We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overlander Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Looks do great on line but if you have a pet your room is really crappy! The restaurant is very good the staff are very good but the rooms outside are too expensive for what you get! Have to sleep with earplugs in and room is set up in a strange fashion which makes it awkward and uncomfortable unless you are in bed. Would not stay here again unfortunately! We are semi local and had hoped for a place we would return to in all seasons with and without our dog. This is not that place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunapanzerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    108
    67
    36
    22
See reviews for
92
234
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked the Overlander hoping for a quiet and peaceful experience. The Overlander advertises itself as a unique and quiet location outside of Jasper. Unfortunately during our stay we were disturbed by construction noise from next door. It seems that the lot right next door to the hotel is privately owned and the owners have decided to cut down the trees to build a house. The chainsaws started at 9am and have been running all day. Unfortunately since the hotel is also not air conditioned we had to leave our windows open and hear the chainsaws. The management says they have no control over the property next door which means this could continue for months until the house is completed. I would not advise anyone to book a room unless they confirm the construction is completed. I would also confirm previous comments about the slow wireless internet and lack of other amenities.

The room is clean and neat but for the price we had higher expectations. The hotel is not cheap and we expected the 'peaceful, invigorating experience' described on the website and not what we received. It was a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have no views. If you want views from your room then you have to book a higher en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overlandermtnlodge, Owner at Overlander Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hi Jon,
I apologize for this incident and how it affected your stay with us. We have been speaking with the contractors who are building the house. They are understanding of the issues that loud noises cause for our guests and they have agreed to work from 9 to 5 when most of our guests are out enjoying the various activities around the park and lodge. Future guests reading this please note that the majority of construction will be done from September over winter when the temperatures are much cooler and it is unlikely you will have your windows open. With regards to the slow internet because of our remote location we are limited in what is available. We have upgraded our entire system this year to cover more area and are researching new technologies and solutions. We realize how important this is to our guests and will do our best to provide the fastest internet possible. Jon, I know this doesn't change your experience and Lisa will be in contact with you to see if there is something more we can do. Best regards, Clint
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I travel very frequently in the states and normally stay in Hampton Inns - as they are very consistent. But this trip was for pleasure and wanted to stay in nice places. At $249 a night, honestly, I expected it to be nicer. Our room was called the honeymoon room, but I cannot see why other than it was at the end of the hall of the hotel area. The room was small, but nice. Ammenities are slim. Some basics were not there - Ice buckets (although front desk was happy to get some for us), TV (we were there during Olympics, so we did miss having it) and high speed Internet. They are apparently working on a media room, so that should help for special times that you need to watch it. They have Satellite Internet access, which was very slow. Don't try to upload a picture to Facebook as it won't happen. The staff was very nice and helpful. They have a nice trail there, watch out for the mosquito infestation right now. Our time was mainly spent in Jasper - thought that the drive to Overlander might be long at the end of a day, but it wasn't. Enjoyed the lovely drive and our time there.

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel section - make sure you get the mountain view.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for four nights while visiting Jasper national park. We stayed in one of the self catering lodges but on our first night we dined at the restaurant. There are two menus, the lounge menu and the fine dining menu. We chose the lounge menu and the meals were superb with very reasonable prices. The lounge itself was so welcoming with a huge log fire and comfortable couches. Due to there being no Internet access in the chalet we used the lounge each night to catch up on emails etc, at the same time enjoying the free coffee and cookies. All the staff were most helpful, especially when I had to phone the UK to sort out a credit card issue. The location is especially good, being only minutes from the national park and about 10-15 minutes from Hinton where there is a wide variety of shopping. A most enjoyable stay. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Initially thought that being outside the park would be a disadvantage but how wrong can you be. Just had a two night stay that was super, service attentive without being overbearing. Restaurant food excellent, comfortable room and stunning views-would highly recommend for couples as well as families. We stayed in the hotel rooms rather than the cabins.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while touring Canada and the US, we had a fantastic stay, we had a cabin and used the main lodge for Internet access as there was none in the cabin. The cabin itself was immaculate, having full kitchen and washing facilities, a must when on motorcycles. The staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Coffee and cookies became a regular evening event. Hinton was about 10 minutes up the road for all your shopping needs, and the entrance to Jasper N.P. was 5 mins away. The park was without doubt my favourite place of our 3 month trip, with wildlife along the roadside within minutes of entering the park.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Overlander, first class accomodation and staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We made a last minute decision on the "Outlander" as the weekend weather forecast for Jasper was good and we wanted to visit Lake Maligne. Most of the hotels we would have chosen were fully booked or the rates were a bit high so we plunged for the Outlander and made the reservation through Booking.com. We hastily booked a superior double room with two beds and a fridge for $189 - not a bad rate.

The Outlander is just outside the National Park and is set up on the hillside amongst trees with a really nice mountain backdrop. As we drove up the track to the lodge our first impressions were of a quiet, rustic, clean and well cared for establishment - there was a mixture of the lodge, chalets and a building with about 16 rooms. As previous reviewers have pointed out you can hear the sound of the traffic from the grounds and patio area but from inside, if the windows were closed, you wouldnt be aware that you were just a minute away from this busy highway. This wasnt a major problem for us but if you are looking for a "back to wildness" stay then you must take this into consideration.

The check in was quick and simple and we proceeded to our room. Now this is the confusing bit... only one queen bed and no refridgerator but perhaps it was an upgrade! The room was very clean, a little jade in places but this only added to the rustic feel.A nice touch was the thermostatically controlled gas fire, add this to the many lamps providing low lighting, a bottle of cold wine that we brought with us and you have a very nice ambience.This superior room had no view but as far as we were aware we hadnt specifically booked a room with a view but it would have been nicer. All around the apartment the mossies were out in force and many entered the room with us! Reception gave us some sprays so we drenched the room and went for a drink in the main lodge. This was the highlight of our stay. The lovely rustic lodge with a fire and comfortable sofas were just so relaxing.The staff were quick to serve us with some of the nicest cocktails all around the $6.75 mark so well worth it. Everyone who were eating in the restaurant or from the bar menu all commented on the lovely food and we noted chef made an appearance on many occassions. We didnt eat but checked out the menu and we didnt think it was as expensive as we were lead to believe.

Some members have mentioned a soundproofing problem and at some point early evening we were aware of this but thankfully our neighbours were very considerate during the later hours.To be honest I would have major concerns if it was a carefree family next door as we could hear every word! There are some vents in the top of the adjoining walls and it appeared to us that this was the weak point but we could be wrong.

Ok to sum up. This place is in an ideal position if you are heading into the Rockies as its ouside the park gates, yet still less than an hour from Jasper, so the rates are lower, it has a great restaurant and comfortable rooms but ring up and ask questions about the room you are booking.Also if you are in mossie season I would take a "plug in" to keep the little guys at bay as even after we sprayed the room and us we were bitten to bits. Not the hotels fault, this is nature!! We didnt question the configeration of our room but hey we were there for one night, of what we saw of the staff this wouldnt have been a problem to them.

We enjoyed our fleeting visit and if we were to stay or even pass next time we would make a point of eating in the restaurant and sampling another cocktail or two.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
26.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
27.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
26.7 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,508 reviews
26.8 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,018 reviews
25.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overlander Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Mountain Lodge

Property: Overlander Mountain Lodge
Address: 27010 Highway 16, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Overlander Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of Jasper National Park, 50 km outside Jasper Town-site, overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains, sits the Overlander Mountain Lodge. This jewel in the Canadian Rockies offers spectacular views, gourmet dining and ultra comfortable lodging. Warm hospitality and a casual yet cozy atmosphere are combined here in a mountain setting of unique natural beauty. Our chalet vacation rentals can serve as your home away from home while exploring all the park has to offer.The Overlander Mountain Lodge provides a variety of accommodation for the perfect Mountain Getaway, where televisions and telephones have been excluded to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. When it is time to celebrate, look no further than this cozy Rocky Mountain retreat as an ideal setting for social gatherings, weddings and business groups. The Overlander Mountain Lodge is committed to providing some of the best lodging, food and hospitality in the Canadian Rockies.we offer different room types from cabins to rooms with mountain views, kitchenettes and complete vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Overlander Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overlander Mountain Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing