We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bear Hill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 20, 2006

This was the worst place we stayed on a two week trip in Canada. We were given cabin 3 which is right next to the main lodge, the laundry and ice room and a drinks vending machine! The room itself was tired and was sweltering when we arrived thanks to a gas fireplace that you can't turn off. The bed was also very hard and uncomfortable. Maybe it was just our cabin, but despite the good location, I certainly wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcieHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    187
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
101
210
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Stayed at Bear Hill Lodge for 3 nights and were very impressed with the cabin and the staff. We had 4 people in our group and booked the "Deluxe" accommodations, which consists of two separate rooms with an adjoining door between them. The larger room had a kitchen, kitchen table, fridge, stove & oven, 2 double beds, large couch and two oversize chairs, large fireplace, TV and private deck which looked out at nothing but trees and deer! The second room was smaller, but still had 2 double beds, 2 comfy chairs, TV, fridge and another private deck.

Having arrived on a Thursday night during "off season" we pretty much had the place to ourselves - things picked up on the weekend and the "No Vacancy" sign was lit, however, it was very quiet and peaceful during our entire stay.

The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly, and we encountered about 4 or 5 different people depending on what time we visited the front office. Never did get around to using the hot tub, but the area it's in looked very nice.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone, and I'd certainly go back myself.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Putts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

The bear hill lodge is located in a like residential area. Its just a 3 minute drive away from the town centre which is quite small in comparison to Banff. We stayed for two nights in a cabin with two sleeping rooms. Everything was well maintained and clean. The rate was quite reasonable. So i would say that this lodge is a good choice and definitely better than staying again in one of those motels which are lookin all the same.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 26, 2005

This was one of the stays on our honeymoon. It was the least expensive of our accomodations however also one of the most memorable. We stayed in the most basic hut which comprised of a double bed, a single bed (to put our suit cases onto!) , TV, gas fire, and a recently refitted clean and tidy bathroom. Jasper is only a 10-15 walk away and great mountain views. We found it to be a good location to explore Icefields Parkway which was a 60 minute drive away. Well worth doing for the spectacular scenery! A nice continental breakfast was included. We could park the car right outside.

We had a great stay here!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2005

We arrived in Jasper one day early, and fell upon the Bear Hill lodge. The room was quite expensive, but well worth it. Good location as it was a little out of town - 5/10 minute walk. Room was beautiful (we stayed in one of the rooms above the reception) and I loved the large fire and high backed armchairs - great for romance! Nice, comfortable bed and fantastic spacious bathroom. Would definitely stay again, but would prefer price to come down a little.

Whilst in Jasper, if you like real ale, try the Jasper brewing co. - great range. Best food we had in the area was a 10 minute drive out of town at Pyramid lake (within their lodging complex) but the pizza place opposite the train track was good too.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
Thank Liz&Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2005

We stayed in the Colin room just above the main building, which was pleasant enough and had some lovely views of the mountains. Unfortunately it did not have the balcony we were expecting (and payed more for) but just a landing at the top of the stairs with 2 very old and stained plastic chairs. But what really let this place down was the level of service. We would have appreciated a smile and a word of welcome before being asked for an imprint of our credit card and someone at reception who was a little more knowledgeable about the place. Don't stay here if you are expecting a homely atmosphere and welcome, but all in all still quite a good place to stay.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2005

Recently spent two nights at The Bear Hill Lodge in Jasper which turned out to be the hotel/motel/cabin highlight of our two week trip to the Canadian Rockies.Room had been remodelled in the past two years and came with a fireplace and kitchenette. Do not pass up the continental breakfast which consisted of homemade muffins, fresh cut fruit, scones, cold cereal, coffe and juice. Price for breakfast was very reasonable. Free internet access came in very handy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only regret was that we did not plan on a longer stay at the Bear Hill Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank subi2-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Property: Bear Hill Lodge
Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing