We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal place to stay in Jasper”
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room
fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom 2
bathroom 2 with soaker bathtub/shower
bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1  with soaker bathtub/shower
The Bear's Den
we like to garden
Garden
local trail heads just up the street from us
winter
winter
a ram on the side of the road driving up to Maligne Lake
early spring to mid June offer good opportunities to see bears
Maligne Canyon in the Winter, walking down in the canyon on the frozen water
a perfect summer day at one of the lakes around Jasper
Jasper Lake looking more like an ocean beach with it's sand dunes made of glacial silt
the trail head just up the street from us leads you to this beautiful slough
we love to walk and hike
Winter Wonderland, during a major snow fall
after a fresh snow fall, the Parks Information Centre looking very enchanting
walking to work...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Willamett...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay in Jasper”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lydia was the perfect host - so gracious, incredibly welcoming, and a wealth of information.

Our family used both bedrooms of her downstairs apartment. It was comfortable, well illuminated, and impeccably clean.

The location is perfect for traveling anywhere around Jasper National Park, yet walking distance to downtown restaurants & grocery store.

Picturesque landscaped yard and Mountain View’s. Ideal place to stay, for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielczy...
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I would give 6 Stars!”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The rental was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The owner has included lots of items to make you feel like you are home. The location in Jasper couldn't be better--walk to town and see the view of the mountains.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun J
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect hosts in a beautiful place”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lydia and Gerry are the perfect hosts of the Bearsden. We rented the 2 downstairs rooms for 4 people (2 couples). They are beautifully appointed and we had more than we needed with the kitchen, shared TV lounge space, baths and little things like drinks in the fridge. The property itself is located walking distance to town and you can walk up into the forest nearby. They gave us space for our bikes in their own garage and provided great tips for eating and places to visit. If we come back to Jasper we will not stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie H
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything was first class”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many great places and the Bear’s Den is one of the very best. Lydia has thought of all the little touches that help make you comfortable and the fittings, linen and decor are all top quality. The location is quiet but very close ( a very short stroll) to all the shops and restaurants that the small town of Jasper has to offer. Lydia has great local knowledge of hikes and places to see wildlife. We took almost all of her recommendations and even got to see some beavers - impossible without her advice. The ensuite bedroom shares an entrance hall with the one bedroom one bathroom, kitchen, suite so they can be rented separately or as one unit as we did. A wonderful place to stay. We hope to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anastasia...
Kassel
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation in beautiful Jasper”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Bear' Den is close to the center of Jasper (few minutes on foot) still on a tranquil site street.
The accommodation itself is super nicely fitted with everything you could ask for and about a thousand things more. The excellent hosts Lydia and Gerry have catered for any occasion that could occur and have given the appartment a lot of personal style, through well chosen stylish furniture and artwork. I can't praise the place enough from the excellent bathroom, through the spaciuous fully-fitted kitchen and the views towards the Whistler mountain from the kitchen table.
The hosts are an excellent source for secret tips and local knowledge and made our stay in anyhow beautiful Jasper even more memorable.
We hope to be back some time soon.

The Bear's Den is so good, actually I should keep quiet about it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen o
alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Accommodations!”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled to Jasper as a group of 2 families (each with small children) & stayed at The Bear’s Den for 4 nights.

The booking process was hassle-free, the check-in was seamless, the accommodations were clean, the location is convenient, & the entire experience was very enjoyable.

Lydia & Gerry provide a very clean & well-built accommodation for very reasonable rates.

The Bear’s Den is definitely a place we’d go back to without hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing