We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonnest!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear Hill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
kingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dishonnest!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

When we arrived we asked if any chalet was available, the guy at the front dest told us that they had only a room upstair or 1 chalet. After looking at the chalet I noticed that the soda machine was attached to it and told the receptionnist that I was sorry but we wanted something quieter and was told that only another one was available but it was the most expensive one. We agreed to take it. Since the Wi Fi was not working, I went to the office to get my emails and overheard the receptionnist (different one, new shift)talking to walk in and telling them that had several chalets available!!!
I did ask her about it and she said she did not understood why I was not given any other options. She did contact the owner and when we came back after dinner the only option we were offered by the owner was to switch cabin at 10:30pm with no apology.
Room was run down, wi fi was not working. Wort experience of our entire vacation. Best experience was www.glacierguides.com lodge in Montana. Bear Hill needs to go there and learn about customer service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeankingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    187
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
100
210
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in Queen Cottage for 3 nights. We felt we were far removed from Jasper downtown, but it would have been a short walk. We should have walked as we spent way too much time at Bear Paw Bakery for their goodies-especially the Nanaiamo bars-UUUMMMMMM! Clean, comfortable (except the bed-seemed to be missing a mattress. We did not try the breakfast as thought a bit expensive for juice & carbs. There were enough dishes in the cottage where we could cook our breakfast to save money. Although they were fully booked a couple of the nights we were there we did not hear anyone. Wi-fi worked well-we were very near the office. They had laundry, a hot tub but we did not use. If we were lucky enough to be back in Jasper (thought Jasper to be very expensive)-would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2travelMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We rented three cabins for 5 people,2 couples and one single. Absolutely loved it there. Great scenery, even though it is in town, we felt we were far removed. Clean,comfortable,breakfast was great.Although they were fully booked,we were not bother or heard anyone. We sat out until late nite chatting. Will for sure stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are about to spend our first of two nights here, but already we like a number of things about this place. It seems to be run by a family. Has wi-fi, laundry, a spa (hot tub?), and basic but sweet cabins - with these unusual touches:

1. REAL wool blankets, made in Canada
2. High quality linens
3, Real wood fireplaces
4. Homemade "cold" breakfasts that include homemade pastries, homemade granola, juice, yogurt, coffee, tea, etc.
5. Pine wood ceilings and walls
6. Very quiet location in a residential area

We are looking forward to our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HereWeGo282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Bear Hill Lodge. Based on previous TA reviews, we asked for one of the rooms in the back of the property and one with a kitchen so we could cook. Contrary to other TA postings, our room was spacious and immaculate. The kitchen area was updated with all appliances and dishes that we needed. There were coffee filters and coffee! The bathroom also appeared to have been recently re-tiled and updated. We greatly appreciated the laundry facility located next to the main building.
The lodge is within walking distance of almost everything in Jasper.
The only drawback was that the wi-fi was not working most of the time.
All of the staff were friendly, helpful and hospitable.
We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Chalets in back of property away from road are more quiet... See other TA reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights in September. The room was for two and was plenty big enough. The cabin was spotlessly clean and all the equipment was as described on the website. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The bed was comfortable and had a (European style) quilt
The town was a short walk away and it was a very quiet site.
A little more sitting space outside the cabin would be good. The cabin that we used was ready for an outside coat a paint but neither of these things detracted from the stay
The breakfast was great, fresh croissants, cakes, cereal and fruit and good for value.
We would be happy to stay again and would recommend Deer Lodge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briansn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

In fairness, the lodge's website said about the two cabins we had reserved that they were small and not for other than short stays with people who got on well together. This was accurate. We were on a 2 week tour and consequently had bags which made the limited accommodation really quite cramped . But this was the only accommodation that met our requirement of 2 beds in each room and we were having great difficulty finding a suitable place to stay in Jasper for September 9 & 10.
That said, the rooms and linens were very clean and the bathrooms well appointed and large enough. The home made breakfasts were first class as well as being healthy. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Tish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Property: Bear Hill Lodge
Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing