We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beds, eventually got used loud feet”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton
1 review
“Great beds, eventually got used loud feet”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Customer service was great.
Rooms were clean and very nice.
TV's were very bad (small and alot of static).
Beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Can hear alot of banging from loud walkers on floors, need to be sound proofed. Maybe that blue underlay sound proof barrier.
Overall i would say 8.5 out of 10

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevoEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    332
    281
    134
    66
See reviews for
304
410
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

My husband and I were on the tail end of our trip out west and didn't want to break the bank with another overpriced hotel! A couple we met while travelling recommeded this establishment and we're so thankful! (thanks Bruce and Jen ;) ) Food is delish, service is warm and friendly and the grounds are beautiful. I wouldn't waste time or money on any of the other so called 'luxury' hotels in the area. Feel free to email directly if you have questions! Can't recommend this gem enough! We'll most definitely be back next year!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NaomiOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

First of all I am pretty picky when I book a hotel room, that said I struggled to find an acceptable hotel in Jasper that wasn't going to break the bank, and even the priciest ones didn't look that great. Well after searching the web for reviews I finally selected the Tonquin and was wonderfully surprised at our room. We booked a one bedroom family suite with a full kitchen. We brought our teenage girls and gave them the bedroom which has a queen bed, desk, and dresser (no TV)( their mess was out of the way). My husband and I slept on the other queen bed which is in the main living area. Main area has comfortable love seat, coffee table, dining table with 4 chairs and a full kitchen (needs a frying pan). The bathroom was clean and served it's purpose. The staff was friendly and the service great. The pool was nice and there are two outside hot tubs and one inside hot tub with the pool. Downside is that we had to go outside and walk a fair bit to access the pool. Our suite was on the second floor (hauling up groceries was fun) and we faced the highway and railway so it was a bit noisy during the day, but night was fine (and we had he window open) All in all, this was a great suite for a family and we will book here again. Don't bring groceries, we found an extra food store and the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grapevineswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

I was heading to Jasper for business, and outside of the paradise outside - found an amazingly welcoming place to call home when I was inside.
The Tonquin has huge rooms, and the kitchen could of helped me whip up a meal for 20, if I was so inclined. And honestly there was only one staff member that didn't greet me with a smile and a hello - and that's cause they were walking in a different direction. But given how often this happened, it caught me off-guard that they didn't suddenly turn my way with this greeting.
It really was a welcome retreat, not that one needed retreating from the Christmas card-like experience of wandering this wintery town.
Anyway, I heartily recommend the Tonquin. And remember your swimsuit (which I didn't) for the outdoor hot tub, which looked incredibly inviting.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stopped off in Jasper on a road trip around Alberta. Having looked at places in Jasper it appears that many seem overpriced for what they offer. So we picked the Tonquin in as it was the cheapest of those with free rooms but I would not say cheap. The front desk staff were pleasant and check-in was swift. However, the room was nothing special but I guess you could say it was in a traditional style. It was later on that the lack of any sound proofing became and issues as if people are walking along the walkways or going up the stairs it is very loud in the room. The ventilation was also not great as it was very hot in the room. Finally it is located pretty far away from the main section of restaurants/shops in Jasper but parking is a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aschoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Edmonton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We booked a 1 bedroom suite for Dec 25-28. Because we have dogs we were told we had to stay on the main floor. The first two nights were reasonable for noise but the third night was terrible. It sounded like elephants overhead. We tried to ask the front desk for help and they advised they'd send the night watchman past. It didn't address our concerns.

Overall the space is smaller than what you can find next door at the Marmot where they do allows pets on the top floor.

The room itself did provide a kitchen and a woodburning fireplace. But on the ground floor the view from our living room was limited to the parking lot and provided little natural light.

Temperature control was an issue - if heat was on it was very hot and the only way to cool was to open windows.

We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I recently stayed at the Tonquin Inn twice. The first time weekend we stayed there it was a slow weekend in Jasper because we were there before the ski hill opened, but after the summer activities closed. We were upgraded to a King Suite for free which was nice. The hotel had some decent looking reno's done to the rooms which was also nice. The only draw back was that the King bed had a queen top sheet on it so my wife and I fought a bit for sheet supremacy. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice, though a little run down feeling.

We decided to use the hotel again when we went skiing a few weekends later with friends. We got a room with two doubles. Had a few snacks and drinks in the room on the Friday night we got in, laying on the bed. When my wife was ready to go to bed, she pulled back the covers and.... BUGS, lots and lots of BUGS. It still gives me the shivers. Then she flipped over the pillow and there were a ton more, some almost the size of a penny.... Needless to say we called the front desk right away to send someone up so they could see it for themselves, and started packing our stuff.

They did not charge me for the room, and I asked them to pay for the dry cleaning of my clothes which they agreed to. Then we left. That said, I don't know how spread the issue is there, but I wouldn't risk it again myself.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrossTCOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lissyb, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
On behalf of the Tonquin Inn, I would like to assure readers that this was an isolated incident and not at all the norm for our property. We take the cleanliness of our hotel and comfort of our guests very seriously, and took immediate action to rectify this situation internally as well as with the guest.
Elisabeth Bahner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing