We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place; interesting menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Bistro and Lounge

Olive Bistro and Lounge
Ranked #14 of 83 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Fusion, Canadian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice place; interesting menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

On a side street in downtown Jasper is this special restaurant. We ordered from their sharing menu which we found a bit short of choice. We shared lamb shops (3 small), mushrooms on bread, and a cheese tray. All were good but nothing shone. The server brought the wrong wine but offered to change it. It's the ambiance that we most enjoyed as we sat at bistro tables with good music playing. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    145
    44
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A little pricey but what isn't in jasper? Really lovely food it have great menu. Has a Greek twist so interesting combinations. Nice atmosphere, good service and a pleasant evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shamwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disappointment in Jasper”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Having trawled Tripadivisor and the streets of Jasper for a good looking restaurant for our evening meal we finally selected Olive. We were shown to a table in a dark corner and asked to select our drinks, after some time. Our starter of Bistro nachos arrived and was quite tasty, it was a sharing plate for two but could easily have satisfied four.

Our problem started when our
main courses arrived, mine was a duck with fruit and fig additions and my wife's was a steak with mushroom sauce. Both meals arrived at our table tepid. We reported this on the first time our waitress arrived. A mushroom sauce arrived some 10 minutes after the plate first arrived. My wife's steak had a flavour overwhelmingly of burnt meat, although the meat was rare and tender.

The waitress suggested that the plates be reheated but we rejected this. After receiving our complaints the waitress allowed 4 dollars off for the lateness of the mushrooms.

We would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PabloPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The food and service here is top quality. The French Onion soup was perfect and the Lamb Shank....mmmm. The service staff were friendly and attentive but not intrusive. I will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IndigoRose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Did not quite hit the spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been the road for three weeks and overall have eaten very well. So comparisons are made. Olive Bistro looks the part. A warm welcome and smiling faces. We were seated promptly and the atmosphere in the restaurant was good. Service from start to finish was good. The waitress was sound in her advice and very pleasant. The menu had lots to tempt you with. The food was well presented and cooked. We were not rushed through the courses which we enjoyed. Sometimes plates have been whipped away before the cutlery is put down. The quality of flavour in two of the meals seemed missing but maybe that was just personal taste. We were just a little disappointed with the end result. We had a good evening but it was not the best we have had on this trip. Go and try it for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WarrinerGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Bistro and Lounge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Olive Bistro and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing