We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Tonquin Inn”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Tonquin Inn”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Terrific stay at the Tonquin Inn in Jasper, Canada;
1) Very clean
2) Pleasant and helpful staff
3) Comfortable room
4) Good access (walking) to Jasper and restaurants
5) Loved to walk to the Bear Paw Bakery!

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff and walking distance from restaurants in Jasper
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BugladyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    342
    290
    138
    68
See reviews for
309
425
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

18-20 Jun 08

Stayed at the Tonquin Inn in Jasper for two nights. In my opinion it is a wonderful hotel! We booked through Canadian Affair in the UK, so I am not sure how much one would actually pay if contacting the hotel direct.

The hotel is very easy to find in Jasper. The hotel staff are very friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Guests who need wheelchair access seem to be well catered for and the lift/elevators were fitted with handily placed call buttons.

The guest bedrooms/suites vary in size and location. We had a room with a king size bed. Not the normal UK size though, I could have landed a jet on it! Very nice. We had a room at the rear of the complex, so it was very quiet.

The room and hotel were neat, tidy and immaculate. The only downside, if it is a downside, is the distance from the "action" in Jasper. The main shopping area is a ten minute stroll, but hey, with scenery like that, who cares? There is also plenty of car park space if you don't want to walk.

A wonderful hotel, extremely well run, which I intend to stay longer at, on my next visit!

Try it!

  • Liked — The huge comfortable bed!
  • Disliked — Can't fault anything.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTrain546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My wife and I go to Jasper every few years. We have stayed at the Tonquin before and were satisfied with our stay in the past.
This time we were absolutely blown away with the changes that the hotel has done since we were there last.
Their Beds! their beds! wow! Absolutely one of the best sleeps we have had and generally myself I get 5-6 hours a night and I slept easily 8-9 hours .Obviously the beds must be new and great! The bedding was so comfortable pillows everywhere and the bed really made you want to jump in! the room itself was a suite and it had new carpets and a nice smell as we came in new furniture and gave a fantastic impression .obviously our money from last time went into new stuff! The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helped us plan a bunch of stuff we wouldnt have even known about!
All in all from the appearance of the outer hotel ,to the people and the housekeeping things have come along way since we stayed here last! We will be back and alot sooner ,as we have seen alot more things in Jasper thanks to the great people there than we normally would have.We wished the weather wouldve been better for our stay but next time!
Thanks! and keep up the great work we will be back!
Miriam and Jim Macdonald

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — it was raining
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surff70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANBluesfan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Traveling through Jasper on business, I came across the Tonquin Inn. I needed a relatively inexpensive place to stay as I was traveling through.
My brief stopover was fantastic because of the service and beauty of the Tonquin inn.
The Front Desk staff was helpful and even gave me a deal as I told them I was just traveling through! they also helped me find a place to eat, great recommendation!
Relaxing from my long drive, I sat on the patio and enjoyed the scenic view of the mountains. Low and behold, across the street from the hotel came a herd of Elk. There must have been 10 or more, just casually strolling down the street. They ever hung out on the hotel's front lawn!
I highly recommend this location! I know I’ll be staying there when I can finally get to Jasper for some much needed R&R.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CANBluesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

During our stay at the Tonquin Inn we found the staff very polite and knowledgable. The room was very clean when we checked in and we really enjoyed the wood burning fireplace in our suite. The bed was super comfortable. We will return to the Tonquin on our next visit to Jasper.

  • Liked — Fireplace
  • Disliked — There were a few light bulbs burnt out
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I was in Jasper working on the pipeline job, which meant I would be living in a hotel for months at a time. The company made arrangements for rooms with the Decore Hotels (Maligne Lodge, Tonquin Inn). I ended up in the Tonquin. I have stayed in all 3 room types...
1: staff were very rude and unhelpful to me or if my wife came to visit for a few days.
2: Restaurant service poor and expensive.
3: Room is over priced... During my stay I was FORCED to relocate for the weekend so I moved to the Marmot.... It was cheaper than the Tonquin and the room was 100% better.
4: Room size and quality of service was poor. Tiny beds, horrible house keeping, poor room setup ie: kitchenette cramped, bathroom has tiny vanity, cramped out dated bathroom.
5: Washing machines in poor working order... Do not wash well and the dryers do not function properly either.
6: Pool is small and was always cold!
Overall quality of the stay was very poor for the money I had to pay. Would recommend any other hotel in Jasper. Tonquin is by far the worst for quality, service and price!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mk_srt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing