We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with friends”
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed with friends while on a motorcycle trip. First of all, great motorcycle parking by the door, under a roof!

Staff was helpful, rooms were clean although a bit dated. The hot tub on the roof was a nice feature, especially after a day in the saddle. Nice views.

Nicely located in the thick of things too!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbarbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 619 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2008

We travelled to Jasper with a Canadian friend who drove us to the Hotel and parking was easy to find - directly to the rear of the hotel. They say parking is limited and that's true - there are about 6-8 spaces. The hotel is directly opposite the train station however, so train passengers only need to walk over the road!
We booked in to our room - the receptionist was polite and helpful. We were allocated a top floor room (there is a lift) with a view over the Rockies across Mietta Ave (if you check this out on Expedia.com I think they have placed the hotel's location on the wrong side of Mietta Ave - the view was North over the Avenue not South) and the view included a pretty park that is also opposite the Train Station.
The room itself was a little dated but I have stayed in much worse for much more money and considering we had booked through a last minute site and got the room cheaply I think the room we got was a good deal. The bathroom was stocked with toiletries and there were ample tea/coffee making facilities supplied (the coffee was filter not the usual instant rubbish!).
We used the hot tub in the evening and the next morning too - very refreshing and invigorating considering the outdoor temp was minus 4C!
We went for breakfast to Smitty's - located at the rear of the Hotel - purely beause we like the chain. Hubby loved the idea of having a Caesar Salad for breakfast (you can have anything on the menu all day!) but I went traditional and had French toast and our friend had the intercontinental breakfast, both delicious (we used Smitty's in other towns too - they are great!).
The local blurb says there is a cafe in the Station that serves breakfast - we looked there first as they say you can watch the trains while you eat. We found it to be a snack bar and watching the trains involves sitting outside in the cold or peering through small windows so we gave it a miss.
Back to the Hotel, they have a museum of wildlife you can look at for free if you are a patron of the hotel and it appeared very good; sadly we didn't have time as we needed an early start to beat the weather along the Icefields Parkway.
The pub was not bad and we enjoyed the pool table (free!), but the food appeared pricey (we didnt eat there but saw what others got). Our room was over the pub but there was no noise that we noticed (but that might have been because we were there midweek in March!) and overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxylinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Great hotel. great location. whistle stop pub is excellent, which is based at the hotel. friendly staff, nice rooms fantastic views. overall a very comfortable stay, will definately come back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for a night whilse on tour . The room was comfortable and i had room to back of the hotel with view of rockies. It is in grt location with the railstation on opp side and i even found a laundry near by.
I had pleasant stay at this hotel.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed at the Whistler's Inn in a deluxe room over Christmas.

The room was spacious and comfortable, and the beds were fabulous. The room looked out onto the main street and had mountain views so when it was too cold out, you could still enjoy being in the Rockies.

Staff were friendly.

This is an informal type of hotel, and this is reflected in the price ie. no room service, take your own bags to your room, but this suited us.

The hotel is across the road from the train station and is right in the heart of the town. It was so convenient, and very well priced for Jasper, which can be expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Great location near to everything, but I would say hotel needs updating, noisy bunch of males in adjoining rooms kept us awake well into the early hours. Had breakfast one morning in hotel found it to be not that good and pricey, had better in the smitty restaurant next door on other days.

I suppose you get what you pay for but we were spoilt while in vancouver at the delta suites paid a little more and got much better quality suite and hotel by far. Loved Jasper lovely little town and would highly reccomend Sundogs Tours in jasper for all adventures and transport they were fab company.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank blackcherry115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Whistler's Inn is located on the main street in Jasper, right across from the Via Rail station. As with most hotels in Jasper, Whistler's Inn is within walking distance of everything in the town. There are two floors with about 30 rooms on each floor. The rooms are well kept and comfortable. One negative is that the walls are pretty thing, as it was very loud when the person in the room next to mine was taking a shower or people walking by in the hall were talking.
We had some problems with some of the other guests on our floor, and the ladies at the front desk were very helpful. They even offered to upgrade us to another room at no extra charge to us, which we were not expecting at all.
The rates are fairly reasonable, ranging from $95-$200 in the low season and $125-$300 in the high season.
Some of the amenities include two restaurants, a pub, gift shop, rooftop hot tubs, steam room, and a rather odd wildlife museum.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: $113 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing