We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Shipston-on-Stour,
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very poor layout”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a real shock when we found out that the windows of our room didn't face the outside but the dining area of the hotel!!! This meant that we had to keep the curtains shut all the time and had no way of getting any fresh air. The room was really hot and stuffy, so we had to switch the air-con on full power, which wasn't good as the unit was right next to the bed! Other members of our group had rooms overlooking the swimming pool, which wasn't too bad, but is certainly not ideal, as there are plenty of people who are very self conscious in their swimming outfit! Food and service was alright but the fact that part of the rooms face the restaurant is just plain wrong.

Room Tip: Ask on what floor your room is and if you have a window facing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudrun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Gudrun B - thank you for sharing your comments. The Sawridge Inn Jasper features 153 guest rooms. One third of of guest rooms face into the large & lush indoor atrium, and two thirds provide outdoor view. All room confirmations and website descriptions of our hotel rooms clearly indicate the room locations and views provided. We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your stay within the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    588
    244
    73
    45
See reviews for
376
645
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is decent enough for a place to crash. Too expensive for the value though. But compared to other hotels in the area, this is probably one of the better ones. When we arrived, the staff at the check-in were friendly and let us check-in early. Our room was decent size with comfortable enough bed for a good night sleep. The furniture appeared to be a bit out dated. And the bathroom was on the smaller side, but clean. They provided us with coupons for the attractions in the area and coupons for their dining lounge. Honestly have to say, that i was deceived by the pictures on their website. Could definitely use some upgrades.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sane3. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sawridge Inn Jasper. The hotel is currently in the midst of renovations. Two thirds of all hotel rooms will be completely renovated by the end of 2014, with the remaining third being completed in early winter 2015. All furniture, drapes, carpeting and in room amenities are being replaced, resulting in a nice new fresh product. We invite you to return to the Sawridge Inn Jasper and experience our new product in the months to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just had a girls weekend in Jasper and decided to stay at the Sawridge. It was an average hotel - nothing fancy about it, but it was very clean, and the beds were comfy. It is quite a bit of a walk from the shops, and bars, so if you are looking to go out and not need a DD this is not the place - find something closer to the center of town.
By the way - the entire 3rd floor was a construction zone - had to wheel our luggage by shovels and stuff in the hallways - bad first impression - something that probably should of been said at booking, or discount given - only 3 weeks ago!

There is also a lack of options for snacks after a night out. One vending machine in the lobby and room service only offers sandwiches after 11pm.
We all used the spa and were all very happy with the service there. The staff went above and beyond for us and it was reasonable prices unlike places like the Jasper Park Lodge.

We all plan on doing this trip next year but for the amount of the hotel and where it was we will probably not stay there again. But we will use the SPA

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor until reno's are done
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear wdbennett - thank you for sharing your comments. You are absolutely correct in that the third floor is currently under renovations, as we aim to refresh our product and provide our guests with a wonderful experience. I should point out that the hotel does provide a complimentary shuttle service to the downtown core. Same can be accessed by contacting our reception desk. In house food services do end at 11pm, however a number of local restaurants provide delivery to the hotel into the early hours. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed the services offered by the Mountain Wellness Spa, and hope you will consider a future stay in our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, ON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We did a round about tour from Banff through Jasper to Edmonton and this was by far our least favourite place to stay.

Don't enter from the back of the hotel as there are only stairs and handling luggage is a struggle.

Our room smelled of propane (who knows why?) and we asked to be moved in which they obliged.

I'm a very heavy sleeper and I was awoken at 3:30am to the sound of a compressor running, I wandered the halls and found the sound behind a room a couple down from us. My companion told me that it had been running all night long. When I complained to the front desk, she said that they were renovating but did not apologize for their construction crew negligence in switching off the compressor for the night. If she would have simply apologized, I wouldn't be that annoyed.

We were merely passing through Jasper for the night and after driving the next morning, we wished that we would have stayed in Hinton as there were far more amenities (Walmart, Canadian Tire, fast food, etc.)

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor as they're renovating right now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Christine B. I wish to extend my most sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered during your recent stay with us. We are currently renovating some of our guest rooms. We immediately discussed these particular issues with the contractors, and are doing all we can to ensure this situation is not repeated. We trust you had a wonderful journey through Alberta and a safe return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

OK room if you ignore the plastic chairs and the concrete balcony outside that look like something from a British sink estate, This place is OK but seems expensive considereing is does not offer a nice view. It does have a nice indoor pool and hot tub and the decor is nice if you like log cabins full of dead animals and trees. The in house dining seems to offer a choice of either very expensive which I avoided or not very good which we suffered depending on which place you choose. It does have a nice bar and pool table downstairs though. Breakfast was very nice and well organised.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fresco_pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear fresco_pizza. Thank you for your comments. Perhaps I should mention that the Sawridge Inn is property of the Sawridge Cree First Nation. The fact the hotel is built using a lot of natural elements such as stone, cedar and knotty pine, as well as displaying a full size black bear, wolverine, large dream catcher and First Nations artwork is all part of the heritage cherished by Canada's First Nations. It is also what sets us apart. I am sorry you did not appreciate this portion of our product, but we are delighted you enjoyed Champs Sports Lounge and breakfast at Walter's. We look forward to being your host again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything you could want in a very comfortable hotel. Bed and pillows were above par and room cleanliness, size, and amenities was enjoyable. Couch in room and large bathroom. Nice dinning room, friendly staff, indoor pool and jacuzzi,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Reno60 - Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Jasper National Park, and trust you had a safe and enjoyable return journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here as part of an organised Tour.
The room was lovely but overlooked the pool (loud frolickers late at night). Lots of tours in so was hard to get the laundry done (only 1 washer/1 dryer) although we were told a good laundry was in town. The food was wonderful and the dining area spacious/well lit but the staff were not enthusiastic. The Hotel itself has a very warm feeling to it (all the light coloured wood) and is located in a lovely semi-rural area (about a 10 minute walk to town on good footpaths).
For the smokers it has a lovely area out front.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank w00fies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear w00fies, thank you for your review. We apologize for the pool users disturbance. The pool does close down nightly at 10pm. The Sawridge Inn Jasper is located on the eastern edge of town, approximately 1.5km from the downtown core (15 minute walk). Note that we do offer a complimentary hotel shuttle service to the downtown area. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed dining within the hotel's facilities. We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your group travel through western Canada and had a safe return home to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing