We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pyramid Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Pyramid lake is beautiful, and the location is quite nice and remote, being about 10km out of town. However, the lodge itself is definitely not worth what they're charging. The two nights my wife and I stayed there were each pretty loud. The room we stayed in had shared walls and even the ceiling with the unit next door. Two families were staying in the room and loft next to us, and when ever anyone used the stairs it sounded like the Calgary Stampede. We weren't able to sleep without lots of awakening noise either night.

The decks are adjoining as well, so if you're neighbors are out on their deck there is not much privacy. The exterior needs painted. It was about half done when we stayed there near the end of August.

We didn't eat in the restaurant. I tried to have a drink in the lodge pub at 4pm one afternoon, but it was closed. DEFINITELY have breakfast at the Soft Rock Cafe in town. Delicious breakfasts.

I'd recommend driving up to Pyramid Lake and possibly renting a canoe. Don't make the mistake of actually staying here though. I'm positive there are better options available in Jasper.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank mb1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    226
    98
    63
    32
See reviews for
147
279
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Stayed one night at Pyramid lake resort, and found the hotel OK, the room are large, and the hotel was clean, did not had dinner there.only negative point is the reception, there is one person , and very often you have to wait 15 minutes to ask for anything

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — reception is too slow
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jls38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

I had hoped that staying in a resort rather than just a hotel would be a nicer and more relaxing experience, but I was disappointed. The 'Suite' was smaller than many hotel rooms we've stayed in, and was in a block of 6 built in a 'log-cabin' style. It did have a sofa, which doubled as a sofa bed, but how 4 people could share that size of room is beyond me.

Ours was on the upstairs floor, which meant 3 flights of quite steep exterior steps to get to our room - not funny with heavy suitcases. Even the lower level ones required you to go up one flight of steps. The whole site is also on a very steep slope, which most of the cabins are at the top of. We were fine with this, but I'm sure there was no warning of this when booking, so the elderly or disabled may have a shock when they arrived.

Another problem was that the upper floor suites had very high ceilings, and there were large windows about 10 - 12 feet up above the door, which had no curtains. This let lots of light in during the day, but meant that, as soon as the sun came up, you were awake. And that's early. Unfortunately, breakfast didn't start till 8, and they wouldn't let you hire a boat till 8 either, so there was very little to do first thing in the morning other than go for a walk.

The restaurant was OK, but the chef is too fond of black pepper for my liking. Many of the facilities which make life easier in a hotel, such as a launderette, ironing board in the room (although there was an iron, bizarrely) or a computer allowing internet access, weren't there.

Overall, nothing to actually complain about while we were there, but just not as luxurious and pampering as I had expected from the website and from reviews in guide books etc.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank jonottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Pyramid Lake Resort is 5 minutes out of the 'back' of Jasper (near Patricia Lake Bungalows). Most of the Hotels in Jasper are along the main street 'strip'. However this cabin resort was on the edge of Pyramid Lake and the views out of all the cabins were breath-taking. Couldn't fault the cabins. We had a bedroom downstairs, and upstairs on the mezzanine was the kitchen and lounge area, with a bed so slept 4 comfortably. The view when you opened your eyes in the morning !!! (no curtains - no need). You could hire boats on the lake and they also had a Hot Tub overlooking the lake. If you're staying in Jasper, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

The Restaurant on site serves good food, but is a little pricey, and wouldn't recommend it. Best place for breakfast is Soft Rock cafe on the main strip.

Had a little trouble with reception at first and room hadn't been cleaned, but once over the initial problems it was superb. A real "rocky mountain" experience.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We found the rooms to be very clean and well eqipped. We didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment. Wonderful setting and perfect for taking a boat/ canoe out on the lake. Only down side was we met our only unfriendly receptionist during 3 weeks in Canada. Other than that would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dona3853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

Our recent experience at Pyramid Lake Resort was a disaster.
When we arrived,there was nobody at the Front Desk.After looking around,a Chef came up and said the agent was delivering something to a room.After 10 mins wait,the agent returned and have difficulty finding us a clean room although it was 5 pm.We finally checked in and found the room to be under expectations although it was advertised that the property had undergone renovations.We ask the houskeeper that was cleaning rooms and she said there was no renovations done to the resort.False advertising.
We were hungry after a long drive and decided to eat in the restaurant.The cutlery was spotted and so were the water and wine glasses.The food was TERRIBLE,bland and unimaginative.The dessert menu presesented has wine spots on it and it only had cheesecake,black forest cake which was probably bought from Costco.
Still hungry,we went downstairs to the Pub and ordered the platter.The food was all deep fried and probably left over form day prior.
We stayed at Pyramid Lake Resort in Feb 2005 and the experience was totally different.There was staff at the desk and the restaurant had gold medals on their menus and the dessert was out of this world.
We will NOT recommend anyone to this property.

Helpful?
18 Thank travel1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

This is a resort hidden behind the mountain that fronts the Jasper townsite and is a lakefront property on Pyramid Lake. What an excellent place. I have stayed at many hotels in Jasper as well as the Jasper Park Lodge. Most of the hotels are standard issue and the JPL is great but at five star prices. The Pyramis Lake Resort is the next best thing. It is peaceful and quiet and the location is perfect. The Pines restaurant serves top class food and beverage and the service is intimate and personal. It is a great place to use as a base to explore the Jasper area and spend a few days at. As a seasoned traveller to the Canadian Rocky Mountains I would highly recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VinodV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramid Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Lake Resort

Property: Pyramid Lake Resort
Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Coast Pyramid Lake Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyramid Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pyramid Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Pyramid Lake Hotel Jasper
Pyramid Lake Jasper
Coast Pyramid Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing