We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings but good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately their were some issues which are important to mention. If you book a room there, make sure you have one with a view to the outside and not the inner patio. We first had a room looking at their restaurant and pool, which was very noisy. We stayed their for 3 nights in total and decided to ask for an upgrade (before the first night) to a room with an view to the outside. The staff quickly took care of our request and we were given a new room for the remaining 2 nights. The bathroom was quite small in both rooms. It seems that the hotel could use a renovation (the reception was being renovated during our stay!).
We had both breakfast and one dinner in the hotel's restaurant (Walter's). The breakfast was good with lots of things to choose from. However, one time we were seated in their wine-room, which was very chilly and noisy because of the air-conditioning. This was a strange choice because there was plenty of room in the restaurant itself. Another time the waiters completely forgot our table, so we only received our coffee and water after we had finished eating, which was a disappointment. The dinner we had was a different experience. The restaurant was full, but the food was prepared fast and tasted good. The portions are small, on the other hand, and the food is overpriced. Overall we had a good stay in the hotel but we had some issues on different domains. I think there are better alternatives in Jasper, which are probably cheaper as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Maarten92,
Thank you very much for taking the time to recognize our staff at Sawridge Jasper. Our team takes great pride in their work and we all try our absolute best to provide outstanding guest service at all times. As you mentioned, we are completing some major renovations to our lobby and reception area, and will continue this fall with renovations to one third of all guest rooms. If you wish, you can follow the upgrades - simply "Like" our page on Facebook and watch the renovations as they happen. I apologize for your dining experience, and have shared your concerns with our Food and Beverage team. We hope to see you here again, on your next visit to Jasper and western Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place looks like your average mid price Hampton inn, minus the stuffed animals in the lobby, but they'll charge about two times what some will pay in US for similar facilities...for 50 bucks extra you will get a room with a view, in our case some big garbage cans and the industrial look of the railway. As other guests observed, the pool occupies a large part of the inner lobby, so everything reeks of chlorine, plus everybody stares at you while you are soaking. The walls at the pool are adorned with a long list of strange restrictions and dire legal warnings, the sauna was cold and the temperature could not be adjusted... they will nickel and dime you for everything but the free wi-fi: the in room entertainment is grossly overpriced, there is no more than a little coffee bag in a room with 4 people, there are no free HD channels or HBO, no free breakfast or at least a cup of coffee in am and so on...The good part: the staff is nice, rooms are clean and the food at the lobby restaurant is ok, but not memorable. They seem to cater to a senior/corporate audience, for family fun look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogugigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear gogugigi,
At Sawridge Inn Jasper, we take all of our guest concerns and comments very seriously and we will certainly take your comments into consideration as we continually seek to improve our guest experiences. If you wish to discuss your stay with us further, I encourage you contact me directly at cwoo@sawridge.com. It will be my pleasure to discuss these matters with you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sawridge Inn on the outskirts of tiny Jasper. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. However, the pool, dining, and lobby areas are in one longhouse with a high vaulted ceiling. So, significant humidity and the smell of chlorine is present in the lobby and dining areas. People with a sensitivity to such an environment should not book here, despite it being a very nice hotel. Lots of walking paths are nearby. There's a free Internet station to the right of the lobby. The soap, shampoo and related products are made by a First Nation (i.e., Native Canadian) company.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped as a quadrangle, with rooms facing both outward and inward. Inward rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrazyCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear KrazyCanadian,
We are very glad to hear that the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms during your stay with us at Sawridge Jasper. The Mother Earth Essential products that we offer in our rooms are a product that we are very happy to have and are a source of numerous compliments from our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Sawridge Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good-sized room. Nice bathroom. Only complaint is that we were facing the pool and it was very noisy when folks passed through the area when exitIng the sports bar after midnight. Rather far from town. Pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Kathleen W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit to Sawridge Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I originally chose this hotel because my son works there. But I continue to return because the hotel is so clean, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the on site restaurant has a good breakfast buffet and an excellent dinner menu & wines. On a rainy, damp day, we used the pool and hot tub, and just relaxed in our Queen Bed Suite. Only about a 10 minute walk into town to browse shops, and see local sites. Although I didn't visit the spa on this trip, I have before and they have a good array of services at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: If you are there during good weather months, I would suggest you try to book a room with a balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dante1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you Dante 1956 for your kind comments. Being able to visit family in a location such as Jasper can only be described as magical. We very much appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to Jasper National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I cannot find any fault. The room I stayed in was more spacious than I'd anticipated and the view out the window was beautiful. The food was fantastic, and the staff were professional, friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend the Sawridge, and I would happily stay there again on my next (eventual) visit to Jasper!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear FionaJ,
Thank you for your comments. Hearing that "we are the best hotel you have stayed at", especially when coming from a seasoned traveler from Australia is extremely gratifying. I can assure you your comment is very much appreciated by our entire team. We trust you will enjoy a similar experience throughout your entire stay in our fine country, and return home with long lasting memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Family stayed at the Sawridge back in April. And its amazing to see all the changes the hotel has had since my husband and I worked there(8+ yrs ago). I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Jasper. The rooms were clean,the beds, comfortable,the staff were excellent, and I would stay Again and Again!! The hotel has come a long way in such a short time! Cheers to the friendly staff&managment at The Sawridge!! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLeansX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you McLeansX4 for your kind comments.
We certainly appreciate that your family had an enjoyable return visit to Jasper National Park, and a pleasant stay at the Sawridge Inn Jasper. Indeed, the hotel has been subject to numerous upgrades in the last few years, and plans for a complete renovation of all guest rooms are currently underway, which should see all rooms completely renovated by April 30 2015. Thank you for noticing the improvements made as we are working real hard and investing greatly to ensure our product continues to meet our clients' expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#7 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $89 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing