We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty location with unmodernised 70s style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pyramid Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty location with unmodernised 70s style hotel”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lake is pretty, staff are relatively helpful, boat hire is expensive with no deals for guests, but overall it is an underwhelming place which is pretty pricey. Also hotel sound insulation is poor so you hear other guests and room which is billed as a suite is v cramped for family of 4

If you are in jasper, go to oka sushi for supper - awesome

Just got to canmore near Banff and for the same money as pyramid lake, we are in somewhere a zillion times better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaJo-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    226
    98
    63
    32
See reviews for
147
279
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This summer my wife, my son and I spent three very enjoyable days in the Jasper area using Pyramid lake resort as our base. This resort situated on picturesque Lake Pyramid is a 10 minute drive from town. We were very pleased with our second story balcony room facing the lake. The room was a bit dated, but perfectly clean and comfortable. The chalet style room featured a queen bed and a sofa bed, fireplace, and high vaulted ceiling. The meal we had at the hotel restaurant was excellent. My son braved a swim in the very cold water and was glad for the hot tub afterwards. He found the beach a bit too weedy and thought later that diving off the dock would have been a better idea. Canoes for rent accommodate only two people and the so-called kayaks are really just pontoon boats, so we didn't bother renting even though the beautiful calm water would have made a nice paddle. No power boats are allowed in the lake. We opted for local hiking trails and were able to experience the spectacular scenery surrounding the lake. The hotel was an excellent jumping off point for our visit to the tramway on Whistler's mountain (breathtaking, especially if you make the arduous climb to the peak) and white water rafting (exhilarating) on the class II, III Sunwapta river. Along with the drive to the Columbia ice fields, these are must-dos in Jasper.

Room Tip: Second story facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a hiking holiday. The location is very pretty, on a lake, but view from terrace obstructed by thick trees. Also the hotel is quite far from Jasper town, so have to use your car to go for a meal or to buy groceries.
The room was spacious, the bed comfortable. The furniture could use a bit of updating. A fireplace in the sitting area was a nice feature.
The service, particularly housekeeping, has room for improvement. The bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned, and the bed was not always made.
Overall, an acceptable place, but needs improvement to be worth what they charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had 2 nights in an upper story Pyramid room in a cabin block, on the Jasper leg of our Vancouver Island to Banff road trip through the Rockies. Reasonable size, but had some odd equipment for food - eg a toaster but no other way of serving food such as cutlery or plates. Bathroom was fine, good shower etc. as others have reported walls are a bit thin but our neighbours were not noisy. Best to get a room with a lake view, at the front of the resort, and an upper rather than lower storey. Ours had a side balcony as well which was great de watching birds in the trees. A reasonable 10 minute drive out of Jasper. The location is wonderful. Very good short walk around lake to Pyramid Island and many more good short hikes from map given by very helpful reception team.

The Pines Restaurant - very good quality and average price for the areas we have been visiting on our road trip through the Rockies. We eat there on both nights of our stay in the resort. Ask for a window seat as the changing light and colour over the lake and mountains is magical. On the final night we were entertained by three elk skirting the edge of the lake as we eat dinner.

Room Tip: Upper storey room at front if going for Pyramid Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here after staying in Banff and this resort is very accommodating. They have BBQ's outside for you to use and sell plates etc in singles. Awesome touch I thought. The view is breathtaking. The laundrymat and hot tub are clean and in good working condition. The restaurant had a great breakfast, but we found the supper prices too rich and went somewhere else. The rooms are pricey but we got a great deal and that was appreciated. Yes they are somewhat tired, but it was CLEAN. And that is what matters most. No hairs, no bed bugs, no dirty light fixtures. It had a fridge. Missing was the air conditioning. They have a fan.
It was full but felt very peaceful. No parties at night. The lake is clean and we swam in it. The rentals are super pricey. I think it was $35.00 for a half hour rental on a paddleboat. I think that is too much. All in all, we loved the location and the friendly staff in every area of this resort. A job well done to the service workers at the resort!

Room Tip: Like to see the lake, book a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Pyramid Lake was beautiful, Pyramid Lake Resort was just okay. Room was a tad rundown and a bit dirty with a few stains in the bathroom, so value is not so good. View was pretty good, but a few trees and buildings were obstructing 90% of the lake view. The Pines Restaurant was horrible for breakfast, so don't expect too much or don't expect even average service times. Hash browns was completely saturated in fat, toast is cold, and the eggs were partially raw and cooked. The chef was also the dishwasher, and the waiter and waitresses were not very proficient in restaurant service. When you have to wait 25 minutes for a table, when half the restaurant is empty, and the waitress/hostess looks at you and walks away several times, and then comes back and tells you your table is almost ready, and then walks away again, it really makes you wonder whether its quicker just to drive 9 mins back into Jasper townsite, eat breakfast and drive 9 min all the way back again, and then your table might just be ready. The food took even longer to come, and when it did, it was atrocious. I would rate Pines Restaurant a zero if it was even possible. Perhaps it was just bad timing that we went or because the manager was away that the restaurant service went to crap.

Room Tip: My recommendation would be to stay at the beautiful Patricia Lake Bungalow instead (only a few minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACDSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and ended up eating diner both nights at their restaurant. The food and view were both fantastic. As for the rooms call to reserve one with a higher view if seeing the lake is key for you. The rooms them selves are clean and recently redone but seem a little over priced. Now I also have heard jasper has some of the highest hotel rates in Canada and didn't stay anywhere else to compare it to, so it might be good value.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckalHEad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramid Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Lake Resort

Property: Pyramid Lake Resort
Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Coast Pyramid Lake Resort)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyramid Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pyramid Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Pyramid Lake Hotel Jasper
Pyramid Lake Jasper
Coast Pyramid Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing