We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overstuffed room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Overstuffed room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our room was stuffed with furniture. So much so, it was impossible to get from one bed to the other, or to get to the windows, or just the other side of the room if someone was sitting at the desk. This room might work if you want 2 double beds for family & kids. But this really s/b a one bed room [either queen or king]. It would make navigation & utilization of the room much better. And it could definitely could use a chair for seating.Our room came with a breakfast buffet, but we were on a tour, so that might not apply to all.Pretty good restaurant attached.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. Your feedback regarding the furniture is greatly appreciated and has been forwarded to our head office. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    321
    274
    133
    64
See reviews for
298
399
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel staff was nice and let us check in a couple of hours early, It was not a bad walk to down town and the resturants. We had the weekend brunch in the hotel - the food was cold and seclection poor ie fresh fruit meant oranges and old bruised apples, baked goods meant bannna bread, the French toast was good though. We didn't eat dinner or lunch in the hotel resturant, so cannot comment on that/ Our room wasn't cleaned very well during our stay.- The hotel decore is dated and dark , but the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QUEENIE54004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Tonquin Inn. I am glad to hear that my staff were nice and that you found our beds comfy. I am disappointed to read that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations and I have forwarded your comments to my Executive Housekeeper. I am also forwarded your comments to the Restaurant owner as we do not operate this facility.
Thank you again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is a little dated and could use with a few rennovations. But, for the price, you can forgive some of the little worn corners, if they got the little things right. As other reviewers have said, the beds and pillows are really great - super comfortable and nice to sleep in. But, we had a room with two queen beds, with only three towels. There is a hot tub and pool that you need to take your own towels to, so that meant one of us had to use our pool towel for our shower towel. We were also only provided one facecloth - for two of us, that means one doesn't get one. I also was not impressed with housekeeping. We stayed two nights, and our coffee wasn't replaced (as in, they did not provide us with a new package) and none of our glasses/mugs were washed (disclaimer - I have worked in hotel housekeeping - I have a good idea of what should be done). I know these are small things, but these are the little things that make you look past the worn interior, and when these are missed, you really doubt how good they are doing other things.

One last tip - DO NOT fall for the breakfast! They promise "fresh fruit" and baked goods - the "fresh" fruit was either canned peaches or pears, or apples and oranges that were probably from last season, and the baked goods were muffins in packages (obviously not bought in Jasper). The cheese had been out so long that the corners were hard and curling up, and most of the hot food was stone cold. If you do go for it - eat the french toast - the only thing we found edible on the buffet.

All in all, it isn't bad - especially at that price point. There is an outdoor hot tub which is nice, and the beds are quite comfortable, but when they forget some of the small things, you wonder what big things are being forgotten.....

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank loves2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for submitting such a thorough and helpful review of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. I am glad to see that you found our beds and pillows super comfortable and I agree its the little things that make the biggest difference. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with my Housekeeping Department. I have also passed on your comments to the Restaurant owner, as we do not operate this facility.

All of the staff and management hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a really great hotel for a great price. The rooms are cozy and you can request to have a microwave and a kettle in your room on top of the coffee maker they already provide. That along with the mini fridge gives you everything you need right inside of your room.

The gym is great compared to most gyms I usually find when traveling. The only complaint I have is that they don't open it until 8am, which is too late in my opinion. I'd like to be able to work out and get going earlier some days, but that's a minor complaint.

Even at the busiest times, I never heard a lot of noise from other hotel guests or cars on the road. It's in a great location too, walking distance to the city centre and close to Pyramid and Patricia lakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. Great price, great location and cozy rooms are some of our many selling points. I am glad to see that we were able to accommodate you with a microwave and kettle. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had no reservation, drive in at about 5pm. The receptionist, a young lady called Skye was so helpful and happy to give good service.
we were shown four rooms and made our selection of a room with sensational views of the snow capped mountains. Best room at the best price...Vey happy....
Stayed one day, then we were so happy we stayed a second day.
Room King bed, fridge, microwave, good linen and extra good pillows. we used the indoor swim pool and jaccuzi... third floor and elevator...
i would recommend this hotel and i would stay at anytime in the future.
Thank You,
Russell........from Australia

Room Tip: room with a exciting view....room 350
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at the Tonquin Inn. I am delighted to hear that you found us by chance and that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again! It is always nice to hear that our staff is helpful and happy to give good service. Skye has not been with us for very long but she definitely has a great customer service attitude.
All of the staff and managment look forward to serving you again on a return visit. Please contact me directly so that I can personally make your next reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the night here in Jasper on the drive from Utah to Alaska. We arrived late and left early, so we weren't looking for anything spectacular, just a comfortable place to sleep. Taking the advice of other reviews on Trip Advisor, I asked for a renovated room when I made my reservations. I'm pretty sure we ended up getting one as the room was comfortable and up to date. It was the smallest room I've ever stayed in, but that didn't really matter, all I wanted was a bed for the night. My only complaint would be the heat - our room was uncomfortably hot from the time we checked in and the time we checked out despite the thermostat being on the coldest setting. Even got up and opened the window in the middle of the night which kind of helped but it was still too warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystals34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We appreciate your comments about the issues you had with the temperature in your room. I have shared your comments with my Maintenance Manager who will be assessing the heating issues. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ilsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here in May 2012 (sorry, bit dated) as part of honeymoon.

Situated a good half a mile from the centre of Jasper, it is not the closest, but the walk in is straight and Jasper is not a big place.

Good value for Jasper, one of the better prices. I was unsure what to expect as the hotel is similar to a motel in many ways, with a central car-park surrounded by 2-storey blocks. Convenient for those travelling by car.

The rooms were fairly large and clean, no complaints. Nothing looked particularly worn, and the bed was comfy, so really good for what you are paying.

Initially we were put in a ground level room a few metres away from the reception. It was a nice room, but at night the sounds of the nearby stairs and vending machine could be clearly heard, plus, the room is close to both the laundry room (we could hear the drums spinning) and the reception, where cars arrived throughout the night, stopping right outside with headlights lighting the room, rumbling engines and crunching gravel. We did not sleep well as were regularly woken.
So, the next morning I went to the reception and explained the problem. The lady was very understanding, apologised, and offered us an upgrade to a room on the second floor on the far end of the complex, at no extra cost. I didn't want to make a fuss, and this was offered just with me stating the problem, so very grateful for this.
The second room was part of a newer build, and was spacious and comfy, with views out onto Pyramid mountain. Very happy with this room, and the cleanliness.

There is a restaurant opposite the reception (Prime Rib Village), but it didn't look as inviting as places in town.

People said the sound of trains on the other side of the main road was loud at night, but we didn't hear anything, so either we were lucky as no big freight trains went through or this is an issue only for rooms facing that direction.

Overall, great budget accommodation in Jasper with clean comfortable rooms. Just check where your room is before you stay the night and try and get a room on the far side (near the mountains) away from reception. Hopefully the staff will be as friendly as they were when we stayed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near reception. Ask for a room on far side facing Pyramid Mountain - much nicer and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisdair_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised about our hotel and that my staff treated you with the great guest service for which we are known. I am especially glad to see that we were able to accommodate you in a different room for your second night. I have shared your comments with all of my staff and please be assured that meeting and exceeding guest expectations is always important to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and Despegar.com so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing