We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful family escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Save
You added Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful family escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It's been years (over a decade and a half, actually) since I've last stayed at Patricia Lake Bungalows, and while I enjoyed it then, this trip was even more special. This is a perfect location for a family (or families traveling together, as was our case) to spend some time as a home base while exploring all the tranquil majesty that Jasper has to offer.

We stayed in unit #3 (a Type 4 cabin: queen bed in bedroom, pullout in living room); my sister and her family stayed in unit #10 (a Type 1 cabin: 2 twin beds in bedroom, queen in main living space; they were allowed to have their dog with them in this cabin); my parents stayed in Whistler #2, a large room with 2 queen beds. We had booked quite late and these rooms were all that were available, but they suited our needs perfectly. The staff were wonderful enough to let us look into a couple of other units on our departure that might be even better for us on future stays.

From the moment we checked in, the staff were nothing but friendly, polite and spectacularly accommodating. They absolutely go above and beyond, in my opinion – there were a couple of things we needed help with, and they were wonderful in making those things happen. The grounds are lovely, with a small playground, hot tub, BBQ area and lovely lawns to play on. And of course, the location on the banks of the lake in front of monumental Mt Pyramid just tops it all off.

One should note when considering these reviews that the high reviews this location gets don't necessarily mean it is a 5-star hotel with all the expected amenities... this is a genuinely authentic mountain cabin. The units are neither large nor lavish, but they are comfortable and impeccably clean. Anything different would detract from the peaceful setting and have an entirely different feel to it. All in all, this place is a magnificent place to stay if you are planning to spend some time in Jasper. We will definitely be staying here again (and again and again...).

(In response to another reviewer who complained that it was more than 30 seconds to walk to the lake – I think it entirely depends on how quickly or slowly you move. My parents were in one of the further properties, and it took us and the kids less than 30 seconds to get to the dock from their unit. My parents are slower, so yes, it did take them longer to get there, but even then it was not a long haul by any stretch of the imagination. Also in response to the same review, I agree that the hanging light fixture in our room knocked several of us on the head, given that the table and chairs had to be moved nearer the fireplace in order to pull out the sofabed. The table was kept by the fireplace for the duration of our stay, so we were constantly knocking our head as the fixture was not hanging over the table as originally intended. That was in unit 3; I would recommend replacing with a flush-mount light fixture similar to the one in unit 10 to avoid this problem in the future. All told, a small nuisance that in no way affected our enjoyment the trip.)

Room Tip: The Cavell and Grove units are newer, with slightly upgraded amenities if you don't want to go e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    279
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
323
462
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a 1 BR cabin which was comfortable and well set up with a good kitchen. The gas fireplace was cozy and the wifi was fast. It’s a bit of a drive from the town centre but it’s a lovely drive and we often saw wildlife on the side of the road. We also made use of the spa one evening and the coin operated laundry was also very convenient. There are so many lovely places to visit and hike in the Jasper area and these cabins were a great base to explore the surrounding areas with the convenience of being able to prepare our own meals.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here one night early July 2014 (our only regret is to not have booked more than 1 night). We had a 2 bedroom cottage, which was clean, big enough, had all the necessities (cutlery/dishes, fridge, TV, etc). There was a nice hot tube, BBQ that's shared between everyone staying there, and it's right on the lake. They have board games, equipment to play badminton, etc. and it's also possible to rent canoes/kayaks. People were fishing in the lake, there's a horseback riding place just on the other side of the street and it's just a short 5 minute drive from Jasper. The location is also far enough from the city to give you a real feeling of being on vacation and being in nature.

The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. There is internet but it doesn't work very well (but who needs it when there's so much to do in the beautiful outdoors anyways!)

I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and will certainly stay here again if I have the chance to visit Jasper in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Only stayed for one night with another couple; would have enjoyed an extended stay. Cabin B was cozy, clean, comfortable, well-equipped, quiet. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Immaculate hot tub, clean and reasonably priced laundry facility. View of the mountains from the lake---can read there or have glass of wine. Picnic table in front of cabin was enjoyed for breakfast. Short drive into Jasper for dinner and breakfast take-out. Highly recommend Olive's Bistro for dinner and the Bear's Paw Bakery for great coffee and pastries.

Room Tip: All looked charming. Can only speak about the 2 bedroom cabins---B was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at Patricia Lake Bungalows for the last 15 or so years, with the odd break for other vacations. I almost hate to brag about this place as I would like to just save it for us however the staff and owners deserve the kudos for all their efforts. The PLB are just outside of the townsite of Jasper which affords this beautiful spot the serenity and quiet of the majestic Rocky Mountains. There are several different types of accommodation available making this the perfect site for everyone! The lake is lovely and there are canoes that can be rented. The hiking in the immediate area is extensive as is the hiking in the Jasper area. There is nothing better than an early morning coffee down at the boat dock with the loons in the background to melt all your troubles away! The housekeeping is second to none and the staff are available to make sure your stay is all that you hoped for. There is a firepit for all to gather in the evenings, barbecues, a hot tub to soak away your achy muscles, games available at the registration, laundry, and most of the cabins have kitchenettes should you choose to do your own cooking. We are once again looking forward to our fall vacation! Thank you PLB!

Room Tip: Check on the web site for the amenities that will best suit your needs and them prepare to relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been coming to Jasper for years camping with our children; wish we had known about Patricia Lake Bungalows! Our children are grown, but they would have loved this! Beautiful setting and very family friendly! Excellent staff! Very clean suites! Lovely playground and barbecue area with Webber barbecues for your use in the evenings! Canoes, rowboats and bike rentals! Reasonable rates! Lovely dock with lots of chairs - great in the evenings! And swimming! And if it rains, borrow one of the many games or books from the lobby! Oh, and a laundry, too! And can't forget the hot tub! Great for couples, too! Great place to honeymoon! Check out the Whistler Suite with fireplace and faulted ceilings!

Room Tip: Loved the Whistler Suite - fireplace and faulted ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Best place to stay in Jasper by far. The room rates were very reasonable. The bungalow we stayed in was very nice and clean. The lake is so close and there are boat rentals available. They have a dock available so you can sit and have your morning coffee. I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

Property: Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Address: Pyramid Road | 5 km from Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains overlooking a calm crystal clear lake. This is beautiful Patricia Lake in Jasper National Park. In 2016 our family will be celebrating a milestone of 50 years of owning and operating Patricia Lake Bungalows! Since 1966 we have hosted thousands of guests at Patricia Lake Bungalows and helped each one of them to experience our amazing National Park. Our location is a perfect 3 mile (5 km) distance from the town of Jasper, Alberta. Just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of town yet close enough to walk to town for an evening of enjoyment. Our cottages include charming décor, complimentary in-room coffee, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, private picnic tables, and most have cozy environmentally friendly gas fireplaces. We offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. The peace and quiet we experience everyday is one of the things you will cherish. Located just 5 minutes from Jasper, Patricia Lake Bungalows provides its guests with a place to experience the beauty of nature, a place away from the daily stresses of life and a place to recharge body and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing