We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view from top of tramway”
Review of Jasper SkyTram

Jasper SkyTram
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.42*
and up
Jasper SkyTram
Ranked #6 of 50 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tramway system providing scenic views of the Canadian Rockies.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Incredible view from top of tramway”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The tram is fully enclosed so even those who are squeamish about heights should be ok, if a bit dizzy. Scenery is incredible, bring binoculars and camera. There is a café at the top. The tramway does not go to the very top of the mountain, so wear a jacket and walking shoes so you can go up the very steep trail for even better views. It was buggy and very steep, although safe, so we only made it partly up the trail. Although you board the tram at the bottom in an assigned group (half hour wait when we purchased tickets at the bottom), there are no assigned groups for the return trip from the top because people spend different amounts of time walking outside, eating, gift shop, etc. At a busy time, expect a long wait (like an hour) standing in line to board tram back down.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,209
    650
    183
    37
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

this was my 4th time up that mountain, and every time I am struck by the beauty of the world around us........ We hiked to the summit which took us almost an hour but it was worth it, the higher one gets the more beautiful the scenery gets and the view expands.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank STinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was Okay”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We liked the ride up. Once you get up to the top, you have to hike a lot to get up to the top to see even a better view. It was good, but we were with toddlers so that made our experience just average. We recommend the Banff Gondola more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JungstinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“unforgettable trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

we were there around 9am so great that we didn't have to line up to get tickets and waited only little to get on the gondola. We also hiked up from the end of the tramway on the mountain. Great thing to do as later in the day it gets hotter and there was no trees on the top of the mountain - it was all bare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EMMW232431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A disappointment after the Banff gondola”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful view but old facility, not very visitor friendly .The ride up held perhaps 20 people but we went late in the day so it was not crowded..do not count on a pleasant eating experience up top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jda-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper SkyTram also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Jasper SkyTram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing