We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
“A great place to stay!”
5.0 of 5 stars
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 stars
Excellent
9 reviews
The Bear's Den Log House in the town of Jasper
Living Room
fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom 2
bathroom 2 with soaker bathtub/shower
bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1  with soaker bathtub/shower
The Bear's Den
we like to garden
Garden
local trail heads just up the street from us
winter
winter
a ram on the side of the road driving up to Maligne Lake
early spring to mid June offer good opportunities to see bears
Maligne Canyon in the Winter, walking down in the canyon on the frozen water
a perfect summer day at one of the lakes around Jasper
Jasper Lake looking more like an ocean beach with it's sand dunes made of glacial silt
the trail head just up the street from us leads you to this beautiful slough
we love to walk and hike
Winter Wonderland, during a major snow fall
after a fresh snow fall, the Parks Information Centre looking very enchanting
walking to work...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
5 of 5 stars Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
amblinaga...
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were three adults and had the entire basement suite. The place is wonderfully decorated, very clean, and has everything you need including a full kitchen and washer/dryer, all of which we made use of. Can highly recommend the Bear's Den in Jasper. It is in town, so restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The decor, location, easy to book!
Liked least: Not much view from the basement
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AnthonyLA...
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - my only comment : book early.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family with 2 boys and rented both rooms, which is perfect for our family. Lydia was a great host and very helpful in providing advices on activities. (Indeed, she has been very helpful in helping me to find other alternative accommodation when our original plan could not fit with her availability. However, given the excellent comments from other TA users, we decided to change our plan to fit with her schedule. Hence, we have high expectations and are glad that we did change our plan.)

The apartment is very well maintained and the kitchen is well stocked / equipped with all the necessities we need for cooking. While the apartment is in the basement level (ie there are stairs that you need to walk down), the house is reasonably well-lit and you could still see the sky from the window. Jasper is a very nice town to stay and we would love to come back to stay in Bear's Den.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Full kitchen with both washing and drying machines. The apartment is well stocked of all necessities.
Liked least: Can't think of any.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
bigdogfan
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional comfort and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Bear's Den was a lucky find. Having researched the hotel accommodation in the area I decided I didn't want to book into any of the regular hotels or lodges but wanted something more personable. The Bears Den is a little gem. Gerry and Lydia have gone the extra mile to provide every sort of home comfort, even to the extent of providing a spare tooth brush for the unprepared or forgetful! There are 2 rooms / suites and we stayed in the more expensive one. It consisted of a bedroom with a very comfortable double bed, an open plan lounge / diner / kitchen and a bathroom with bath and shower above. Everything was spotless and in extremely good order. There was a tv and a good music collection plus an amazing DVD collection (bad weather no problem!!). No problem either with internet connection. In the kitchen area was a cooker, microwave, grill, toaster, coffee maker, fridge/freezer etc. The cupboards were stocked with all the basics so need to pack that bit of salt,cooking oil or condiment or worry about making tea and coffee. We used the washer / dryer and caught up with all our washing (washing powder provided of course!). An iron was provided too. In fact it was clear that a great effort had been made to cover every need or eventuality. If all this wasn't enough the Bear's Den is also a few minutes walk from the two main streets in Jasper so no need to drive if you don't want to. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Jasper and will be recommending to our family to book here when they make their tour of the Canadian Rockies. A word of caution though .... Book well in advance or you'll be disappointed ... this place is very popular and gets booked up early .. which is hardly surprising.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The thought that had gone into providing all home comforts
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
weemanbob
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GRRR eat place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
3
people found this review helpful

If youre looking for a B& B with excellent facilities and friendly and knowledgeable owners then look no furhter than The Bears Den in Jasper, Lydia and Gerry are very knowlegable about the area and as walkers themselves can give you guidance on all areas.
Opposite side of the street is the bears Paws pattiserie - what a place to feast we nearly never left the place!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: freedom as the suites are on their own floor.
Liked least: Basement
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HikerDoc2...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super clean and well equiped apartment in Jasper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Terrific apartment for 2-6 people, super clean and fully equipped made our stay wonderful! With a fully equipped kitchen, utensils, BBQ and spacious 2 BR, 2 bath apartment we would cook, entertain, lounge after 10-12 mile hikes in this spectacular and majestic environment. Bring your own or rent videos if you wish up to date entertainment. Bring all connections if you with to link iPads to their up-to-date TV. The hosts were extremely helpful as excellent hikers and outdoors people. This is the option to consider rather than a motel / hotel room!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and well - equipped!
Liked least: I cannot think or anything they didn't provide!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dstring
Florida, USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing