We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Raven Bistro

The Raven Bistro
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cozy, modern, Moroccan-Fusion Restaurant with local flair.
Stony Plain, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Cozy little restaurant with good atmosphere and great service from staff. We were going to dine the next night at their sister restaurant but it was closed for renovations, so we went back to the Raven. Had the best schnitzel we ever tasted and the salmon and halibut were very good as well.
Homemade ice cream and apple pie was delightful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    101
    30
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Marvelous Lamb Loin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here twice on the Thanksgiving weekend. We had dined the previous evening at JPL which was very good but pricey. On the recommendation of a local resident, we tried this Bistro and loved it. I had the Moroccan lamb loin, which was pistachio encrusted, cooked perfectly and as good as any lamb I've had anywhere in the world. It was accompanied by beautifully prepared asparagus, tomato,and parsnip embedded in mashed potatoes. My wife had the halibut, which was also perfectly prepared and served. The staff were friendly and efficient. The wine list included a nice selection at very fair prices. We were so pleased that we returned the following evening, when my wife had the lamb loin and I the halibut, again perfectly prepared and served. This time we gave in to the server's suggestion and had dessert-apple pie made by the owner's mother, with ice cream. The pie crust was excellent-truly a home-made treat. We noted each evening that the restaurant was busy, with about 1/2 the clientele tourists and the other 1/2 local residents. We thought this restaurant was excellent value and hope it does enough business to succeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlew1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sorry I would say give it a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hype was there but unfortunately we (group of 10) where let down. The menu is interesting and unique but the portions small and overpriced.

Good but not great food or service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Review T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had heard about The Raven from a local fellow and had just stopped in for a drink. It had a welcoming cosy atmosphere. It is on the small size with seating for approximately fifty people. As we were enjoying our drinks at the bar we noticed the dishes coming down from the kitchen. There was a lady at the end of the bar having schnitzel and it looked too good. We asked if we could move to a table and were accommodated with no problem. We both ordered the schnitzel and it was the best ever. Earlier in the year we travelled through Germany and thought nobody could make better schnitzel. The Raven proved different. Their suggested wine paring was also excellent. They were closing the next day till the end of November and you could not tell as the staff were all upbeat and friendly and the service was excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 154914Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over rated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a nice little restaurant with good service and some interesting menu choices. But it was not very clean, the food good but not special, and the prices high. We liked PaPa George's much better. It was cleaner, better service, and better food for similar price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderWoman735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raven Bistro also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Raven Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing