going to the nearby canyon!

The room had a balcony, which was covered in snow!

My husband loved the fact the room had a Nintendo in it! Great for husbands and kids! We also had wireless internet access, which was a great way to contact family, as our mobiles hadn't worked for the 2 weeks prior to this.

The swimming pool and hot tubs are amazing, with a brilliant mural spanning the wall.

The buffalo baguette we had was amazing! So tender and such good service.

All this, but also, out on the lawn were at least 5 elk! great photo opportunity and a great view to see an Elk wander thorugh the car park at night!

  • Liked — The amazing pool and the elk
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fishybaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing