We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maligne Canyon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maligne Canyon

Maligne Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.69*
and up
Maligne Canyon Icewalk
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic limestone canyon with waterfalls and walking trails.
Ione, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maligne Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I Thought It Was Very Pretty, But I Was Not Prepared For The Hike Down The Canyon. It Was VERY Slick & Icy & I Was Wearing Tennis Shoes With No Grip On The Bottom. The Sign Said It Was A 20-40 Minute Trip, But It Turned Into A 3 Hour Hike (The Reason I Gave A 4 Instead Of A 5). I Would Love To See It Again In Better Weather.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trogers442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,914
    767
    133
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Breathtaking beauty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We went as a family to Jasper as a weekend getaway. The sights are amazing. I love that this park is free (you have to pay to drive into Jasper - but no specific cost for this). It could take you hours (with children) to walk this. Canada beauty at its best !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Corimarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed the Maligne Canyon experience. Very pretty and worth the time and effort. If you have the time this is a great stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luxlife2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ice walk tour not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're in Jasper in the winter you have to do an icewalk with a guide. It's so amazing! Better with a guide than alone because they can take you to all the great spots and know the safest way of getting around. You're also equipped with the right footware.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shoegirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We started at the 5th bridge and worked our way up. Because of our lack of ice cleats we didn't even make it to the fourth bridge, but we had a lot of fun slipping and sliding down the path. Thank goodness for those railings and my teenage son who helped guide my daughter and me over the most Icy sections! The scenery was fantastic and it was a good way to stretch our muscles after two days skiing. We saw quite a few tour groups and decided that next year we'll pay the extra money to join a group. They looked like they got to venture into some pretty amazing spots on the canyon floor!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Canyon also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing