We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to chill”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in a Grove suite (Douglas Fir - room 3) and it was very good - but not perfect.

Positives

Would second many covered in previous reviews, but from the perspective of a couple with a 14 month old infant:

Great facilities - Full Kitchen, with every piece of kit you could wish for (not forgetting your huge Gas BBQ outside)
Great interior - contemporary feel, with big comfy sofas & fire for the evenings
Entertainment - Cool plasma LCD screens - with limited channels (lounge and bedroom), DVD player and cd:HIFI - no excuse for being bored if confined to your suite
Huge shower - Room for the whole family!
Views of the lake (from suite) - Very relaxing

Negatives

Bearing in mind the owners knew we had a baby (Cot prebooked) -we were surprised to find our top floor room had a staircase without a door to keep the infant in - had to block gap with said cot...
Also seemed to be lots of very obtrusive trailing wires from lamps etc & we had a bit of an incident with an attractive, but heavy glass topped side table (fill in the gaps yourselves!)
I'm not saying these are bad things in themselves - just that if you have an infant that likes to climb and explore, you'll be spending a lot of time following them around (and we didn't have to do this half as much at other places we stayed on this trip)

Finally a minor gripe / tip

The grove suites are in 4 'blocks'

With the single storey Pine & Aspen, you get a lakefront location, with patio, chairs and BBQ's looking out onto the water.
Behing them are the the 2 storey Spruce and Douglas Fir suites - still great views -especially from our top floor suite (we had asked for a view) -however the top floor suites have their patios behind the building - no lake view - whilst those at the front bask in the evening sun glistening off the lake, you have to sit in the shadow of the building looking back into the other bungalows / parked cars -hardly a hardship, but just made the evenings a little less special

Would recommend the Grove Suites to anyone - but warn those with (very) little ones to keep a watchful eye!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

We just returned from a 3-night stay at the "Motel". We loved the beautiful surroundings and the peace & quiet, well worth the 5 minute drive from town. The main reasons we chose Patricia Lake is the amazingly low price (we paid only $85, whereas most hotels in Jasper start at $180 or more). Of course, we expected to “get what we paid for”, but were pleasantly surprised to find that the quality of the room and the service were on par, if not better, than your typical Jasper hotel. Though our unit was very small, it was cozy and very comfortable. It even included a small fridge! An abundance of mirrors helped make it feel a bit roomier. We enjoyed reading through a logbook of comments from previous people who had stayed in our unit, and learned that elk will often come out in the late evening or nighttime to snack on the flowers in the window boxes. Sure enough, on our first evening, we spotted one on the edge of the woods near our unit. Just down the road is another lake, called Pyramid Lake, which offers some breathtaking views of water/trees/mountains. We were in Jasper to attend a friend’s wedding, and most of the wedding photos were taken on a small island connected with a quaint wooden bridge. I highly recommend taking the short drive to check this out! We will definitely return to stay at Patricia Lake bungalows the next time we come to Jasper.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Madwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

From the moment we stepped onto the Patricia Lake Bungalows property, we were happy. The grounds are beautifully groomed, cabins are well-maintained and very clean, staff is friendly, and the lake view is just plain lovely. We were a party of three adults staying in one of the basic cabins with a double bed in the main room and two twins in another room, and we found the accommodations to be plenty big enough for us and our luggage. The kitchen area with its ample refrigerator and stovetop provided everything we needed. We spent three nights there, using PLB as a base from which to explore the Jasper area, and we were always delighted to return to our sweet little cabin after a day's adventures. Despite the close proximity of other cabins, the neighboring guests we encountered were courteous and there was plenty of peace and quiet to be savored. One nice touch: every evening a staff member will stop by your cabin just to make sure you have plenty of towels, coffee, or whatever else you might need. It's only a leisurely ten-minute drive from town and yet it's a world away. If you want a peaceful getaway in a place where the staff clearly cares about the quality of your stay, this is a great place to try. Thanks, Patricia Lake Bungalows, for a wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gseab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Located about 10 minutes drive away from Jasper town, its a perfect little 'getaway'. Beautifully presented and very cute. We stayed in one of their cottages which was clean and comfortable. Patricia Lake Bungalows are set right on the lake, which is a wonderful view in itself. You can also take a walk around the lake, although its so large, we never made it all the way around!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tenaxious_jenq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed at PLB in late may in one of the lakeview cabins for 3 nights and were not disapointed. It really was the highlight of our trip through the Rockies. The cabin was spotless and perfect for the two of us. We also enjoyed the beautiful lake we could see from the kitchen window. We spent each evening sitting out the front of our cabin looking at the lake enjoying a glass of wine. The cooking facilities were great and the staff wonderful, especially when we locked both our keys in the cabin on the first day! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aussiegal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed in cabin 15 for four nights in early June. The cabin inside was even nicer than its photo on the website and we had a wonderful view of Patricia Lake from the bedroom window. This cabin was a good size for two people, although we invited our friends who were camping to eat with us at the cabin and that worked out very well since the kitchen table had four chairs. My woman friend and I sat on the couch after dinner and talked and read while our husbands used the kitchen table to play a card game. There were also a couple adirondack chairs outside, along with a picnic table. I couldn't have been happier with our cabin! No, it wasn't fancy, but it wasn't primitive either. It was very clean. The kitchen was well equipped, the furniture comfortable, and the location was ideal. I can understand why these cabins would be a bit snug for more than two people and if we return with our friends we would probably share one of the two bedroom 'motel' style duplexes to have the extra room, although they are not set as close to the lake. #27 and #28 looked like the nicest of those units because they had the best views from the front picture window. I appreciated the laundry facilities at Patricia Lake Bungalows, the well kept grounds, the friendly staff, and the quiet. We often saw elk on the way to and from town and one time saw a fox. Definitely a pleasant place to stay, especially in June when there are fewer people in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havefundswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Just got home from my vacation and saw this review.I had to write in because I feel responsible for the last review. I think this is the cabin we stayed in...our teenage son broke the shower tray when we stayed in June...we loved our stay and were writing in about it when we read that last review in shock and amazement....We have stayed at the Bungalows many, many times and have received royal treatment EVERY time, the rooms are exceptionally clean and we barely got out the door when they were there to service them, theres nothing like a good refreshing nights sleep with the mountain air and the luxurious bedding We never sleep so good as when we are there! We make this stay an EVERY YEAR Experience because the people there make us feel like family!The Family play area and paddle boats add to the already majestic hiking trails. I have done extensive price checks and I really think and know that the Bunbgalows are a jewel in price and location ...it is and will be our home away from home as we treat ourselves to our dream vacation every year!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 5StarWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,690 reviews
1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jasper
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $79 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains overlooking a calm crystal clear lake. This is beautiful Patricia Lake in Jasper National Park. In 2016 our family will be celebrating a milestone of 50 years of owning and operating Patricia Lake Bungalows! Since 1966 we have hosted thousands of guests at Patricia Lake Bungalows and helped each one of them to experience our amazing National Park. Our location is a perfect 3 mile (5 km) distance from the town of Jasper, Alberta. Just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of town yet close enough to walk to town for an evening of enjoyment. Our cottages include charming décor, complimentary in-room coffee, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, private picnic tables, and most have cozy environmentally friendly gas fireplaces. We offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. The peace and quiet we experience everyday is one of the things you will cherish. Located just 5 minutes from Jasper, Patricia Lake Bungalows provides its guests with a place to experience the beauty of nature, a place away from the daily stresses of life and a place to recharge body and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing