We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but Elegant; Great Food”

Olive Bistro and Lounge
Ranked #16 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: French, Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Olive Bistro & Lounge offers a unique and memorable dining experience in a casual, yet elegant setting. Whether you chose to enjoy a long decadent meal in the Bistro, indulge in our exquisite selection of tasty small plates, kick back to a signature cocktail on our heated outdoor patio or enjoy a glass of fine wine and a cheese plate in the lounge, the Olive has something to offer everyone. The Bistro features a tasty selection of small sharing plates, as well as an eclectic entrée list using fresh seasonal ingredients. Inspired by the Mediteranean, you will find contemporary and classic cuisine with flavors from France, Greece, Spain and Italy combining perfectly with a touch of Canadian Flare .Come to the Olive and enjoy the finer things in life, delicious food, great wine, friendly service and if you come on the right evening you might catch some live music!
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Casual but Elegant; Great Food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was the clear favorite of the three places we ate dinner in Jasper (the other two were Papa Georges and Raven Bistro). We ate early and the service excellent. Nobody appeared to be in a rush and neither were we. Very comfortable. Our meal was excellent - the french soup was superb and I had a chickpea bowl with curried chicken main dish that was out-of-this-world good. Thanked the chef on the way out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    148
    49
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homer, MI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a superb meal here - special lasagna and roasted red pepper and mushroom wrapped in phyllo pastry - amazing every bite! Super waitress, quiet and pleasant dining room. A view of the mountains. Casual but elegant. Definitely would go back and recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If that is how it is every night than I wouldn't eat there.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm giving this place an average rating only because of the Ceaser Salad and Banana Split Desert . The rest of the service and food was average to poor. My wife had cucumber, dill salmon that had no flavor at all, I had wild mushroom spinach fettucini bake pasta, the majority of pasta came dry and hard around the outside, once i made it to the middle it started to become moist and tasty but the rest ruined the whole dish. We were there 2.5 hrs to eat, very long from order to food on your table, had to ask a couple of times for napkins, dinner ware, beverages, appetizers. All and all for $120.00 with tip this was not the high light of our stay in Jasper, maybe they were having an off night of had a differen't cook on duty but I will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arkvison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth you while”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant was the best one we dined at during our trip in the Canadian Rockies. I had the duck dish and my spouse had the salmon dish. Nicely presented. Very tasty duck dish, not overdone with maple blackberry compote. Excellent fresh bread beforehand. Restrained service. My spouse thought her salmon dish was excellent, her Greeks salad was marvelous, not drowned out by over exuberant dressing. My only minor issue was the portion size which I felt could have been a bit more substantial. But I say that about many restaurants :-)
The pricing is on par with the better restaurants in the area, that being more than you're used to but standard for this tourist area.
This one's worth it, really .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaimlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were only in Jasper for one night and really struck it lucky by eating here - great service, excellent choice on the menu and beautifully prepared food. Make sure you go early or book a table as it gets really busy.
Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gardenhistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Bistro and Lounge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Olive Bistro and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing