We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jasper must do!”

Olive Bistro and Lounge
Ranked #15 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Fusion, Canadian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Olive Bistro & Lounge offers a unique and memorable dining experience in a casual, yet elegant setting. Whether you chose to enjoy a long decadent meal in the Bistro, indulge in our exquisite selection of tasty small plates, kick back to a signature cocktail on our heated outdoor patio or enjoy a glass of fine wine and a cheese plate in the lounge, the Olive has something to offer everyone. The Bistro features a tasty selection of small sharing plates, as well as an eclectic entrée list using fresh seasonal ingredients. Inspired by the Mediteranean, you will find contemporary and classic cuisine with flavors from France, Greece, Spain and Italy combining perfectly with a touch of Canadian Flare .Come to the Olive and enjoy the finer things in life, delicious food, great wine, friendly service and if you come on the right evening you might catch some live music!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Jasper must do!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great food, great service at a great price.

Our waiter was excellent, providing advice on what drinks to pair with our meals and was not over bearing with his customer service.

The food quality and presentation was excellent and if I stayed in Jasper longer, I would have dined here again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CraftyYarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    145
    47
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford, SK
Level Contributor
161 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a unique atmosphere”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had to try everything that we possible could on this menu. So interesting and diverse!! It took us forever to choose. Not your run of the mill restaurant in this cozy little mountain town.

Service: Our server was amazing--very friendly and attentive. Were knowledgeable about the menu ( I do have some allergies)Well deserving of a great tip.

Menu: Something for everybody.

Ambiance & Décor: Having made a reservation, we got one of the best seats in the house with an amazing view of two mountain ranges. You can't beat that view! The décor is okay (I found it a little confusing), but the atmosphere is really nice and relaxing.

Ordered:
Appetizers: Wild Mushroom Canapes and the mussels – in a garlic Dijon crème sauce and the flaming Saganaki (cheese with pits wedges).
Meals – Roasted Pepper and Portabella Strudel with goat cheese and leaks, Steak and the I had the Mac and Cheese Penne ( with gruyere and aged cheddar with truffle oil) – best Mac and cheese I have every tasted.

The presentation of every dish was very appetizing and the dish itself was perfectly seasoned and very fresh.

MAKE RESERVATIONS to this restaurant to avoid disappointment and to get a great view. And come with an empty belly so you can try everything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“If you're pleased, why look elsewhere?”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are spending several nights in one place before moving on, and you find an excellent restaurant on your first night, what should you do? Some folk feel the need to try different places each night, but what if these places don't measure up to the one you found in the first place?
We opted for the conservative approach. We had an excellent meal at the Olive Bistro on our first night in Jasper. We chose the evening's special, partly on the recommendation of a fellow diner, and were delighted with it.
The next evening we faced that dilemma, try somewhere new, or go back and see if they were able to maintain the standard. We went back, and they did! We ate here four times, usually choosing the daily special, which was always good.
Boring or sensible? We thought that if they continued to serve pleasing food, we would continue to patronise them. If we return to Jasper, Olive Bistro will be our first choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another impressive dinner”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was the dinner on October 19, 2012. We searched on the Internet and found this restaurant. The information we found about the place was quite complete : photos, menu & prices, and reviews. Parking is convenient as there is a big parking lot across the street. The waitress was nice overall (a little flat after checking bill, but we tipped more than typical anyway). The food was tasty which fit our preference. I really enjoyed my lamb steak and wine. We ordered some desserts and they were all great. The decoration fits its name, a nice blend of pub and restaurant. No music played during our visit, however. We reached the restaurant before sunset and sit at the table that we could see the mountain view outside. Overall, our visit was a feel-good one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“such a shame”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we ate here on our last night in jasper. the menu looked great and were welcomed and given a table It looked fairly busy. we ordered our main course [fairly simple to prepare] and ordered a cocktail which came promptly, excellent waitress. delicious thank you and we waited for our main course. and waited and waited when it eventually arrived both were delicious but the vegetables were stone cold. thecharming waitress checked if everything was ok so we asked for some HOT brocolli. again we waited and waited but it never arrived. such a shame we ordered a dessert which came and that was ok. i then went to the bar to pay and a gentleman who turned out to be the owner realised before we arrived that all was not well and said that how sorry he was and deducted the pudding from the bill. i did feel sorry for him as he was trying to run the front of house as well as the kitchen and his kitchen staff let him down on a very busy night.
the menu is possibly too large for the staff to cope with and although the food when it arrived was good the delay spoilt the evening. i do however wish the owner success

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lillypad46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Bistro and Lounge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Olive Bistro and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing