We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegantly prepared meals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raven Bistro

The Raven Bistro
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Moroccan, Middle Eastern with European-Canadian Flare
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Elegantly prepared meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

My family (two grown teenage daughters, my husband and I) ate here for dinner and we were very impressed with the service, taste and presentation of the food. I had an asparagus and phyllo appetizer that was delicious. The rest of the family had the "Burma" spring roll appetizer that was both beautiful and tasty. For mains, one of my daughters had the seafood hot pot which was amazing. Everything else we ate was great but the BEST was the raspberry pie for dessert. The pastry is fantastic and rolled beautifully thin, light and flaky. I am a pastry maker myself so appreciate a really good one.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CEA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    101
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Gluten free”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Ordered gluten free option and was told they would substitute rice for the couscous which they did. However when handed the bill they charged extra for the rice! In fact my wife had the same dish with out the gluten free option so that she received couscous and pitta bread which of course was left off the my gluten free meal. This meant that not only was I charged extra but they also saved on me not having the pitta bread. Not a very happy conversation ensued regarding this very poor practice which led to a very bitter ending to what should have been a very nice meal. Sticking a wafer biscuit in the gluten free home made ice cream was the last straw!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OMG, What a Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Our host at the B&B recommended a couple of places for dinner which I'm sure would have been good. However, when we passed by the Raven and looked at the menu we were hooked by the chef's creativity. We were not disappointed, and this was by far the best meal we had on our 2,500 mile road trip. I would say the prices were mid-range, and the value terrific. I only wish the Raven was not so far away.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 10sTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stuck up service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

They do not accept reservations after 6:30 and we were told that the wait would be 45 minutes but that we could wait at the bar. They would not let us leave to walk around a bit and return to the front of the queue. OK, We said we would stay. Then we were told that we would have to pay our bar bill before we were offered a table. Wow, lots of rules to this place! I agree with the reviewers who said that they act as though they are doing you a favour. As soon as we sat at at the bar, with no explanation, they plopped their enormous dinner menus in front of us as if suggesting that we should eat our meals there as others were doing. No thanks! Then after a few minutes of not opening our menus, a table mysteriously became available. And then another one. What's that all about? The waiter was nice enough but impatient so it felt like we were imposing upon him when we asked questions about the menu. We had to catch him on the fly all the time. The food was ok. The calamari app is breaded and fried and was unacceptably greasy. I could not eat it. I ordered the Asian seafood noodle dish which was basically a Tom Yum soup but with a ton of salmon and a few shellfish. It was very tasty. Another of us ordered the Halibut on mashed potatoes which, when we called them that, we were corrected that they in fact Truffle Mashed potatoes. Meh, they just tasted like potatoes, and they were seized up to boot. The halibut steak was flavored with maple syrup which ruined it. You just don't do that to halibut! Overall it was not bad but it definitely has an unhappy and stressed staff who are forced to impose a bunch of rules which make their customers feel badly but which maximize their table sittings. That definitely ruined it for me and I would go somewhere else next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank evan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Raving about The Raven Bistro in Jasper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My family recently overnighted in Jasper. Had dinner at the Raven. Delightful and comfortable atmosphere. Visitors felt most welcome. Varied and delicious menu. Professional staff. A classy gem. Will return at earliest opportunity.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raven Bistro also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Raven Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing