We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Jasper Lodging”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2006

Ideally serene location at Patricia Lake. This place was beautiful, quiet, and comfortable. The kitchen made it easy to make dinners and breakfast with out having to eat out every meal. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. Take a walk around the lake or just relax on the dock. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Jasper.

4  Thank JGraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2006

Just got back from a trip in alberta. This resort was a stopping point in between our drive from Banff to Edmonton. We only stayed one night.

We stayed in their new 'luxury condo's' (called 'The Grace at Patricia Lake'). Compared to the other suites these were the most expensive, we took them because that is all they had left. We got in a little late and pulled up to the office while a family of elk were grazing about 20 feet away - nice touch.

I chose this resort on short notice and based on the reviews on this site. The grace condo's were gorgeous and very nicely appointed with slate tiles, granite counter tops and plasma TV's. The bathroom was very nicely appointd as well. These suites's were brand spanking new and were a HUGE leap over the other bungalows which looked pretty homely in comparison.

There were a couple of oddities; 1) none of the bungalows have phones. If you want to use a phone you have to go to the payphone near the office - cell phones will not work. 2) there is no AC in the units. Given the modern contemporary look of these units I was a little surprised at this ommission. They should have had ceiling fans in the rooms if they chose not to have AC.

The property itslef is nice. We came with children and this is not the most ideal spot for kids. There was a small playground near the office but that is not enough to keep the kids entertained for more than a day or so.

After driving by a few of the other cabin resorts I would have to say that these were a little nicer than the ones we saw. The Grace Suites were really top notch, almost like they didn't belong on the same property. I would go back if I needed a few days to kick back, but I would only stay in the Grace Suites if I did.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TrueNorthRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
789123, owner at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2006

After developing our new "Grove Suites"(not the Grace suites)....this past winter our little family decided to go on a much needed short but sweet summer vacation. We also happened to stay in a hotel that needed air conditioning and thus our sleep and stay was not great. The point I make in telling my little story is this...the hotel I reserved stated they had air conditioning when they , in fact, did not have air conditioning. We at Patricia Lake Bungalows in Jasper do not state that we have air conditioning because it is rare that we are hot enough to require cooling down. In fact most nights, year round, we require our furnace to be on. Even on a hot summer day... 28 celsius/82farenheit...the nights cool down substantially to require the fireplace/furnace.
This summer, we had a heat wave, unusual but true! And if this warm weather becomes a pattern...we will most definitely be supplying portable airconditioners, sorry if you had a restless sleep, I sympathize and understand.
***
Regarding the phones... we have carried out extensive surveys from our guests over the past 10 years regarding phone service....the majority do not want phones! Surprising yes..but we have many professionals, family, individuals.... who vacation here and do not want to hear the telephone ring, all they want is quiet. Thus our decision to be phoneless!
***
Finally, I do want to respond to the statement about our property not being appropriate for children. We have many activities here at Patricia Lake Bungalows for children/teens to partake in. Bocce ball, badminton, basketball, volleyball, croquet, boardgames, playground, bicycles, kayaks, canoes, boats, and a horseback riding stables just down the road.
Once again I will tell a little story from my vacation. We met some lovely people from Brazil at breakfast one morning...and while visiting we both discovered that we had teenagers of similiar ages. Ours, of course were not with us as they invariably were sleeping in ( as teenagers do!) We laughed as we shared the joke...different locations...same kind of kids... My point being...kids are kids and they will choose what they want to do when they want to do it.
Unfortunately we will never provide everything for everybody...but we try our best.
****
Thanks for the lovely comments on the Grove...we are very proud of them. Yes they look very different than the original cabins and they were designed to be that way. Having said that, we will be renovating the older cabins over the next few years to compliment the newer style. But one step at a time! Remember this is a small family business.
Looking forward to having you visit again.
Happy vacationing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We saved a bit by getting a "motel unit" rather than a detached cabin. We paid $89 a night for a total of four nights.

It's a wonderful, peaceful location, right by a lake (as you'd expect!), although the bungalows are closer together than the impression I got from the website and our unit (number 24) was near the cleaners' headquarters where radios were playing for much of the day (someone else had also remarked on this in the visitors' book in our room).

There was good control of temperature (unlike a lot of thermostats in hotels which I'm sure aren't even wired in), and it was clean with plenty of pillows, a fridge and coffee percolator (though no kettle or jug for making tea). There was a small kitchenette area but it shared the hand basin for the bathroom.

The place is about 6 km from town and services, so some basic crockery and cutlery would have been nice, perhaps even a toaster and microwave. (These were probably available in the individual cabins.) Jasper was one of the furthest places north we went, with very long twilights, and I think this was the only place we stayed that had thin curtains that didn't block out the light.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

My friend and I spent 3 days at Patricia Lake and it will stay in my memory for many years to come! The cabin was wonderful, so well equipped and with a beautiful view of the Lake. Coming from England, it is rare to find total silence, but sitting by the lake in the early morning surrounded by just the sounds of nature was an absolute joy!! Excellent equipment readily available for bbq as the sun went down. Will definitely stay here again - its an absolute treasure.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Julie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Grove (Patricial Lake Bungalows' brand new stylish cabin by the lake) for three nights. It's such a lovely place. The interior of the cabin is really nice and stylish and the amenities are top notch...plasma TVs in living room and bedroom, stainless steel coffee maker and toaster, granite countertops, a very nice and comfy sofa bed and linens, to name a few. It's got a beautiful lake view from both the living room and bedroom, and nice patio furniture for us to unwind at the end of the day. The staff are very friendly and helpful, so are our neighbors. This is the BEST place I can imagine staying in Jasper and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RiuPalaceCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

At Patrica Lake bungalows there are a couple of motel-like-rooms. When we entered it was very hot, but that was because the heat was fully on in June... When we turned of the heat and kept the windows open, it became more comfortable. The bed was huge with nice self made pillows. The bathroom was okay. We got the toilet plugged, but it was no problem for the staff to un-plug it. We rented kanoes, which was very nice at the Patricia Lake!

The service was great, the room was nice and cosy!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dubbelvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

After a week traveling from Calgary through the rockies my wife & I were relieved we found this place on Tripadvisor ! Briliant location for Jasper & all the parks - Romantic (do the No 6 trail walk & see Beavers) Quiet - clean - & helpful happy staff, a must if you get in !!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul Bris uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,646 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jasper
#2 Family Hotel in Jasper
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: $78 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains overlooking a calm crystal clear lake. This is beautiful Patricia Lake in Jasper National Park. In 2016 our family will be celebrating a milestone of 50 years of owning and operating Patricia Lake Bungalows! Since 1966 we have hosted thousands of guests at Patricia Lake Bungalows and helped each one of them to experience our amazing National Park. Our location is a perfect 3 mile (5 km) distance from the town of Jasper, Alberta. Just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of town yet close enough to walk to town for an evening of enjoyment. Our cottages include charming décor, complimentary in-room coffee, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, private picnic tables, and most have cozy environmentally friendly gas fireplaces. We offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. The peace and quiet we experience everyday is one of the things you will cherish. Located just 5 minutes from Jasper, Patricia Lake Bungalows provides its guests with a place to experience the beauty of nature, a place away from the daily stresses of life and a place to recharge body and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing