We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”
Review of Syrahs of Jasper

Syrahs of Jasper
Reserve with OpenTable
Syrahs of Jasper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Syrahs of Jasper specializes in regional Canadian cuisine with a focus on wild game dishes, fresh seafood and local produce. We happily boast to have the 'Best Desserts in Town'. Our comfortable, inviting dining room has a casual elegance and warm atmosphere. Our wait staff look forward to providing you with a memorable experience with our local, sincere service. Our wine list has been hand selected to pair with Chef Jason Munn's menu and we have a full bar and great selection of local craft beer. Make your reservation with us to enjoy a truly memorable dining experience. "Inspired Food, Exceptional Wine. Friendly, Sincere Service"
Torrevieja, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We ate in syrahs last night it was great food good wines and excellent service.they gave us nibbles first which was a nice touch also a cheap house cocktail that went down very well highly recommend this restaurant

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    128
    48
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Only just reopened when we visited so had offer on of 2 for $59. Good value. Good selection of beers and wines

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile


One of the smarter restaurants in Jasper, but still relatively informal, with a bar along one side.  There is an interesting selection of cocktails and the menu is varied.  I enjoyed my first course of caramelized onion and goat's cheese tart and OH had Elk carpaccio, which he really rated.  We both had halibut for our main course, which came in a delicious orange creamy sauce.  The wine list was short but reasonably priced - e.g. CAD55 for a chablis.  Service was freindly and efficient and we had a really nice evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot,
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Stylish and relaxed with a focus on quality”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We noticed that this place was boasting new management and a very good two for one deal during its soft opening - so we thought we would give it a try. On our first attempt we couldn't get a table - it was proving so popular but an early booking got us in the next day.

And I can see why it was so popular the night before. A bright and breezy welcome, helpful advice on the menu, an excellent wine-list with wines available not just by the glass but by carafe and a short but sensible range of alternatives made for a very good experience.

Clearly the chef-owner wants to make a mark, so little amuse-bouches helped get the meal off to a good start. Followed with hearty portions of well-cooked food attractively presented and well-paced service really had us impressed - so much that we suggested to our B&B hosts that they should put Syrahs on their recommended list for future visitors.

Along with other good dining spots offering good alternatives to the pub-grub or chain restaurants, this helps make Jasper a more interesting place to eat than its bigger competitor Banff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Talented chef”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

After 8 months in Canada Syrahs is one of the best restaurants we have dined at. It was so good we ate there 2 nights in a row! The June special was great value.
The standout meals were the hot and sour seafood soup which had a perfect balance of flavors - amazing! The steak on both nights was well cooked, tasty and tender. The basil, blueberry creme brûlée was creamy and tasty.
Both of our servers were very helpful and friendly. Another server though was very terse when we arranged our booking for later that evening. They were busy at the time and looked a bit stressed out.
Compliments to the chef, innovative use of flavors in all dishes which works well and achieves consistency across all dishes. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PanoKnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syrahs of Jasper also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Syrahs of Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing