We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Jasper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Restaurant

The Pines Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 83 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best of Jasper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

25 years ago we were up in the Jasper area and never had an experience like this. This trip will be fondly remembered because of this meal. The location of this restaurant (just a short drive north of Jasper towards the lakes) at the tip of a beautiful lake that you can see from the dining room is just the hint of what is to come. The restaurant room is well kept and has a very high end feel to it. The greeting was prompt and professional. Our waiter, even though busy, came over to greet us as well and asked if he could come back. He came an got our drink order, and returned with them plus an on the house amuse bouche of bison tarter. The appetizers of elk skewers, the best prepared scallops I have had in a long time (since Vancouver) and a wonder roasted garlic and brie made our mouths sing. The main dishes of the Chef's choice AAA strip loin, boar's ribs, and the vegetarian delight all made us lick our plates (explains the stares we got). I have not had such fine dinning with such good service in a long time, and probably in only a large city. Jasper, this place can put you on the culinary map. Support this place. Compared to the other places we ate this week, this restaurant is under priced for the quality of food we received.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    27
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent views, lovely food poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

A truly amazing location. Lovely views over the lake. Food was excellent, beautifully cooked when it arrived. Service was odd. They said we could have a table and then we were waiting to sit down and then having sat down the starter arrived 50 minutes later. We were warned it would be slow after we had ordered! No complimentary drinks or nibbles offered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food only outdone by the view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Eat there twice. Service was cheerful, genuine and interested in us. Wine was a reasonable cost (for the region) and some good beers. Very good and varied menu- I had Arctic Char one night which was a first. Desserts were very tempting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and Horrible Breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hash browns were saturated in oil, and sitting in a lake of oil. Perhaps it was cooked ahead of time and I received the bottom batch. The toast was cold. The service was horribly slow considering that half the restaurant was empty, and the waitress kept apologizing that food service was slow because its busy. The problem is the breakfast chef was also the breakfast dishwasher, and the waitresses didn't help either. My recommendation is to avoid Pines Restaurant altogether, and drive back into Jasper townsite for a decent meal. It would be alot quicker guaranteed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACDSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch at The Pines. We had the lobster with pasta and cheese, soup and salad, and fish and chips. We all agreed the food and service was excellent and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pines Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Pines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing