We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute house but breakie not that great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gingerbread House

The Gingerbread House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gingerbread House
Ranked #23 of 58 Jasper B&B and Inns
Calgary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cute house but breakie not that great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The house itself is spectacular. Within walking distance it looks just like its name... a Gingerbread house. Clean and beautifully decorated with every space filled with little knick knacks. My house would be cluttered if I had as many things but this just adds to its character.

Our room was the Tekarra room. Now that I stayed there I would have preferred the Kerkeslin room. The Tekarra room was filled with nutcrackers and toys. It felt like we were staying in someone's kids room. Not great for a romantic weekend. The other room felt a bit more mature and light feeling. The bathroom was beautiful and I dreamed of how I could renovate my bathroom to mirror it.

The breakfast was absolutely the worst that I have ever had at a B&B. We had bagels. period. They were not home made nor freshly toasted. We could have put some jam on them but the cold hard bagels probably would not have tasted better. It was just odd to me. Another odd thing was sitting at a slide in bench table in the kitchen rather than eating breakfast in the dining room. Breakfast was obviously not an important feature in this B&B experience. I've always thought it to be a special treat in the B&Bs that I have stayed in before. Normally done with lots of flare.

Rita was an entertaining host as she is a long time resident of the area and had many stories to tell.

It would be nice to have an information sheet in each room for when she is not there when you come in. We weren't sure of the internet pass word until the next morning nor did we know the process for coming down for breakfast. Time is normally arranged the night before so we were a little bit hesitant to come down in the morning since we felt it was up in the air. Now we know why... if bagels were just being served then not a lot of prep was needed.

Room Tip: Tekarra was dark and child like. Kerkeslin was bright and airy with cathedral ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rottn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita H, Owner at The Gingerbread House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to the standard response we have come to expect of our guests. Of the 150 licensed Private Home accommodations in Jasper we are one of only 12 or so with a license to serve a continental breakfast. None have a license to serve anything cooked. Our general menu is hot fresh bagels, mostly served with home made jams and jellies, a fruit basket with never less than 4 kinds of in season fresh fruit, yogurt and muslix and of course a variety of teas and coffees. Every other day baked goods of cinnamon buns, muffins, strudels are offered as variety. As our web page states,our continental Breakfast is served between 7:30 and 8:30 daily, but we will in the future be more diligent to remove breakfast from the table promptly by 9:00a.m. so folks are not finding them cold later. Our sincere apologies. Breakfast is offered in our sunny kitchen nook set in a turret of windows with a fine view of the surrounding mountains and garden or out in the bright sunshine of the back patio if guest wish.
As guests have the entire top floor of our home with the best views, we do reserve some space for our privacy.
I do thank you for the tip of of the fact sheet in the library sitting room in the guest space. In the past i have felt notes are a bit impersonal and have tried to remember to tell folks all of the pertinent info at check in time, however i do see the value of leaving a fact sheet as there is a lot to pass on.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Traditional B&B that offers all the comfort we needed to relax from the adventures in the Rockies, at a reasonable price. Good location in walking distance to Jasper downtown. 2 neat and clean rooms and a very nice bathroom, shared between the 2 rooms. Rita is very entertaining and extremely helpful, a pleasant host. Good and strong coffee in the morning and fresh fruits are the highlight of the otherwise average breakfast. Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmuelos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jasper, AB Gingerbread House for the weekend and it was an excellent experience. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. Our room was excellent, clean and cozy. The house was beautiful and clean. Rita (owner) was a terrific host and very knowledgeable. If you want to stay at a bed & breakfast I would highly recommend the Gingerbread House in Jasper, AB. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I love the the gingerbread house. It is like staying at home or grandmas house. Very clean very comfy. I love the morning jam. Much better then any hotel. My wife and I have wonderful memories here and couldnt imagine coming to Jasper and not stopping by. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was one of the best b&b's I've ever stayed in. I loved how the whole second floor is just for guests. The balcony facing the mountains was perfect for a relaxing evening after hiking, as was the luxurious bath that also had a great view. Rita was exceedingly helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. Also this was a great location to just walk into town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Decentwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We visited Jasper on a holiday weekend and wanted to find a nice B&B. We were fortunate to be able to stay at The Gingerbread House! Rita was wonderful. She works for the parks department, so has a wealth of information about the area. House was very comfortable and located within walking distance in town. Does have wireless Internet access that is good. We ate at Fiddle River, per one of her recommendations, which was amazing!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We came across the Gingerbread House via a recommendation from another B&B in Jasper that we had originally tried to book. Fortunately, it was a fabulous place. Rita was great fun, gave us lots of advice over breakfast.....Jasper is a must for anyone visiting the Canadian Rockies. The location of the Gingerbread House was excellent, a crawl to town and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Accommodations
0.2 mi away
Pyramid Guest House
Pyramid Guest House
#21 of 58 in Jasper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The White Brick Inn
The White Brick Inn
#1 of 58 in Jasper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
711 Miette Ave
711 Miette Ave
#18 of 58 in Jasper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bear Hill Lodge
Bear Hill Lodge
#2 of 21 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gingerbread House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gingerbread House

Property: The Gingerbread House
Address: 801 Patricia Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a complimentary continental breakfast between 7:30 and 8:30 a.m. each dayhot fresh bagels, tea, coffee, fresh fruit selection,muslix and yogurt ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing