We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but quite expensive for what's offered”
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
london
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good location but quite expensive for what's offered”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We only stayed one night at the hotel. Initially the experience didn't start off too well but it did improve.
The checkin staff were unfriendly and that was quite off-putting after such a long drive and particularly after having stayed in a few other nicer hotels the previous nights.
The room we checked into was average and looked like it needed an update but it was a good size and had a tv, aircon/fan and was facing the main road. Unfortunately the room had a very bad damp smell, mixed with smoke ( which is odd since we had to sign a non smoking sheet or we'd be fined but it already smelled badly). We left the window open all day whilst we were out to air it and that helped a lot.
I would say the location is great to explore the town on foot and they offer free parking ( which is limited in numbers) but that was very helpful. For the price though, you would at least expect breakfast or higher standards of rooms.
The hotel is fine for short stays, but i personally wouldn't want to stay more than 1 or 2 nights max.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_M1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    253
    149
    47
    34
See reviews for
95
320
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in Whistler's Inn three nights, May 17-20, 2013. Very clean rooms, great location, walking distance to everything. The stuff was't so friendly, a fake smile would be better then a no smile at all. The roof hot tub was the best part! Sitting in the hot tub in the evening and having a glass of wine - priceless. Great steam room! The only part that really sucks was PARKING. For a 60 room hotel they have ONLY 14 parking stalls. When I asked, where can i park my car, i was told anywhere on the street where it says "two hours"...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyAlexG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts online. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hot tubs and the hotel's downtown location. Unfortunately, it is due to this location that our on-site parking is so limited. There is no land available for us to build a larger parking lot and since construction of a public parkade would obstruct the views of the mountains, both Parks Canada and the Municipal government have so far not considered this to be a viable parking option. Our desk staff were not being flippant when they recommended street parking as an option for you as the additional 20 spots around the hotel are considered to be "hotel parking" according to our land lease. It would have been explained to you that the "2 hour" zones are free parking from 3pm - 11am the following day and that your other parking option was 3 public lots located less than 1 town block from the hotel. This is not uncommon for a downtown hotel location and is a better option than many city locations because the parking is free.

We hope that you will join us again on a quieter weekend so that you can further experience Jasper's beauty and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent our one year anniversary in Jasper and the Whistlers Inn provided us with great accommodations. The location was ideal as it was walking distance to everything, and the staff answered all of our questions.

It did get a little loud at night from what it looked like various group events happening that night, but all in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestbeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the next day we were travelling to Vancouver on the Rocky Mountaineer train. Since this was a very early start we wanted to stay somewhere near the train station. This hotel is situated dircetly across the street from the entrance to the station. The location is superb within easy walking distance of loads of shops and restauants, and Avis. The rroms are well-appointed and clean, the staff are friendly and polite. Very good value for money and a nice place to eat ajoins the hotel. Only gripe is a small car park a the back - on many occasions it was full up and had to park elsewheer but all in all - highy recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackcatladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in Jasper to finalise arrangements for our wedding (also in Jasper) in a few months. The room was nice and was very clean and we were looking forward to our weekend. Unfortunately there was also a rugby tournament in Jasper that weekend and almost all of the hotel was, unknown to us, booked by teams. We had almost no sleep as they were very loud and no regard for anyone else staying at the property. To his credit the night manager tried very hard to control them but with teams on every floor he couldn't be everywhere. We inquired in the morning if the teams would be staying again that evening and they were. We tried to find other accommodations but the town was booked up due to the tournament. We ended up leaving and having to return home early. The issue I have is that the management (other than the night mgr who did his best), couldn't have cared less. We were no told either before or upon check in that there would be a hotel full of teams and when we explained that we had no sleep due to the drunken players and would have to leave, they were completely unconcerned. I wasn't asking them to comp our bill but a simple apology would have been nice. It is too bad because we go to Jasper often and it seemed like a nice place to stay but the apathetic management ruined it for us and we won't stay there again.

Room Tip: The suits were very nice and the prices in the off season make it well worth trying one. The regular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments however it would have been appreciated if you had brought your concerns to our attention in a more timely manner. While we make every effort to keep noise and behaviour to an appropriate level, we are always somewhat at the mercy of the individuals that are staying with us and it is not possible to determine, prior to arrival, who will behave respectfully toward their fellow guests and who will not. It is a little unfair to judge the hotel by the other customers, particularly a year after your actual stay however if you would like to speak with me directly I am always open to a phone call or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for a few days of skiing. Great location -- access to restaurants, cafes, pubs, shopping, etc., couldn't be easier. Staff are very friendly and the place is well kept. The post-ski hot tub on the roof hit the spot. We've overlooked this place before for the lodge-ier looking higher end hotels at the end of town, but we'll be coming back here and recommending to friends and family.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank fordprefect_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love jasper and this hotel only adds to the charm when you stay here! When you first walk in the staff are very welcoming and friendly! The rooms are clean and the beds comfy! The hot tubs on the rooftop really added to the experience, especially because they allow you to have drinks in the hot tub area because let's face it, people will try to sneek alcohol if it wasn't allowed. And their only rule? No glass, AND they will provide the plastic cups! As you can imagine, this was a great way to end a long day of skiing! The pub and wildlife museum were fun as well! Sad to leave this hotel after a really fun skiing trip! Thank you to all the staff at Whistlers Inn!! :)
Josie & Greg!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSweetEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your thoughts! I have commended all the staff on their performance and am pleased to hear that they all helped to make your visit enjoyable. It is nice that you mention our hot tubs as we also believe that they are a "not to be missed" feature of the hotel. We appreciate you understanding and supporting our no glass rule. We want everyone to enjoy their visit just as you did.

All the best! We all hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing