We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent two nights here while visiting Jasper National Park and Lake Maligne.

Pros:
- Great location
- View of the park and train station (quiet room)
- Limited free parking available in back alley
- Very well up-kept even though not the most modern amenities

Cons:
- No fridge
- Loose the ugly, unsanitary bedspread

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank moenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    229
    136
    44
    28
See reviews for
85
290
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
431 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

but manager Vanessa tries her best.
After reading reviews here about noisy pub, I phoned and then emailed Manager Vanessa about what I read here and my concerns. We, as a group, had a dozen rooms booked. Upon check in, we were all assigned to the second floor, hence nobody complained the next morning about noise. Tripadvisor members talked, Vanessa listened. Good management.
Good location.

However, there's not much she can do with the very modest rooms. Dark, dated, thin doors. Did not look like some photos here..... those must be refurbished part of hotel, or suites.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tired hotel, in need of renovation. Stayed earlier this week. Very central and ideally located for the train station. Friendly staff, but overpriced considering the hotel standard overall. Bar next door is a bonus.

Room Tip: All rooms are in need of a good refurb unfortunately
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights after getting off the Rocky Mountaineer from Vancouver, and what a disappointment after a wonderful train experience. The first room we were allocated was right above the bar's smoking area, so we asked to be moved but the room given was also extremely noisy with revellers pouring out another door well after midnight. The second night we were allocated another room, away from the bar but right opposite the rail station, the trains did not keep us awake but the noisy plumbing did. So all in all was glad to leave to a much quieter B&B. The staff were helpful and had extreme patience as it appeared we were not the only guests complaining

Room Tip: Try and choose a room on first floor away from the bar
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Bournemouth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were getting on the Rocky Mountaineer early in the morning so we were very pleased with the location of this hotel right across the road.
We were allocated an end room on the second floor which turned out to be very large, comfortable, sofas and fire ( which would be great in the winter) good bed, standard bathroom.
My wife liked the toiletries.
However we had a problem with the room due to an adjacent air conditioning unit which vibrated so much the room was pulsating.
This stopped at 23:00, but at 06:30 it started up again and we were informed that it was the aircon for Smittys restaurant below the hotel.
The manager, Vanessa, was very kind and offered to fix it or change our room.
The engineer changed a belt and it did improve, but it was not eradicated. We were leaving early the next morning, so did not bother to move room, but I would not stay in that room again.
We ate in the hotel restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. The staff were very good, bit personally I did not like the dinner menu very much and the second night we went for pizza down the street.
This hotel is well situated, but be careful which room you have.

Room Tip: We had room 227, see comments re vibration from ac unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmwman995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Jasper, breaking up our train trip from Vancouver to Toronto. Our stay at the Whistler's Inn was just what we hoped for -- a nice, quiet, comfortable room, with the added benefit of a spectacular view. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The town was packed, so we were glad we had made the reservation; the price wasn't too bad, considering how many people in town were looking for a place to stay. No free breakfast, but with a Tim Horton's around the corner, who needed it? The Wi-Fi worked great. The location was very central, and directly across from the train station. Only disappointment -- one hot tub was out of commission and the other was only luke-warm (so we visited the hot springs instead). Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balkansinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the start of August. We were actually booked into a different place in Jasper for a week but, due to an oversight on our part, had booked our stay there to commence the night after we arrived in Jasper. So we booked into the Whistlers Inn for one night only.
It was very expensive so our expectations were high. We were completely disappointed. The room we were given was dark, small and dingy. The bathroom was also small and, though it seemed to be clean, it was old and needed an overhaul.
We felt that the staff were a little unprofessional and stand-off-ish.
Plus points- location and the Inn does have some hot-tubs outside on a terrace.
When we moved on the next day to the other Inn within Jasper for the remainder of our stay, it was a relief. It was much nicer for much less money, with an equally good location.
It is possible that we were given a particularly bad room- perhaps the Inn does have some nicer rooms available. However, speaking from our experience, this place was very poor value for money. The room we were given warranted a much lower price-tag.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katielewis85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing