We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location; Jasper is amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location; Jasper is amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Whistlers Inn five years ago, and we returned because of its great location in the heart of the town of Jasper, in the Canadian Rockies. I really enjoyed the ability to walk out the inn's front door and be steps away from restaurants, shops, and fantastic views of the mountains. Parking is limited, but it is easy to park on the street in the town. The location allows you to visit nearby lakes, trails, and mountains, while returning to town life in the evening. It is also less crowded than Banff. The staff was helpful when we brought problems to their attention (slow drain, t.v. remote not working). The WiFi was slow, and I wish there was more space in the bathroom. We did notice that the inn had installed new air conditioning units since our visit five years ago. The inn is not as fancy as many other hotels, and you are paying for location and the high summer season. But we have fond memories of both this trip and our visit five years ago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    229
    136
    44
    28
See reviews for
85
291
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ideally located in downtown Jasper, facing the Jasper Rocky Mountaineer train station with the view on the mountains.
Nice room fully equiped, very clean. It is a bit hard to find a parking place since the hotel doesn't have much space for many cars. The best way is in the street or on a public parking a few yards from the hotel (free between 6pm and 9am)

Room Tip: The room 714 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyalusing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Whistler's Inn. It is located right across from the train station and "in the middle" of town. (Jasper's business district is all of about two-three square blocks.) Parking was a problem, they have a very small lot and most guests have to rely on on-street parking. We were there in June but I can imagine parking gets to be a hassle in July and August. The rooms were clean and comfortable, some had a mountain view. Desk staff was pleasant, knowledgeable and friendly. The attached restaurant offered a good selection at fair prices. Unfortunately the morning we stopped by for breakfast they were entertaining a bus tour and the service was quite slow

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weymann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We used this as a two night stopover whilst travelling across on via rail. The hotel is in a fantastic position right across the road from the station so perfect for travellers like us with no car and heavy bags.
Room was large, clean and had a great view of the main street, station and mountains. The decor was perhaps a little dated but has been kept in good order with everything clean and working.
Eveything in jasper is at hand with plenty of restaurants, a cinema and pubs within walking distance. Staff friendly and helpful.
The attached bar was a great place for real local colour although could get a bit lively if you are the quiet type.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front if you want to avoid bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We hope you will be back to visit Jasper again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Our original booking was for a b n b called Alpine House. They messed up our booking and at 9:30pm on Canada day we were frantically searching for a hotel. Luckily, there was one room left at Whistlers Inn. The front desk was very helpful. The room was excellent and had a lovely view. Almost a complete disaster turned into a fortuitous stay at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! It is so nice to hear that we were able to assist in making a difficult situation better and that you enjoyed both our service and our facilities! We hope that the rest of your holiday went really well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My new husband and I stopped for 2 nights in Jasper at the end of our Rocky Mountaineer trip. The Whistler's Inn upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite and it was a real gem.

A lovely clean, spacious room, looking out over the mountains and ideally located close to everything. The service from staff was exceptional and they were very friendly and helpful.

The bed was huge, with a nice sized bathroom.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playfulkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Firstly the room we stayed in was clean & fine in every respect. However this hotel was the only one (of a total of six hotels stayed at during my trip to Canada) to ask for a $100 deposit (as surety against smoking in the room). My objection to such a request (having paid for the room in full already) was met with a terrible attitude from the receptionist. What was otherwise an enjoyable stay was marred by this experience. The "lady" in question claimed it was standard policy in Canada to request such a deposit, it most certainly isn't! Happy to provide the names of the other hotels stayed at should the need arise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackCymric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you felt our request for a credit card or $100 damage deposit was unreasonable however it is a standard hotel policy that is applied to every guest of our hotel. While the staff member on duty may have been mistaken that it is a policy across Canada, it is fairly common in hotels as it allows incidental charges to be made and provides a measure of protection against damage and smoking in non-smoking facilities. I will remind each of the front desk agents that they should be clear in their explanation of what this is for so that future misunderstandings can be avoided. I am confident that the deposit was returned, without incident and in full, on the day of departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing