We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasper SkyTram

Jasper SkyTram
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.37*
and up
Jasper SkyTram
Ranked #4 of 48 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tramway system providing scenic views of the Canadian Rockies.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“top of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a must do on a clear day-we were able to see Mt Robson from the top without clouds over-a very rare sight apparently! It gives you a good overall view of the whole area-loved it. We had 27*c and cloudless skys whilst here-I believe that is quite unusual but they had a late summer this year. I was a bit miffed that we had to pay full fare even though we only had half an hour left up there as they shut early, which meant we could not walk to the summit-only had time to take pictures! but what pictures-totally awesome!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cella6793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,076
    580
    154
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
308 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We really enjoyed this tram ride and the gorgeous scenery. I think it was $30 but I don't remember the exact price. It can be cold up there so bundle up.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank setter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The view was amazing. Take warm cloths at the end of the season. Lots of space to find a spot and enjoy the views. It is a great spot to enjoy the colors of the lakes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank pattypotato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Breathtaking 360* view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you are visiting Jasper, Alberta, this is a great attraction to see. When we were in Jasper, we spent much of our days doing long hikes, and this was an attraction that we saved for an evening after supper, since Jasper doesn't have much to do in the evening. It was actually better to go in the evening, since the sun setting cast some lovely colours on the mountains which made for great picture taking.

Likes: price was reasonable. You can get a bit of a discount if you book through one of the adventure tour places in town and bundle it with some other activities like rafting. When you get to the top you can stay as long as you want until the last tram of the day, which is nice so you aren't rushed. Once at the top of the tram you have the option of exploring further up the mountain. There is a marked path to do so, but it is easy to get off of it to explore a little bit on your own or get some diffrent pictures. If you are physically able to do this - do it. The views are amazing.

Keep in Mind: It is much colder (about 10-15 degrees C) on the top than the bottom, so take extra clothes, and sneakers if you plan on making the hike at the top. It is a short hike, only about 30 minutes, but it is steep and rocky. ALso, take your own snacks or water. There is a canteen on the top, but it is waaaaaay overpriced. Bottles of water were about $3.50. Finally, during peak hours they tend to really jam the trams full. When we went there was about 25 peope in it, so if you don't like close spaces try going earlier in the morning.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank emilie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If it's a good clear & warm day in Jasper give it a go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife & I went on the Jasper Tramway whilst staying in Jasper for 3 nights during our 3 week tour of Canada.

It is a little expensive but not outrageously so.

There are very nice views from the top of the mountain. Unfortunately there was a driving freezing cold wind when we were up the mountain so we did not trek to the top. We would have liked to do this but it was just too cold (near the end of May).

During our tour we also visited the Banff Gondola which, was slightly more expensive but also provided better views, there was no ice cold wind but there was a good long decking style walkway between the two peaks which provided view after view of the surrounding mountains.

If we had not done the Banff Gondola I'm sure my review of the Jasper Tramway would probably be a more hyped one but when you compare the two there is little doubt which I would do, if I had to choose one.

If you are in Jasper and you get a nice clear day then I would say this is worth a visit. However, I would recommend trying to make sure it was a warmer day so that you can trek to the top otherwise there is not alot to do.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnC_6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper SkyTram also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Jasper SkyTram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing