We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, but would not go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overlander Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2011

very nice hotel, we arrived and had to make reservation to eat dinner, the wait was 1.5 hours, did not understand this as the restaurant had quite a few empty tables. Dinner was excellent, Disappointed with the continental breakfast that was $12 per person.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glensue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 440 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nice, clean, excellent service. Restaurant is great (though not easy to feed a large group at once). The chalet was clean and roomy. No TV was actually a boon. Overall, almost perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wa6709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed at the Overlander for a one-night stay in August 2011. We were a party of seven (four adults, three children) and we split up between two cabin rooms, located in separate "four-plexs," separate by a lawn between units. The hotel is located just north of the entrance to Jasper National Park, on Hwy. 16. If you read this site or their website, you'll know that you are about 35 minutes from Jasper proper, so set your expectations accordingly. We had read that the road between Jasper and the Overlander was particularly picturesque and great for wildlife sightings, which was the primary reason we chose to stay here rather than down in Jasper for a second night. We were disappointed in this regard, as Hwy. 16 -- while picturesque -- is a very busy road, with an incredible volume of truck traffic. While we did see mountain sheep along the road, we were rather shocked, as they were certainly used to the traffic. Any other wildlife, however, was obviously staying very far away from the road, clearly scared away by the constant rumble of trucks.

The hotel is located on a hillside, above the highway. It is a very nice setting, with excellent views. Check-in was okay -- staff was not very helpful, but fine. We asked about making reservations for dinner. We asked for 6:30pm; she said we could do 6:00 or 7:30pm. Assuming they were already booked, we chose 6:00pm. As we were in the lobby a short while later, another group came in and they were offered 6:30pm. A minor point, but noted. As it was, we were the only people in the restaurant until that other -- later -- group arrived at 6:30pm. I'll write a separate review, but the restaurant is way overhyped. It is the only choice for food, short of driving north into Hinton. Based on reviews, I'd expected more. As it was, the food was extremely average and EXTREMELY overpriced. We have laughed several times, as after we ordered, the waitress came back saying she had to amend one of our orders. She said they had four baked potatoes available, and five of us had ordered this side. We're still a bit confused how a restaurant can have only four potatoes, especially for the first seating of the night. Anyway, I digress...

The best part of our visit was the cabins. They are located in four-plexs and were very nice. A small entry area (looks like a former porch) as you enter, with a large, nicely fitted bathroom attached. The bedroom contains two queen beds and gas fireplace. Everything was very clean and comfortable. On the downside...the noise. The cabin had a beautiful view from the cliff across the valley, with large trees all around. That view was betrayed by the constant noise from the highway below -- you couldn't see it, but man could you hear it. Again, it was a very warm day and night, so we had to open windows to cool the room off. With the windows open, the noise was almost unbearable. We finally were forced to close the front and bathroom windows -- closest to the highway -- and left only the bedroom window open (on the side) but the noise was still very loud. While we hoped the truck traffic would subside over time, it was all but constant all night. A big detractor for this hotel.

Other comments: The hotel advertises wi-fi in the main building, but it was not working. When I asked at the front desk, I was told it "might be working, but we have router problems a lot." Also, having read about all the wildlife in the area (which is also heavily touted on the Overlander website) we asked about a walking/hiking trail in the area. The clerk gave us a very detailed map and off we went. Even with the map, we were not sure we were on the right trail, as it was overgrown and even a little scary. It did finally meet with a road and a heavily used ATV trail, but it was not an enjoyable hike (compared to the myriad of well marked and cleared trails we encountered elsewhere across Alberta). We also saw absolutely no wildlife. At dawn the next day, I got up and walked that trail again, in hopes of seeing wildlife; again, nothing. On my way back, I noted a wooden archway across from a barn in a field behind the cabins -- it was marked "Wildlife Trail" or "Walking Trail." I tentatively following the path emerging from below the arch, and it led through the woods behind the complex to the entrance to a wildlife preserve. After entering another gate, there was a beautifully maintained and very well marked trail through the woods. There was even a nice bench for sitting and looking out across the valley. While I encountered no wildlife (the highway is very close to this trail, and the noise I'm sure scares away the animals), the trail was beauitful and exactly what we'd been looking for the night before. Why the hotel recommends the latter and doesn't even mention this well-marked hiking trail, I cannot fathom.

To sum up, if you want to be close to Hinton and want a great view AND can sleep through a lot of noise, then the Overlander is a good choice. Otherwise, I cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid the cabin rooms and lodge rooms, which overlook the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I got married there. I was told they would take care of everything, the decorating. My mom was the one who did all the decorating! Wedding was at 2 and she forced staff to get chairs out because it was already 1!!! The staff was snotty, they went through 3 staff in the wedding corrodinater department. So every one said a different thing! I was looking forward to a stress free day and there was one thing after another kept going wrong.
They said they would play music for me to go down the isle. Just had to press a button, they played the wrong song and couldnt hear it!! We paid for a private fuction and they rented out rooms to strangers so then we had to end music at 10. They barely let us have our first dance!!!!
I was extremly dissapointed on my special day that was suposed to be "stress free". The guy that i delt with in the end, jason was a lier rude and extremly unprofessional.
I will howevr say. The food was awesome!! And the veiw was amazing.
But dont think we got what we paid for.


For anyone planning to get married there. Good luck!! Dont do it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank titoandlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Nice hotel but a long way out from Jasper with only the hotel restaurant for food. It was a long way back to Jasper or on to Hinton for a meal if you didn't want the full restaurant meal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at the main lodge in a room above the reception. There was a music coming from a loudspeaker outside the reception. We found it hard to fall asleep with the music. We could not just phone the recetion and ask them to turn off the music - because there are no phones in the rooms to insure the guests a relaxing stay.... We had to get dressed up and and to actually go down to the reception for that. Then, at 6:30 in the morning the music started again! The person at the reception desk said: "well, our guests are already out at the mountains at six thirty in the morning....". In addition to this ridiculous reply, the lodge van stops near the reception for fifteen minutes for some business, with the engine and radio running making an awful noise . Well, it is hard to think of a less relaxing stay that the one we had there. It would be much more important to put signs requesting everyone to keep quiet and that the staff itself would have adhered to it than just to exclude phones and televisions.

One more minor issue. We found that in the bill they included a small donation to some environmental organization. We are usually happy to contribute when we been asked to, but it is inappropriate to make put it on the bill without even telling us about it. It is a small issue that with the above mentioned inconsiderate noise left us very unsatisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fnfrucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overlandermtnlodge, Owner at Overlander Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear Guest,
I apologize for the music being too loud outside your room during your stay. We definitely could have turned it down so that it did not bother you and I'm sorry your request was not immediately taken care of as it should have been. Our lodge participates in the Ecostay environmental program that attempts to offset the carbon emissions that occur from each guests stay (electricity, water consumption etc) by contributing to green projects and the lodges own green initiatives. The $2.00 charge is trackable and guests can see where the money is spent on a link on our website. The charge is completely optional and will be removed at the guests request with no questions asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked a chalet hoping for some luxury (and expecting the luxury given the amount we had to pay) . We absolutely didn't get what we're hoped for. The chalet was very simple and everything inside was old. The internet was really slow (our chalet was almost next to the restaurant).
We arrived very late and needed some dinner. The girl in the restaurant told us that the kitchen was closed (it closed 10 minutes before) and didn't even think about offering something else. We were glad that we had some chips left. The next morning hungry for breakfast we went to the restaurant. The breakfast was very disappointing again and absolutely not worth the $12 per person. Nothing was freshly baked. The bread we had to take out of the plastic bag ourselves and they had a very limited selection.
We really expected more from such a place. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overlandermtnlodge, Owner at Overlander Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear Guest,

I apologize that you were not offered an alternative after you arrived when the restaurant was closed. The policy is that if the kitchen staff have left for the evening and the servers are there then they can make you soup and salad. The majority of our cuisine is made from scratch so if the kitchen is closed and the chefs have left the options are very limited. We encourage all guests to make reservations before coming since we are the only restaurant within a 15 minute drive and very busy in the summer.

I would like to provide some clarification on the chalet you stayed in for yourself and future guests that book with us. The houses that we rent are Vacation homes and are not the same as the rooms we also rent. The Vacation homes have a signed rental agreement that outline the different policies with regards to cleaning, groups, amenities (they do no have internet at this time but there is free wireless in the main lodge for all guests) etc. The prices when you break them down per room are actually much less expensive than Jasper and you also have the living space, full kitchen, yard, TV/DVD, some with washer and dryer, BBQ, and patio's. For longer term stays and for parties of 4 or more people they are the most economical choice.

We appreciate your comments and feedback and will continue to work to meet our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
26.7 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
979 reviews
27.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
26.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
887 reviews
28.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,646 reviews
25.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overlander Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Mountain Lodge

Address: 27010 Highway 16, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: $106 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overlander Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of Jasper National Park, 50 km outside Jasper Town-site, overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains, sits the Overlander Mountain Lodge. This jewel in the Canadian Rockies offers spectacular views, gourmet dining and ultra comfortable lodging. Warm hospitality and a casual yet cozy atmosphere are combined here in a mountain setting of unique natural beauty. Our chalet vacation rentals can serve as your home away from home while exploring all the park has to offer.The Overlander Mountain Lodge provides a variety of accommodation for the perfect Mountain Getaway, where televisions and telephones have been excluded to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. When it is time to celebrate, look no further than this cozy Rocky Mountain retreat as an ideal setting for social gatherings, weddings and business groups. The Overlander Mountain Lodge is committed to providing some of the best lodging, food and hospitality in the Canadian Rockies.we offer different room types from cabins to rooms with mountain views, kitchenettes and complete vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Overlander Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overlander Mountain Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing