We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised at Sawridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Suprised at Sawridge”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sawridge for 4 nights and I must say it was the best experience I have had so far while staying in Jasper. We have tried quite a few different hotels in Jasper over the last few years and the Sawridge was the most well kept of them all. Many of the other hotels are old and outdated and they do not seem to care where as the Sawridge at least appeared to be trying to maintain and update their hotel. The lobby and atrium were very nice as well as the rooms. We had two rooms, a regular room and the family suite. With the bed and breakfast special I thought they were quite reasonably priced and the breakfast was good. This is not a five star hotel but is perfect for families on a ski holiday. I must also complement the staff as they were always very friendly and helpful. My only real complaint was the lack of parking as vehicles were always parked along road and driveway making things quite congested around the entrance area.

Room Tip: Inside rooms overlook atrium area which can be quite noisy, outside rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    606
    245
    76
    47
See reviews for
383
672
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed one night. room was adequate and very clean. the beds were extremely comfortable.
had the breakfast buffet. price was reasonable, kids (under 13) eat half price. selection was very good mixutre of hot and cold breakfast items. swimming pool was great as the kids have fun. personally, i think this is one of the better places to stay in jasper because it's better kept than most of the other hotels. you must remember, jasper is NOT like banff. jasper is a lot older so the hotels are older as well. banff on the other hand is much newer hence you have much nicer and modern hotels. so do not expect big fancy hotels as almost all the hotels will seem weathered and somewhat outdated.

my only concern was check in. check in is a 4 pm. so what's the problem. marmot basin ski hill closes at 4 pm as well. so most people finish skiing around 3 -4 pm and then go to the hotel and check in. of course, you can imagine what the line up is like. not sure if it's like that everytime during ski season but i arrived at 3:50 pm from edmonton. the front desk told me they had a busy night so the rooms were not ready and come back in 20 minutes to the front desk and pick up the card key. when i came back 20 minutes later, there was at least 15 people checking in (mostly from finishing skiing) so i had to wait at least 20 minutes again. as i finally got to the front desk at 4:30 pm, they said the rooms were still not ready. i told them i was not going to wait at the back of the line (there was about 15 people behind me still waiting to check in) so to smooth things over, the front desk person gave me 3 complimentary beverage. how sweet is that! so i just skipped over across the hall and sat in the lounge having a beer while waiting for the front desk person come to the lounge and hand me the key. that is how they should treat they're guest. it's like turning a negative into a positive.

this is why i would recommend this place as you can see how they treat there guest. i don't really care if they don't smile or not or say hello,. it's these ACTIONS that counts - what happens when things go wrong and how the hotel handles it. to me, this is the most important thing that counts. i hope the manager reads this and takes this into consideration.

again, this check in probably only occurs during the ski season.

Room Tip: choose third floor as we slept on the second and you can hear the people above us running in the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainman1154914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and we had a great experience here. The property was clean, quiet and pristine. Walking through the lobby, there is lots to look at. Some beautiful Taxidermy of animals from the Jasper area.

Check-in was quick and seamless. The room was very clean. We got a room that overlooked the atrium with the pool. Even though the pool was being used, it was still quiet enough that it didn't bother us. Bathroom was tidy and clean, lots of towels to be had. Beds were comfortable.

Outdoor hot tub was closed at the time we were there so we couldn't use it. But we did use the indoor hot tub and pool. It was a pleasant and relaxing time. The exercise room is a bit lacking, the equipment is older and not what we were used to, but it did the job for the 3 days we were there. there was only a treadmill, a stationary bike and some free weights.

There are 3 restaurants on site. We only ate the sports bar. it was dead, we were the only ones in there. The service was great. we thought we were going to be forgotten down there as it is in the basement. But the server stayed with us and made sure we had everything we needed.

Breakfast buffet was OK. I thought it may have been a bit pricey for what you got, but the food was good.

My wife used the Spa on one day. She loved every moment of it and it was very fair on pricing.

Overall a great stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Goat_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

So we planned a short notice weekend in Jasper. Our usual hotel was booked solid, so we decided to try something different. We had always heard good things about the Sawridge, and were under the impression that it was one of the higher end choices in Jasper.

Although I can't think of anything particularily wrong with the Sawridge, I can't think of anything that makes it stand out above the other choices.

The check in was fine and efficient, but the front desk people didn't bend over backwards with cheerful smiles. Come to think of it, that describes all of the staff we dealt with. Everyone was fairly pleasant, but no one seemed really happy or cheerful.

The room was ready and clean. And that's about it. Ours was a two-queen room with balcony overlooking the back parking lot (more on parking later). The room was appointed well, but seemed dated. None of the lamps matched, and the TV was old and small.

We ate dinner in theirsmaller more casual restuarant. The menu looked promising. I went for the ELk Burger, as I love burgers and am always open to something new. Again, the food wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It tasted good, and was [prepared well, but the bun/sauce combo made things soggy, the caesar salad was kind of soggy without much zest. My daughter's pizza from the kid's menu was very bland. She didn't want to finish it all. Our son's kid's burger was not much smaller than mine, and it was not great. Again, he didn't want to finish it. I tried bnoth of their meals, and they weren't bad, but neither did they stand out. My wife had meatloaf, and it got a solid" it's fine" when asked about her meal.

Breakfast in the big restaurnat was more of the same. Breakfast buffet was opkay, but again, just kind of there. Nothing to really set it apart from any other breakfast buffet in any other hotel/restaurant.

The pool was weak too. The kids liked it, but I hated it. The pool was freezing cold, the lighting was dim, and the towesl were tiny. Not impressed.

Parking was ridiculous and is my one big complaint. What hotel doesn't have enough parking to accomodate all the rooms. Check in was at 3pm. We arrived around 3:30, and we got one of the last spots out in the back. By the time we came down for dinner, vehicles were parked up and down the main street in front of the hotel.

Check out was efficient, but again, no personality showing from the staff.

Room Tip: A good tip would be to try some of the other Jasper choices first. There ARE better hotels that offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, General Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear DanC,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide your detailed evaluation of your recent stay with us. Although it does not appear that you experienced or encountered anything truly dissatisfactory in your stay, we can certainly assess that your stay with us was not up to your standards and expectations, and for that we apologise. Our personnel is our greatest resource, and we invest heavily in both their training and social programs; and we endeavour ourselves to ensure our employees are provided with both the skills and the support needed to make our guests stay very enjoyable. You will be pleased to know that all of the TVs in the rooms, along with all of the balcony sliding doors are being replaced this winter. Our ownership group does have plans to completely renovate all guest rooms in the next few years. I will invite you to contact me personally, as I would like to have you as our guest one more time, to enjoy our genuine Sawridge hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice hotel in a good location in Jasper and friendly staff. I would stay there again.
The banquet facilities are really good too. They offer really great food there too.
You can see wildlife around the area too!
Love Jasper and this is a great place to stay when you visit there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzy2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the first time our family has spent Christmas in a hotel and it has been a wonderful experience. Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. Housekeeping staff were excellent. The Christmas Eve Buffet, breakfast buffet, and Traditional Christmas dinner were very amazing with a good selection. Staff outdid themselves to make Christmas memorable for the children. The gingerbread house making was great fun and well organized. The Christmas stockings all hung by the fireplace were a lot of work for someone and a lot of effort made this a hit.
Our family had a wonderful time and we may have to make this a tradition!

Room Tip: Even though our room was near the elevators it was very quiet after the pool closed. The inner roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djstdenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is one of the better choices in Jasper. We received a room on the main floor upon arrival and we soon changed room location... once we heard the dogs barking. Apparently, they allow pets in some rooms and did not inform us of this until I asked to be moved. However, they had no problem in granting my request to move.
The rooms are dated and in need of an update. The beds were comfy and clean. The bathroom was clean, but you could see the need for some TLC. The restaurants were just ok, service was average and the food was satisfactory, nothing special.
The only gripe I had was that the pool and hot tub was closed for maintenance. There was no mention of this on their website before we booked, and no follow-up from them to inform us of this closure. Being that we were there for a tournament, it certainly would have been nice for the kids to splash around here, versus being offered the adjacent hotel's pool about 100 yards away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony B, Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you K2GO for posting your review,
We are indeed a dog friendly hotel, Jaspers great outdoors is truly an experience to be had by the whole family. We do have several rooms that are allocated specifically for the four legged family members. I am glad to hear the front desk team was able to move you from this section and found a room more to your liking. Our housekeeping does and outstanding job at maintaining and cleaning of our rooms, we are very proud of their efforts.

I must apologize for the pool being closed. Each year we are required to close this amenity for a few days to do routine maintenance and resurface the basin. This year due to uncontrollable circumstances we were forced to take a bit longer for this. The closure was promptly posted and changed on our website. The pool is now thankfully re-opened, reconditioned and ready for the Christmas season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing