We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Breathtaking beauty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maligne Canyon

Maligne Canyon
Book In Advance
$57.23*
and up
Jasper National Park Wildlife and Waterfalls Tour
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic limestone canyon with waterfalls and walking trails.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Breathtaking beauty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We went as a family to Jasper as a weekend getaway. The sights are amazing. I love that this park is free (you have to pay to drive into Jasper - but no specific cost for this). It could take you hours (with children) to walk this. Canada beauty at its best !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Corimarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,772
    719
    129
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed the Maligne Canyon experience. Very pretty and worth the time and effort. If you have the time this is a great stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luxlife2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ice walk tour not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're in Jasper in the winter you have to do an icewalk with a guide. It's so amazing! Better with a guide than alone because they can take you to all the great spots and know the safest way of getting around. You're also equipped with the right footware.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shoegirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We started at the 5th bridge and worked our way up. Because of our lack of ice cleats we didn't even make it to the fourth bridge, but we had a lot of fun slipping and sliding down the path. Thank goodness for those railings and my teenage son who helped guide my daughter and me over the most Icy sections! The scenery was fantastic and it was a good way to stretch our muscles after two days skiing. We saw quite a few tour groups and decided that next year we'll pay the extra money to join a group. They looked like they got to venture into some pretty amazing spots on the canyon floor!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ice Walk with the kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We took our 6 and 8 year old on a walk thru the canyon. We loved the quietness and listening to the ice starting to melt. We walked in the canyon and it was just a wonderful experience. A Lifetime Bucket List Experience that we wont forget. The sun was shining, it was slippery, but just a wonderful way to see the wonder of what happen in the summer when the water carves into rock when the water flows. It was like the frozen ice captured the waterfall and allowed us to touch the ice and see through the ice on the rocks. Beautiful, and a learning experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFunFinderKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maligne Canyon also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Maligne Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing