We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh... they're renovating right now.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We did a round about tour from Banff through Jasper to Edmonton and this was by far our least favourite place to stay.

Don't enter from the back of the hotel as there are only stairs and handling luggage is a struggle.

Our room smelled of propane (who knows why?) and we asked to be moved in which they obliged.

I'm a very heavy sleeper and I was awoken at 3:30am to the sound of a compressor running, I wandered the halls and found the sound behind a room a couple down from us. My companion told me that it had been running all night long. When I complained to the front desk, she said that they were renovating but did not apologize for their construction crew negligence in switching off the compressor for the night. If she would have simply apologized, I wouldn't be that annoyed.

We were merely passing through Jasper for the night and after driving the next morning, we wished that we would have stayed in Hinton as there were far more amenities (Walmart, Canadian Tire, fast food, etc.)

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor as they're renovating right now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Christine B. I wish to extend my most sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered during your recent stay with us. We are currently renovating some of our guest rooms. We immediately discussed these particular issues with the contractors, and are doing all we can to ensure this situation is not repeated. We trust you had a wonderful journey through Alberta and a safe return home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

OK room if you ignore the plastic chairs and the concrete balcony outside that look like something from a British sink estate, This place is OK but seems expensive considereing is does not offer a nice view. It does have a nice indoor pool and hot tub and the decor is nice if you like log cabins full of dead animals and trees. The in house dining seems to offer a choice of either very expensive which I avoided or not very good which we suffered depending on which place you choose. It does have a nice bar and pool table downstairs though. Breakfast was very nice and well organised.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fresco_pizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear fresco_pizza. Thank you for your comments. Perhaps I should mention that the Sawridge Inn is property of the Sawridge Cree First Nation. The fact the hotel is built using a lot of natural elements such as stone, cedar and knotty pine, as well as displaying a full size black bear, wolverine, large dream catcher and First Nations artwork is all part of the heritage cherished by Canada's First Nations. It is also what sets us apart. I am sorry you did not appreciate this portion of our product, but we are delighted you enjoyed Champs Sports Lounge and breakfast at Walter's. We look forward to being your host again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything you could want in a very comfortable hotel. Bed and pillows were above par and room cleanliness, size, and amenities was enjoyable. Couch in room and large bathroom. Nice dinning room, friendly staff, indoor pool and jacuzzi,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reno60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Reno60 - Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit to beautiful Jasper National Park, and trust you had a safe and enjoyable return journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here as part of an organised Tour.
The room was lovely but overlooked the pool (loud frolickers late at night). Lots of tours in so was hard to get the laundry done (only 1 washer/1 dryer) although we were told a good laundry was in town. The food was wonderful and the dining area spacious/well lit but the staff were not enthusiastic. The Hotel itself has a very warm feeling to it (all the light coloured wood) and is located in a lovely semi-rural area (about a 10 minute walk to town on good footpaths).
For the smokers it has a lovely area out front.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank w00fies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear w00fies, thank you for your review. We apologize for the pool users disturbance. The pool does close down nightly at 10pm. The Sawridge Inn Jasper is located on the eastern edge of town, approximately 1.5km from the downtown core (15 minute walk). Note that we do offer a complimentary hotel shuttle service to the downtown area. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed dining within the hotel's facilities. We trust you enjoyed the remainder of your group travel through western Canada and had a safe return home to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here one night only as we were passing through. Arrived late at night and left early the next day so the hotel served its purpose, cannot really comment much on services or amenities of the hotel. We had a room that overlooked a grassed area which was very nice as we had wapati/caribou right outside! Very cool!

Hotel is pet friendly for a fee of about $25. Stayed during a long weekend so the hotel is very expensive then (more than normal for the area). Book early to try and get a decent rate. This hotel is at the far end of the downtown area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chr15t1n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear moovstr. Thank you for your post. We are thrilled to hear you and your pet both had an enjoyable stay at the Sawridge Inn. You are correct in that long weekends do generate a very high level of demand for hotel rooms within Jasper (and within the Rocky Mountain corridor as a whole), which can affect pricing. We look forward to being of service to you and man's best friend during your next visit to beautiful Jasper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was one that we stayed at as a part of our Trafalgar Rockies Tour. It had a great feel with a large very comfortable, clean room. The toiletries we organic and very nice to use ,
The staff were friendly and obliging. We would definitely stay again if we returned. The only disadvantage with it is its location. It would be fine if you have a vehicle but it is a long walk to the Shopping area.

Room Tip: Request an outside room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Bob S - Thank you for your lovely comments. Trafalgar Tours is a very good client of the Sawridge Inn Jasper, and a world class tour operator. We are very happy you enjoyed both your stay at the Sawridge Inn Jasper, and your visit through Alberta and the Canadian Rockies. We hope to see you soon again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel & facilities were great but do not expect service from any of the dining area staff, you might impose on their precious time. The food was good but service & staff attitude leaves a lot to be desired. I thought it was only on one occasion but happened at 4 meals we had there & dare not ask for a bill they will give it to you when they are good & ready.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear BHewi,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience that you had in our Dining areas. Please be assured that this has been brought to the attention of our Food & Beverage Director and we will ensure that this is rectified. If you wish to discuss this matter further, I urge you to please contact me directly at cwoo@sawridge.com and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $121 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing