We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice trip”
Review of Bald Hills

Bald Hills
Ranked #14 of 48 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bayern
Level Contributor
264 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“nice trip”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is a nice hike with a very nice view to the mountains and the lake.. do it and you will have a lot of fun. Please be careful and not stop at the view point, you still can hike to the top of the hill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ammerbuch
Level Contributor
299 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Must Do Hike”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent hike with 600m Elevation gain. Georgious views of the lake on the way up and down. Take the hiking path and not the fire road

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome Hike at Maligne Lake”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

See our review of Maligne Lake for details. If you in decent shape, and have 4-5 hours, do this hike to the top. You will not believe the views. Carry food, water, bear bells and bear spray. Use the bathrooms at the trail head before heading out

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank K&CYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike - take lots of water”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This great hike was a top hike for us in Jasper. Things to keep in mind, wear good shoes (saw someone on it in sandals and they did not make it 1/4 the way up). Hike books recommend taking 2 litres each. We took 1.5 litres each and were short. SO we should have listened. Take the cut-off through the trees going up. It is steeper, but you see hardly anyone and the views and atmosphere out shine the fire road choice. Took the fireroad coming down to save knees and time. Finally go to the farthest peek you can muster as each one out does the last. We went far past the typical turn around point and the entire hike took us 6.5 hours. If in shape and you only go to the first (typical peek) it can be done in 4. Unless you are a altitude adjusted athlete I would now estimate less than this. Go early and avoid the hikers as much as possible..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed this hike. The upper half of the hike is above tree-line, so the views of the surrounding scenery is absolutely stunning. There were two grizzly bears in the area that day, but we only saw one of them - a huge male who was extremely intent on digging a marmot out of its hole. Glad we saw him from a safe distance, across a valley above tree line. Fantastic experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller5324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bald Hills also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Bald Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing