We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for first time rafters!!”

Jasper's Whitewater Rafting Company
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience for first time rafters!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We had never been rafting before this trip and were a little nervous! These were only class two rapids but when you've never been rafting before that means nothing! The guides were really great, explaining on the way there how it all will work. We were supplied with wet suits, boots, and life jackets and then safety was explained! Geoff was our guide and he was great! Having grown up in Jasper was able to share quite a bit of history with us. The rapids themselves weren't as bad as we thought and the whole ride was amazing. Thanks so much!! Gonna try bigger rapids next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jiggymh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    50
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good family ride but lacked thrill factor”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked this ride based on good reviews. My sons aged 10 and 12 found the ride to be rather dull with hardly any paddling as the river seemed to be gliding the boat most of the way except for the beginning, Upper Athabasca Canyon which was easily the best part. I would not recommend the family experience for thrill seekers. It is a beautiful river with stunning views all round. I think the ride is suitable for small children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank davei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batya
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Took the Athabasca falls tour for our whole family including 9 year old kids. We enjoyed evey moment, from getting dressed in water gear to getting wet in the river.
The water are cold so if you suffer from cold weather dress right.
You get to see parts of the river and canyon no one can see and the whole adventure is so much fun.
Our guide Dave was very knowledgable and funny.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank idanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wasn't what we were expecting but ok!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I took our 10 year old son whitewater rafting just one week ago. As expected, we waiting around for everyone to show up at the bus and check-in. We then proceeded on the bus to the drop off point just in front of the Athabasca Falls.

The river was a Class 2 and was fun for that level of rapids. I guess I was looking for something more exciting. We should have went on the Sunwapta River which is a Class 3 category of rapids. Our guide Andre was stellar and highly recommend going was him if possible. He was very informative and is a Jasper local, born and raised. He knows the topography and pointed out mountains and delved into some history. We also saw an Osprey and a bear crossed the river not far from us! Very cool.

All and all a fantastic time was had by our family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunwapta River Whitewater”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First of all the staff are terrific. The shuttle drivers were informative and courteous. A great way to spend the morning or afternoon. The Sunwapta is an exciting little river, enough action for everybody. The guides were very informative about local history and geography, and were also safety conscious. I highly recommend this company and this trip, you won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ewok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper's Whitewater Rafting Company also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Jasper's Whitewater Rafting Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing