We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stay”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
alberta
1 review
“Always a great place to stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2009

This is a great hotel with attentive staff, clean rooms, and quiet atmosphere. The real wood fireplaces are wonderful. Location is easily accessible from the highway and a short walk to the shopping and restaurant area. Also close to hiking trails.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertagal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    353
    307
    144
    71
See reviews for
329
442
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Checked in after a fun day of whitewater rafting. We booked a 2 bedroom suit. while getting ready blew a fuse and all power went out in room. Phoned front desk to help us with this after 20 min no one came up so we looked around and found the fuse box ourself and fixed the problem. Doors were very noisy and had to be slammed to shut. In the morning I was the first one up and was going to go sit in the hottub and read my book while my friends slept hottubs were being cleaned at 8:30 when they were supposed to be open at 8:00 when we checked out at 11 they were still closed. Once you opened the hide a bed living room was very small. In the queen size room wanted to open the window to get some fresh air but did not feel safe as anyone could crawl right in.

Went to the restaurant that was on property and was treated like second class citizens and will not go back again even if they offered to buy us supper.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfitt_0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Based on existing reviews we had a Standard room which was quite small and very dated. We did not need to use the air conditioner but I can only assume it would have been very noisy.

Service overall was ok. Arrived at 4:00 pm, was told the room was not ready and to come back in an hour or two. Not the right answer after driving a good chunk of the day with 2 now tired children. After questioning why we could not get a different room that was cleaned we were offered a key. It was also good to see that a walk-in was quoted almost exactly the same price as our reservation a couple of weeks prior (versus Banff where we grossly over-paid at the Banff International Hotel by making a reservation).

Breakfast was not included, however, by going to the office the day before price for a coupon was only $10 for adults and children under 8 were free. This was a bonus compared to Banff breakfast prices ($60 plus for the family). Breakfast was the standard buffet but again much better than our stay in Banff for less than 1/2 the price.

We did not check out the pool so no comments on that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We loved this inn. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and modern, the pool and hot tub were clean and sanitary.
We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms have been renovated recently with new paint, comfortable beds, nice furniture, flat screen TVs and nice paintings. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This hotel is located at the edge of town, which is OK unless you want to drive into Jasper, where parking is a nightmare. The room we had was very spacious with one main room and an additional bedroom, which pleased our teenage son. There was also a kitchen area, which could be useful if you wanted to cater for yourself. The main problem was the most uncomfortable bed I've slept in for a very long time - even my husband (who can sleep just about anywhere) had to admit that it wasn't great. Also - very noisy from people in the room above, who were just walking around, not having a party or anything. The final moan is that the hotel advertises free wireless internet, but we were there two nights and couldn't get it to work properly on either night. Reception were not very helpful.

On the other hand there is a great indoor pool and hot tub, two outdoor hot tubs and four separate saunas! The restaurant next door offers a great buffet breakfast. We also ate dinner there one night which was excellent but rather expensive - $30 approx for the entree.

Would I stay there again? Probably not - there are a number of other similar hotels in Jasper, which might offer a better night's sleep!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I do not know how this place got its previous ratings. Far too high. It's an ok maintained motel and you can smell and see its 40 years. We stayed in a standard room. Imagine you are staying at a Motel 6 but paying at least four to five times as much. A total rip off.
They know why they have a 72 hour cancellation policy.
The pool area and showers haven't seen a cleaning for ages. The rooms are super small, furniture is ok, minifridge, regular TV, ugly attached air condition. Caution when using the shower it switches from hot to cold without warning. I almost burnt myself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cake100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vancouver BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We found the Tonquin on the internet, the website is beautiful and the photos of the suites are beautiful and new, with fireplaces etc. We were looking for a 2 bedroom suite for us and our 3 young children. When we arrived we found a tired-old-inn, which is the norm in Jasper. The suite was updated with new touches such as fancy bowls and new duvet covers, but what you get is a 25-40 year old inn with some new touches, like fresh icing on an old cake. The price for the suite per night on the net was $450, when I called to book, I offered $250 which they quickly accepted. To me it was worth $150-$225 per night MAXIMUM. I did not complain at the time, but in retrospect should have. After driving 7 hours and tired, I was happy to have a room. The room cleaning was sub par, the glassware had an odor like they were poorly washed, smelling of cooked salmon. If you go expect a run down hotel with new touches. If they updated the rooms like the lobby, then it may be better. The air-conditioning in the rooms is a floor air conditioner with dryer type venting through the wall, which is very noisy. The rooms are very small with little room to maneuver. So all in all not a good rating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing