We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“skiing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmot Basin Ski Area

Marmot Basin Ski Area
Ranked #8 of 47 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marmot Basin, located in Jasper National Park, Alberta provides unparalleled skiing and snowboarding for all ages and all abilities. Nestled in the heart of the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Marmot Basin offers a family friendly, laid back, crowd free experience with stunning views. The nearby town of Jasper offers a friendly welcome to all with hotels, bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. As well as an unforgettable snow sports experience, there are also many other activities available, including shoe-shoeing, cross-country skiing, dog sledging, winter wildlife tours, canyon walks and much, much more! Once visited, never forgotten, come see us for an authentic Rocky Mountain experience. We look forward to seeing you! Your friends at Marmot Basin.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

good variety of runs for those of us who don't like double diamond blacks but need more challenge than green runs

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank anniec c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    97
    18
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Been skiing here for 50 years and love it every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marmot has grown over the years from a tiny local ski hill to a large ski resort with many high speed lifts. And it still keeps its unique charm. There is a good variety of runs with areas to please absolutely everyone. The only complaint now is that we get worn out skiing since there are no lift lines, so no time to rest. The two chalets provide tasty comfort food and a variety of beverages.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda4730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome spring skiing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Skied Marmot on Tuesday April 2; beautiful sunny day and awesome conditions for this time of year. There were no line ups for the lifts and every run was pure pleasure. I am disappointed we did not spend more time as we left here to head to Kimberly Mountain Resort where the snow had taken a terrible beating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marmot is not just great for skiing, but the view is absolutely breathtaking.
The food is very, very good with is not necessarily standard at some ski area's.
When in Jasper do not miss Marmot Basin, it's only minutes from the town of Jasper

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great family ski resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marmot is a great resort for families and all levels of skier. There are lots of green runs at the bottom that are great for beginners and a variety of terrain on the rest of the mountain to satisfy any level of skier or snowboarder. The lift lines were very short and most of the lifts we used were high speed quads. I did get some attitude from one of the girls at the ticket window but I see that as an aberation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank terry_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmot Basin Ski Area also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Marmot Basin Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing