We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice now. It is very...average. We don't spend much time in our room, so the small size has never really bothered us. Rooms are clean and beds are fairly comfortable.

If you want a quieter experience, request a room in the newer section: soundproofing is a little better than in the older section. You don't get a ton of towels, so I would suggest requesting a couple extra when you check in.

It's a great budget option if you're only staying for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section: it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Clean rooms and comfortable beds are two of the many things we are known for. I am disappointed to read that you did not receive enough towels and have brought this to the attention of my Executive Housekeeper. On behalf of myself and my team, we hope to welcome you back to the Tonquin Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    326
    277
    134
    65
See reviews for
302
403
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel and I was looking forward to staying here. The rooms are ok but quite small, maybe a suite would be better. The parking is horrendous. One night we came back after dinner and didn't have a place to park. Between the whole group we had 6 rooms and 5 cars. We took 2 vehicles and both of us were unable to find parking. We went to the front desk and were told that we could park on the street. I was not ok with that cosidering we paid for rooms and typically this includes parking. We were then told that there were many rooms that registered several vehicles to a room. To me this is unacceptable... Poor customer service and I will not be back. One of the outdoor hot tubs was not working and it is the busy season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngingras76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Being located in a National Park presents parking challenges for all hotels in Jasper as the size of parking space allocated for hotels is governed by Parks Canada and is not typical of parking availability at hotels outside of the Park.
We have 2 outdoor hot tubs that are cleaned on a weekly basis as mandated by Alberta Health. To not inconvenience our guests, we clean one hot tub at a time leaving the other one open for the guests to use in the meantime.
I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that our service did not meet your expectations. We take the comfort and overall experience of our guests seriously and we hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've been to Jasper so many times I've lost count and have stayed in numerous hotels. My first stay at the Tonquin Inn was in 2001 and since then this is the ONLY hotel I'll stay in when I visit Jasper. Check-in and out has always been quick and easy. I've never been charged for mysterious fee-fees. The rooms have been small but clean (I especially love the wood burning fireplaces with all the free wood you could want). But the best, absolute BEST part of this hotel is the HOT TUB!!!!! Sure, it doesn't look like much but trust me, if you want a "hot" hot tub and one that you can bring some booze to then this is the hotel for you! Additionally, if you're a smoker then you sit at one end and if you're a non-smoke you sit at the other and nobody cares as long as you're not tossing your cigarette butts into the hot tub (be courteous). Children are usually gone early and then it's free for the adults. I've never eaten there so I can't comment on any of the food served. Never had a problem with parking and have brought a dually on multiple occasions. Also, this place is in a great and convenient location.

Room Tip: Hot tub is a drinking and smoking environment at night (after children are gone) so if this is bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cdntraverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are happy to see that we are the hotel of choice when visiting Jasper. However, I feel that certain comments need to be addressed and corrected.
Our guests do enjoy the wood burning fireplaces but fire logs are not free. Fire places are reset every day with one free fire log. Thereafter, if a guest requests an additional fire log there is a charge.
There are rules posted in the pool area and in the hot tub area. Smoking, drinking alcohol or consuming food is absolutely not permitted in these areas. Not only does this contravene the Health Board regulations, but also these areas are open to other guests who wish to enjoy the pool and/or hot tub as well.
It is quite obvious from your comments that my staff and security need immediate retraining to ensure that these areas remain alcohol and smoke free for the enjoyment of all of our guests. I can assure you that my staff/security will be more diligent in monitoring these areas so that all guests feel welcome and can enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Tonquin Inn is very easy to locate from either direction when entering Jasper. Peaceful area of the town and a quick drive (winter time) for food and such. Rooms are very well serviced and furniture are nice while the actual building is getting a little dated. Large indoor pool and spa with a gym overlooking it. Free wireless is always appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and free parking. I am especially happy to hear about the service you received and that you found your accommodation clean and well maintained. Our fireplace and kitchen rooms are always well received by our guests. All of my staff and myself look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excelelnt location, right in heart of city, close to stores and gas stations (Very imp) gas stations are difficult to find in hilly areas and have premium prices sometimes). close to places to eat.

Rooms were very clean and well maintained, have a fireplace, utensils if you want to cook, and very good concierge.

(Close to sight seeing spots like Lake Malign, Athabasca falls and Columbia Glaciers.)

Parking is free.I was very happy with their service.

Room Tip: find deals or look for package deals. Book well in advance. Have a nice trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8079AASHISH_TRIVEDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are definitely in an excellent location - close to many services that our guests require and enjoy. Its always a pleasure to hear positive comments about our hotel in particular our clean rooms, our amenities and our excellent service. Your feedback has been shared with all of my team. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First the good-- the beds were very comfortable and clean, and a microwave is available upon request. The bad-- there is not enough parking. We had to park on the street and we returned to the hotel at 7:30. I am not sure where anyone else would have parked that came after us. The restaurant only had a buffet in the morning. My son is on a low sodium diet, so cannot eat much from a buffet. A morning menu would be a nice touch. The bathrooms are tiny. The worst-- do not book this hotel if you are coming for the pool, it is freezing cold. Many people complained to the front desk staff and their answer was always " we checked it and it is at 27 degrees". I doubt even the hot tub was 27 degrees. Other patrons also agreed it was max 15 degrees, even the kids couldn't get in it. I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience you had during your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. I am glad to see that you found the beds comfortable and clean and that you were able to have a microwave on request. Unfortunately, being in a National Park, parking is a problem with all hotels in the town of Jasper - a problem that cannot be easily resolved due to our location. Yours comments regarding the restaurant will be shared with their management as we do not manage the restaurant ourselves. The temperature of the pool and hot tubs are checked on a daily basis to ensure we are within Alberta Health regulations. However, I have forwarded your comment to my Maintenance Department to make them aware of your concerns. We would love the opportunity to gain your loyalty back and look foward to welcoming you on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a kitchenette with 2 queen beds. The girls at the front desk were friendly and check-in went smoothly. Our room was clean and had the kitchen in the middle so it was a nice separation from the back bedroom. We brought our own food to cook to save on the restaurant bills. I would suggest bringing your own frying pan as they only supply one and it is not a non stick pan. Also bring paper towels and a sharp knife.
When we were there the hot tubs were hot and the swimming pool was fine.
The only thing stopping me from giving this place a 5 is the very thin walls. You can hear the people in the suite next to you if they are loud. You also hear the people walking past your door in the morning.
The back bedroom has less noise. We put the boys in there and they said they could not hear anything. We stay up late so the noise did not bother us except in the morning. Bring ear plugs if you like to sleep past 6.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without someone beside you if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchintogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
The Tonquin team would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your stay with us. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed our kitchnette room. I have forwarded your comments to my Executive Housekeeper to ensure that all of our kitchenette rooms are up to our equipment standards. All of the staff and myself hope that you were able to take home fond memories of your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing