We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, straightforward accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doe a Deer Accommodation
Ranked #35 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice, straightforward accommodation”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights as a family (in the 2 bedroom family suite) in August and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

This place did everything we expected though there were a few niggles (like the bathroom door being very stiff to open / close and the kitchenette being only just adequately equipped) - but then we had just come from a place that had beaten expectations by miles!

The owners were friendly and helpful, the place was very clean, parking in the driveway (to the right of the property) was easy and close to the separate entrance to the accommodation at the rear.

All in all, highly recommendable.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom family suite - or the 1 bedroom bachelor suite - not a lot else to say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttingcdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had researched a Jasper accommodation for weeks back in winter and decided on Doe a Deer. We were very happy with our choice. It's a great alternative to the expensive hotels and many of the other private home accommodations in Jasper require 4 or 5 minimum night stays. We needed 3 nights during our 2 weeks through the Canadian Rockies.

We were greeted by Leanne upon arrival and didn't see her again until leaving. She was very nice and gave us a couple eating recommendations. The private entrance gave us a feel of having our own place. The other suite was occupied the first 2 nights of our stay but we never saw the people staying there. The location is great and an easy walk to town.

We were in the one bedroom suite and it was like brand new featuring beautiful wooden floors, a large kitchen area and comfortable bed. It had lots of room for the two of us to spread out in. The wireless was fast and efficient. The kitchen does not have a stove, but everything else. We never cook on vacation anyway. We loved the extra large refrigerator-freezer. The TV is a bit older, a large Panasonic in standard definition. Again, on vacation we don't watch much TV either.

The thermostat for the heater is in the hallway which we cranked up a few times because there was some very cool weather the first two days of our stay. We slept well and were never bothered by our hosts upstairs. We did notice footsteps during the day, but we were hardly ever there. In the evening it was quiet. Granted, we never got back from dinner until after 9.

For the price, this was a great choice and I definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Three of us came to stay in the 2 bedroom suite during a hot July weekend. The suite is nicely furnished- modern looking decor in the living room/kitchen and bathroom and the space is used to it's full advantage. The beds were excellent quality for sleeping with beautiful duvets and comfortable pillows.

Disadvantages would be the suite itself in general. There is basically no insulation between the upper and lower floors which meant that for the entire evening we heard people walking around very loudly upstairs- not sure what they were doing but alot of stomping. Similarly- there is another bachelor suite down the hall, so when people are coming and going you can hear every word and footstep- clomping up and the down the stairs which were right outside out suite. Unfortunately the "living room" area faces the door to the outside, so it can be disturbing if you're trying to watch t.v. in the evening. That said there is no dvd player and the tv is so far away and off center it was easier for us to watch a movie on our laptop.

The other issue was the heat. The suite was absolutely freezing. It is a basement so we expected it to be a little cooler but the floor (which was hardwood) was ice cold the entire time. There was a thermostat in the hallway which we had to crank to 30 to get the heat to come on. Once it came on it was fine and warmed up the suite- but as soon as we turned it down it shut off and would not come on again unless cranked again to the max. It was 29 degrees outside but I slept with a sweatshirt, long pj pants and socks.

The kitchen is adequate- with nice bowls and glassware. There aren't any other larger bowls- say for popcorn or other, although the microwave didn't have enough power to actually pop an entire bag of popcorn (even on the popcorn setting).

Good for a one or two night stay where you'll be eating out most of the time. You can make toast but there is no stove.

One other strange occurrence- the clock in the bedroom had a strange buzzing sound that woke us up at night. After failing to fix it we eventually just had to unplug it.

The location however, is hard to beat- far enough away for it to be quiet, but close enough to walk to the main street in the morning. We enjoyed walking to the Bear's Paw Bakery (a short 5 min walk).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panorama1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

When we travel, we often try to get a suite so our child can have a separate sleeping area. The hotels in Jasper that had suites were very expensive and only seemed to get mediocre reviews. We decided to look at private home accomodations. Doe a deer met our needs completely. It is a private 2 bedroom apartment in the owner's home. We found it to be bright, clean, comfortable, quiet, and reasonably priced. It was in a very convenient location within easy walking distance of restaurants. Leanne was helpful and provided information about the area. The wi fi worked well. We would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Jasper.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountaincachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in the Batchelor Suite in the basement. It's new and modern, one long room divided into a large kitchen, loung area and curtained off sleeping area. There is a separate bathroom with a bath and good shower. Being a basement there isn't much natural light, so it's probably somwhere you just want to sleep after a long day in the outdoors, rather than hang out. Location is perfect, a few minutes from the restaurants and shops on the mainstreet. Parking is easy too. Our host Leanne was super helpful, popping in to say hello, but not at all intrusive. The only downside was that we were once woken up by other guests, clomping up and down the stairs which I think are next to the bedroom area. Other than that is was a good find! You can see pics on the bbcanada website.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nick7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in the bachelor suite very much. The suite was open plan with plenty of room plus a very nice private bathroom. It was all exceptionally clean & well furnished. The hosts were welcoming & friendly but not at all intrusive. The location of the property is excellent being only a couple of blocks from the main street for shopping & restaurants & for people arriving by train easy to walk to. Great place to stay after busy days exploring the region.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
316 Patricia Street
#47 of 57 in Jasper
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fitzhugh House
Fitzhugh House
#20 of 57 in Jasper
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doe a Deer Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doe a Deer Accommodation

Property: Doe a Deer Accommodation
Address: 400 Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Doe a Deer Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing