We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the last time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This time we were in a second floor room with a mountain view. I would always request a room away from the pool area as it can get quite loud if there are people using it. It was quite a bit bigger which was nice. We were told this was an upgrade/renovated room. To be honest, not sure what was upgraded... the furniture was worn, the air conditioning/heating unit was old and loud, the bathrooms looked the same.

However, the tv was newer (with many more options including menus for room service) which was nice. There was also an ipod docking station that wasn't in the other room. This is such a small thing but makes such a BIG difference. We really enjoyed it! Please note - because it's a new docking station that the connector is for the newer generation Ipods. That was fine for my ipod but others might need to bring a connector.

There was a wonderful food basket with fresh fruit, cheeses, chocolate and granola bars! A bottle of wine with standard wine glasses (not the small ones you usually find in a hotel room. Unfortunately the majority of the bottle went to waste because only one of us drinks wine. :)
There were robes and slippers on the beds for each of us as well which was a nice treat.

Again, the beds were great. The pillows! I LOVE these pillows. Giant and heavy. Love.

The bathrooms come with quite a few toiletries too. Made by a local company that is so proud of how "green" they are that I sort of felt guilty for using normal products. I don't normally like peppermint but used all of the products in the bathroom. Another nice touch.

Overall it was a good stay. The service was just a great as it was the last time, can't complain about that at all.

Room Tip: Request to be away from the pool area as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelVenom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear AngelVenom99,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wine and fruit basket, as well as the amenities and new TV and docking station. As you noted, we have undergone some changes to our rooms, and the progress is still continuing. We are in fact undergoing major room renovations at this time and we look forward to being able to show these to you on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

After spending one night at the hotel during an overnight stay in Jasper we were generally pleased with our time in this hotel with only a few minor niggles.

The hotel is on the edge of Jasper itself. This is not really an issue as it would of been around a pleasant 15 minute walk along the main street to the centre. However to the amount of rain that night we decided to drive!

The ground floor room we were given was spacious, well decorated and clean. A large TV was also in the room with a wide range of channels. The bathroom was also of a good size and some nice bathroom products. After visiting a restaurant in Jasper we has a drink in the hotel bar which on a couple of comfy leather sofas is a good location to unwind.

As previous reviewers have pointed out the air conditioning unit is noisy, especially as it is positioned close to the bed. This could do with modernising but would only affect you if you are a light sleeper. Also the room we were given was facing inside the building overlooking the pool. This didn't bother us as we were just spending one night but would probably ask for an outside view for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Skip breakfast and head into Jasper to the bear's paw bakery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear jetsetter1982,
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Sawridge Inn Jasper and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel was packed every night with multiple bus tourists. As independent travelers, we were just not a priority to the staff. We could not get into the main restaurant until very late because of the buses. When we made reservations for the next night, we were disappointed. Go to Papa George's in town instead. We were there for unusually hot weather so the air conditioning was not up to the job in the atrium or for our 3rd floor atrium side room. But it is a beautiful lodge and we enjoyed the taxidermy on display. The room was small and the bathtub was an agony. No free breakfast here, and the breakfast was expensive and not that great for the money.

Room Tip: If it is going to be hot, avoid the 3rd floor. Rooms on the Atrium side are hot. No real view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderWoman735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear WanderWoman735,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. Jasper as a community is indeed host to many tour groups in the summer months, as this is still the favourite mode of visitation for thousands of senior travelers. Jasper features many hotels; most of which offer accommodation and dining product that is suitable to individual travelers. The Sawridge Inn does feature three distinct food outlets, two of which aren’t patronized by group tour clients. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel facilities and look forward to having you back at Sawridge Inn Jasper the next time your travels bring you through the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at the Sawridge Inn in Jasper in mid october. We came in for a weekend trip and the hotel couldn't have been better. It has a great location. We both drove and took the slightly long walk into Jasper to see the town. The front desk staff were very kind and helpful. There was a lovely girl from Poland with whom I had a nice conversation. The room was great, beds were comfortable and the balcony was really nice to stand on in the mornings. We didn't eat in the resteraunt but heard great things from some other guests. We were going to be bringing our dog and regretted not bringing him as it would have been awesome. All in all the hotel was very clean, kind and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KATobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear KATobin,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us this fall and look forward to welcoming you and your dog during your next visit to Jasper National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's not that easy to find a truly wheelchair accessible hotel in Jasper but this meets most of the important criteria. We stayed in room 279. The bathroom has been beautifully renovated complete with a wheel-under sink, grab bars by the raised toilet and a wheel-in shower with a shower bench. The only detail the bathroom overlooks is that the shower head is too far from the shower bench, so someone in a wheelchair probably cannot use the shower alone unless they place the shower head on the floor of the shower before they get seated and don't mind that they can't hang it up anywhere while they shower.
Otherwise, the room is small but the bed is comfortable and there is a large TV. There isn't a ton of room to move around but it is do-able and we found the room to be quite comfortable. The windows to our room faced the interior of the hotel (basically looked out onto the staircase and dining area). Because of this, we had to keep the blinds closed all the time. Make sure you ask for a different view if this is not what you have in mind.
As far as the hotel goes, the lobby is accessible and there are elevators that will allow you to access the floors. We stayed on the second floor, which is entirely non-smoking. I believe the restaurants are all accessible (although we only tried one - Hearthstone, I think it was called - and the food was average for the price).
The one negative about this hotel from an accessibility standpoint is that the pool, spa and fitness centre are down a big flight of stairs. You can enter this area through a back door however there is no curb cut at the back, so you can only get in if you are able to bounce up and over the curb of the sidewalk. It's really unfortunate that this is the only wheelchair access to the pool area as it is a decent pool and hot tub but no one wants to have to go back outside and wheel around the entire hotel to the front lobby when they are wet from the pool.
I did not use the spa nor did I ask if the spa was wheelchair accessible but the fitness room is not accessible. It is a very small room without any room for a wheelchair to move around in.
The hotel is the first one in a row of hotels as you enter Jasper from Edmonton. It is about a 10 minute walk to the main part of downtown but it really isn't that far and we had no issues walking/wheeling there. The good thing about the location of this hotel is that there is nothing on the East side but wilderness and you might be more likely to spot some wildlife because of this. It also appears to be a very quiet location.
If you have never been to Jasper before and you are travelling in a wheelchair, be prepared that a number of the stores downtown are not accessible. The main street is older and most of the shops and restaurants are up a few steps. There is a newer street just behind the main drag and most of the shops and restaurants on that street are accessible.

Room Tip: If you do not want to face the interior of the hotel make sure you ask for an outside facing room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLWEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear JLWEdmonton,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and feedback with us. We greatly appreciate and value your constructive input, as we continually strive to improve and offer our guests the best experience possible. We will be taking your suggestions into consideration as we are currently undergoing some renovations. If you have any more suggestions for improving our accessibility, I invite you to contact me directly at cwoo@sawridge.com and it will be my pleasure to discuss these matters with you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We again, stayed at Sawridge, the third floor was under reno which was no problem for us even though we were on the third floor. The salt water spa is very nice, clean and tidy in the locker rooms. Do have a problem with the restaurant, and lounge not a great place to eat and at much better prices in town. Parking and access is very good and great at the front door just have a problem with the marble or tile at the front, winter time it will be very dangerous to walk on with snowy boots on.

Room Tip: get a room on the third floor if possible ( less noise )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear 281bob,
Thank you very much for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed 2 days here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations and couldn't have asked for a more pleasurable stay.

On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised to be notified that we'd been upgraded to a suite and furthermore, found a complimentary hamper of fruit & cheese in the room; both as a result of the aforementioned celebrations. The suite itself was very roomy and comfortable; exactly as, I suppose, a suite should be.

The hotel itself has three different dining experiences and whilst Walter's, the fine dining option, was a little pricey the food quality, service and presentation was excellent.

The Heathstone bar is cosy and the food prices here were a little cheaper.

The hotel is located at the north end of town but within walking distance to the, admittedly small, town.

The staff couldn't have done more for us and we will definitely be staying here again at some stage in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the atrium; unless you particularly want to watch people eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0nyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear T0nyS,
We were delighted to be a part of your 25th wedding anniversary and are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. We will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We wish you all the very best and hope to see you back at Sawridge Jasper on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $122 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing