We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few improvements are needed...”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here jan 10th. The room was a king size bed. But the room was tiny!!! We could barely walk around. Also there was only a desk lamp and one lamp on one side of the bed. So half the room was in total darkness. Would it hurt to have enough light to look thru your suitcase?

We came back from the pool with wet hair only to discover our room card didn't work. We were also in flip flops. As I am 6 months pregnant I luckily could wait in the heated elevator area while my hubby trudged thru snow in his sandals to reset the card at the front desk. Kind of annoying but we don't let these things ruin our fun. Just kinda dumb in 2014 that your room cards can't work...it's not new technology!

I highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel for dinner. It was classy but not pretentious. Just delicious food!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your comments about the lighting will be taken into consideration as we continue to improve our product. I apologize for the inconvenience of the key card not working. Sometimes key cards deactivate when coming into contact with other magnetic cards or cell phones. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and will definitely forward this review to the manager of the restaurant. Thank you again and congratulations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

It's funny how different people can have different experiences. If I'm interpreting the guy below me correctly, we stayed at the hotel at the exact same time: we were also there for 3 days starting on New Year's Day.

We on the other hand had no problems at all. We were two couples sharing a family suite, which meant one couple had the bed in the main room and the other couple had the bedroom. That worked for us because we were staying with good friends, and it was exactly what was stated on the website.

The kitchen was great, and that enabled us to save money by staying in. Unlike the guy below me, we had no problems with temperature. And just like the guy below me, our room was right beside the stairs, but we didn't find the extra noise to be a problem at all.

We loved the outdoor hot tubs, used them every night. Housekeeping was great about bringing us extra towels or keys when we needed them.

The place isn't the fanciest, and it's on the edge of town, but it was exactly what we were looking for, it was clean, and Jasper is small enough that we still walked everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfrydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It's always great to read feedback from our guests. Our number one goal at Tonquin Inn is to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience. Thank you for your compliments about our service and our amenities. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked our trip online for New Year's day for 3 days of skiing with our children in a large family suite in October. We called to confirm something 2 weeks prior and were informed that the computer screwed up and our room was booked for October 2014 and not Jan 2014. They told us the resort was now sold out and they had no family suites available. Not impressed I demanded that they figure something out with management and eventually they booked us a smaller family suite and a room for our 3 children right beside us in a room with two double beds however this did cost us an additional $25. I ensured that they honored the 10% online booking discount.

When we arrived at 2pm they told us the rooms were not ready till 3:30pm so we returned at that time to find out only our children's room was ready. We didn't get into our suite until 4:35pm only to discover that there was no heat in the suite on a minus 22 degree day. After several calls and having to turn on the oven and open the oven door to get any heat they did send up two space heaters while they tried to get ahold of the maintenance manager to fix the heating located in the floor. The problem was eventually rectified later in the evening. In addition to this the heat in our children's room shut off during the night and when we went into their room in the morning to wake them it was very cold in their room. Other issues that required a call to the front desk included the suite phones not working(the bedroom one was never fixed), a missing housecoat in the suite bathroom, our children's bathing suites were taken with the towels by housekeeping and we had to wait to get them back so they could go swimming, the noise in the suite bedroom was unbearable as its located right by the metal stairs where drunk, loud people were tromping up and down till 3am. The staff tried to address the problems however it was apparent that many other guests were having difficulties also. At checkout we insisted on an additional 10% discount for inconveniences and the staff did accommodate this request however we will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get suite 400 if you want to get a good sleep as the noise level from the stairs beside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for submitting such a thorough and helpful review of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. Thank you for informing us of the issues you had with your rooms. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams. Thank you again for providing us with your honest feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future and provide you with the standards you expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We sayer here only for one night during July 2013. We expected something better, because all nice pictures on their webpages. We had the "Family Suite", which was just an old motel room with separated bedroom and small "kitchen corner". Location of motel is good and there is lot of parking space available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We appreciate your comments and feedback and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our location and the availability of parking. I am disappointed to read that your did not enjoy our family kitchen suites as these rooms are very popular with our guests. We look forward to you giving us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived in town at 11:00am, the family was ready to hit the slopes, I however had to find something for the dog and I to do for the next 5 hours, since check in wasn't until 4:00. It's December and raining, a hike doesn't sound like much fun so we stopped in at the hotel to see if early check in was available, it was, but not until 1:00. The staff were super friendly, and asked housekeeping to do our room next so it would be done for 1:00. By the time we stopped and got lift tickets, drove to the hill and back to town, it was 1:00pm. The dog and I spent the next few hours watching tv and relaxing in our nice clean room. Thank you for making your hotel pet friendly!

The kitchen is FULLY equipped with everything you could possibly need, it even has a dishwasher, no having to wash dishes while on vacation. The beds were super comfortable, the pillows are amazing! We had a family suite and loved the walk in closet to hang all of our snow gear in. The kids loved the pool, we loved the hot tub after a long day of skiing.

I read the reviews that say its old and that's true, but the decor was updated and the place is clean. The walls are thin, although not bothersome, it's more the traffic on the stairs that is noticeable, but again, it wasn't bothersome. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danceswithtrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that our housekeeping department was able to prioritize your room. I am pleased to see that you felt we were a clean hotel and that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and fully equipped kitchen. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent one night at the Tonquin Inn while visiting Jasper National Park. The motel is in a fairly convenient location for seeing things or eating in Jasper. While it was clean and well maintained, we fund the price to be high for an old style, outside entry motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnkautzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Tonquin Inn. I appreciate your comments about our location and the cleanliness of our hotel. Please be assured that we consistently monitor the rates for hotels in Jasper so that we always remain competitive. We hope that you will give another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

When the road conditions turned to horrible on a trip to BC, my Husband and I decided to come back over two days and stopped in Jasper overnight. We decided to stay at the tested and true Tonquin Inn. We were greeted warmly by Brahim at the front desk and he helped us choose a quiet, corner suite with a King bed for the night.

When we put our bags in the room, a maintenance person came by to see if we liked the room. We thanked him for checking and asked for him to bring a microwave as not all rooms have one. It was brought promptly while we were away at dinner.

The room had a very comfortable king bed, a new large TV with good channels, a small bathroom and seating area. It was the NE corner suite on the ground level, it was a very quiet evening and we got to see some Elk in the morning.

The hotel did not offer a breakfast on week day mornings, but we could walk across the road to another hotel for a meal.

The spa, while having to walk through the snow to access, is worth a dip. They have a large pool and good hot tub.

We are always happy with our stays at the Tonquin Inn, whether we have our Dog or not.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alliston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

It is great to hear that we are your property of choice when in Jasper and that we were able to accommodate you for your unexpected stay due to weather conditions. Its always a pleasure to hear positive comments about the staff and the hotel amenities. All of the staff and management look forward to welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $104 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing