We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint and cute ...”
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear Hill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“quaint and cute ...”
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed for one night over the Labour Day long weekend. Bear Hill Lodge is very conveniently located, easy to find (as everything in Jasper is), a short walk to the town and picturesquely nestled at the side of the mountain. The included breakfast consisted of the best muffiins and scones EVER, cereal, toast, yogurt and a nice bowl of mix fruit - as well as juice and coffee. The price seemed very high ($185 with taxes)but for Jasper it is in line. We did not have a cabin, rather one of the rooms upstairs in the 'lodge'. The room itself was spotless and provided all we needed - ie a bed, very small dresser and little table with two chairs. There was room for absolutely nothing else so fortunately there were only two of us!!!! Despite the fact that we thouroughly enjoyed our stayed and have no complaints about the friendliness of the staff, I would perhaps look for a 'b and b' next time simply due to price. As well, we were awoken very early with some strange noise below us that went on for several hours and virtually ended our nights rest - it sounded like a blender being continually turned on and off??? Our room was #35 - possibly a room to avoid. Other than the complaints about 'size and price' we found the cons others have mentioned completely unfounded during our stay... fortunately for us!

  • Liked — great location, gorgeous scenery
  • Disliked — size and price, weird noise in the a.m.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jaynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    193
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
109
218
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Lodge is an is definately an overstatement, shoebox more realisticly. Traveling with extended family we needed two rooms, We booked the Heritage Cabin for our family of five, it had two rooms,each room was so small that the beds takes up the entire room ,impossible to walk around & no room for luggage . The lounge only had enough room for three people at one time, bathroom the size of a cupboard, Kitchenette not big ,but funtional. For this cabin I would recommend no more that 3 people stay or you will constantly be standing sideways to pass each other & don't bring big suitcases either! The other cabin we booked for the Grandparents was Forest Cabin again was tiny,Ok for just two people for overnight. The people on the desk could not be less helpful of totally disinterested if they tried.Jaded, springs to mind .Maybe it was the end of the Tourist season. On checking in on -5 Autumn night no mention was made that the fireplace did not work & the central heating also had broken down & was under repair. Managements solution was an ancient small electrial heater. When I went to reception to get more blankets they did admit to knowing about the problem & seemed put out that I wanted more than 1 exra blanket for the five of us. A standard Best Western 2 room unit we stayed in was much bigger , cheaper, & better service. Apart from the accomodation Jasper was beautiful we went on a wildlife tour with Rocky Mt tour Center that I highly recomend,It was one of the highlights of the whole trip & Owen our tour guide went out of his way to see we got to see a large varity of animals. Also for a quick , cheap & very tasty meal for the whole family, North Face Pizza was outstanding. I am not normally a big Pizza Fan but these were something else.
In summery we booked our whole Canada/USA trip from recommendations on Trip Advisor. Out of 21 different hotels Bear Hill lodge was the only suprise & dissapiontment.

  • Liked — The Elk that visits the front lawn
  • Disliked — Cramped, Total Indifference from front Desk Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearHillLodge, Front Office Manager at Bear Hill Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
All our cabins are individually heated and most additionally have a fireplace. We would never knowingly check a guest into a room without functioning heating. We clearly failed to meet our service commitment in respect of a mechanical breakdown in this case (though we are mystified at the complaint that the fireplace also didn't work). It's true that in the fall of 2007 we had a staff member who just didn't seem to care, and who was subsequently released. We regret that our service was unsatisfactory; we generally do much better than this.

We're entirely clear and forthcoming about the size of our accommodations; our website even has floorplans with dimensions given and our maximum recommended occupancy in the cabin in question is two adults and two children. We also offer larger accommodations for larger groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We got to Jasper with the anticipation that we'd spend 2 nights there. I had made the reservation directly through the lodge. When we got there, we were disappointed. The facility was clean but thats about it. It was more like a 2* motel on the side of a highway than a lodge. The breakfast was scarce - left a lot to be desired. The location is alright but not close enough to town to walk to the centre. After the first night, we decided to cancel our reservation for the second night and head back to Banff. I would definitely not go back to the Bear Hill Lodge. The staff are pretty amateur and you dont feel like your in a money-paying facility. We paid $100 per night and that was way overpriced. It's probably worth $40 tops! If your going to Jasper - look elsewhere for accomodation.

  • Liked — Clean, aveda products in the shower
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

While visiting family in Edmonton, my husband and I were taken to Jasper for a one night's stay. My aunt booked the deluxe chalet suite for 6 of us. It was 2 rooms and very nice, but it was more for a family than 3 married couples. One of us would have had to split up. My husband and I were ok to do that, but it was decided we would get our own cabin. We ended up staying in one of the forest cabins. It was totally adequate for us. The night was chilly and the gas fireplace was our only source of heat and it did a great job. Don't know how it would do in a raging snowstorm with below freezing temperatures, but we were very cozy! We did not eat the breakfast provided since we had a kitchen to cook in available to us in the suite. I made coffee in the morning, while my husband went next door and made breakfast for everyone. The suite was nicely furnished. Had great down comforters on the beds. Decent sheets (not threadbare like other places). The deck on the back was large and the view was woodsy. We were able to have a fire in one side of the suite. The other side where my parents stayed had a fireplace, as well. However, when we tried to light it, the flu was clogged or something, because the smoke alarm went off and the room started to fill with smoke. (We did have the flu open.) I'm glad the smoke alarm worked! We doused the fire and opened the windows. When told the next morning at the front desk about what had happened, they were very apologetic and gave us a $25.00 discount off our bill. It was convenient to walk to the shops. Fantastic views of the Canadian Rockies are all around you. Not having ever been to this part of the world before we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Bear Hill Lodge and would be happy to stay there again.
On a different note, Jasper National Park is absolutely beautiful! We drove the Icefield Parkway and stopped at the Athabasca Glacier. We drove up Mt. Edith Cavell until the road became covered with ice and we didn't want to venture up anymore without a 4-wheel drive vehicle. Saw some gorgeous scenery, some elk and mountain sheep. I can't wait to go back and stay longer!

  • Liked — It's cozy atomoshpere and location.
  • Disliked — One fireplace didn't work properly
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We arrived in Jasper without pre-booking a hotel so we weren't sure what to expect and were going to stay in a private residence. We eventually chose to stay in the Bear Hill Lodge which is at the end of Jasper's main road. It's like a motel but the room was clean and staff friendly. Best thing is the included breakfast which hardly anywhere seems to offer. Buffet contintential breakfast with really good muffins and cereal, tea, cofee, juices and fruit.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The funny smell in the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanutchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

It's a clean, functional, safe and comfortable place. Located in the quietest area of Jasper town but very close to good restaurant options (after all Jasper town is quite small). You even get the chance to see wildlife around the cabins early in the morning.

It's not expensive compared to other options in Jasper Ntl. Park and has everything you should expect from a place of its characteristics. However, do not expect luxury and charm...

I recommend this place if you are not willing to stay too much time at your hotel/B&B and just want a quiet place to sleep and rest after the day trips and hikes.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

On our trip through the Canadian Rockies, we stayed here in between two much fancier hotels (Fairmont in Lake Louise and Banff).

This place was much more reasonably priced, even for prime season. We had a cute little studio, which was more like a large room with a couple of beds in a large cabin split into four units. We faced back, which gave us some privacy.

The front desk, which is very efficient but they don't go out of their way to offer assistance. We encountered a slight problem and the girl working the desk at the time was a good mixture of clueless and unconcerned.

The continental breakfast was decent, if a bit pricey for $8/person. Go into town and you'll get more for your money, especially if you want to eat simple.

Overall, this is a great value and a well kept property for Jasper, and we got to enjoy an elk the morning of our checkout enjoying "breakfast" of the bushes and flowers on the property. Oh, and even though you don't come here to watch television, the tv's could use an upgrade in the rooms for that downtime after activities.

  • Liked — location/price
  • Disliked — basic on service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Property: Bear Hill Lodge
Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing