We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and pet friendly,very comfortable beds!”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room with two double beds. Not a lot of extra space in room but certainly adequate. Very clean. Beds the most comfortable I've found in a long time ! Worth checking in just to get a good nights sleep.
Complimentary hot buffet bkfst included , which was also very good .A bit of a walk to shops but lots of free on street parking in the town. Great location for being close to everything yet have quiet restful sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor. Very clean, comfortable beds and good location are some of the many things we are known for. I am glad that you were able to have a quiet restful sleep. We hope that you choose the Tonquin Inn again on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies and Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Tonquin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We liked the room (smallish but updated) and the price ($200/night in high season) but there were problems. That rate included breakfast which was lousy. We tried asking for several small things and they refused (in one case the manager actually told us to eat something else from the buffet!). After the 1st breakfast we tried to eliminate breakfast and adjust the price accordingly but they refused. Also, we went to sleep every night in a cool and comfortable room but by morning our room was really hot and uncomfortable. They actually turn off the a/c in summer at night!!! Also, there are skylights in the room which cannot be closed without calling reception which we didn't bother to do so we were awoken every morning with sunlight pouring in. And the cleaning people are really dumb - they actually threw out all our shampoo and soap for the 1st cleaning! Finally, it's really a motel and we wanted to pull our car up to the room. Forget it. There are simply not enough spots so we had to park on the street every night. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

I am happy to hear the positive aspects of your stay. Unfortunately, we do not manage the restaurant onsite, however, your comments will be shared with their management. Our AC units have been programmed to shut off at night if the temperature drops to avoid damage to the chiller unit. Temperatures in the Rockies can fluctuate dramatically in the evening. We have posted an explanation at each of our thermostats to advise our guests of this possibility. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for raising both the positive and constructive comments which we will use to improve the experience our guests have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It has been about 15 years since I last did the Banff -> Jasper trip with family from the UK, and I'm afraid its probably going to be another 15yrs before I do it again.
The drive is the most spectacular in the whole no doubt, but Jasper and particular this hotel is a huge disappointment.
They work on the principle that they have you, and they do. Its many miles to the nearest place, and they totally rob you to be honest.
I paid $279 for one night in this "standard" motel room, in mid July. This room would be $70 even in Vancouver. My visiting family from the UK paid the same for the same room next door, and they were actually disgusted by the value for money, or lack of it.
As soon as I walked in the door, the AC was on full blast, presumably trying but failing to get rid of the musty smell. The whole place is really in need of some serious renovation.
I thought a coffee would be good, but the 2ft cord on the coffee maker on the table was 8ft away from the nearest full and overloaded outlet. I had to park in disabled spot whilst unloading the gear. After that, very hard to find a spot. I complained to reception, and they had an excuse for the parking, and said they would send round an extension cord. Never saw it.
On a good note, the room "included" breakfast vouchers at the diner. This was a pretty good breakfast.
So in general, I left Jasper with a feeling of being robbed. In the past I have turned around at the Columbia Icefield and headed back to Banff. A long day trip but well worth it. I will do that next time. BTW, a better room in Banff was only $180/night, and a fantastic 3-bedroom condo (that slept all 7 of us easily) in Whistler a few days later was $160/night !!

Room Tip: Rooms in Banff are cheaper and better !!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for submitting such a thorough and helpful review of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are disappointed that Jasper National Park (a Unesco World Heritage site) did not live up to your expectations. There are indeed vast differences and yet several similarities between Banff and Jasper. We regret your visit with us was not a pleasurable one. We take our guest comments very seriously and will take your comments into consideration as we continue to improve our property with ongoing renovations and upgrades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had to park on the street for both nights we stayed there - this was at 10 p.m. And even then we had to circle several times waiting for a car to leave first. This is not a 1,000 room hotel in a bg city so they need to ensure that hotel guests get priority and the restaurant takes the hit. They should also try limiting spaces by room number.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor re your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. I appreciate your feedback about our limited parking situation and we will take your comments into consideration as we evaluate the parking moving forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for 1 night before the Rocky Mountineer trip. We were given poor directions and struggled to find our room. It was like an oven and stank. We had to struggle with luggage up a couple flights of stairs -we were too far away from the lift. Cannot think of anything good about this apart from when we left.

Room Tip: Do not stay
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kat44007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

I was extremely disappointed to read your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We take the comfort and experience of our guests very seriously. I have discussed your comments with my Assistant General Manager for her to review them with her staff to ensure that all guests are asked if they require assistance when the guest checks in. Please accept my apologies for not having exceeded your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here on July 23rd. It is always hit and miss booking suites especially something called a "junior" suite, this one was was a hit. The bedroom actually closed off to the living room area which is my definition of a suite. This hotel was the first of four hotels so far on this trip and still holds first place. It was by far the most expensive (hence 4 stars) but that's the Jasper premium for a standard room. The room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. The room had all the amenities we needed. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amosnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

I am pleased to see that you felt we were a clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The fact that the junior suite was a hit and that we held first place is awesome! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I enjoyed meeting the manager at check-in. Like all staff, she was friendly and helpful. Our room was #357. Yes, it really was very small, especially with the comfortable king bed. But it was very clean and fresh. Jasper is not an inexpensive town, and $200 per night is not cheap at all. But we paid about this much during our entire trip to Alberta.

Room Tip: Room 357 is very tiny, but was also very clean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rac-columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your stay at the Tonquin Inn. Our friendly staff is one of biggest selling points. All of the staff and management are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again on a return visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
950 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $111 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing