We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular”
Review of Athabasca Falls

Athabasca Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.62*
and up
Canadian Rockies Tour by Chauffeured Sidecar from Jasper
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A spectacular waterfall in Jasper National Park.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A must see while travelling. A great excuse to stop and stretch your legs and see some pretty special falls and learn some history along the way

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharona88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,380
    1,004
    136
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Falls for generations”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We love Jasper area and make it a regular stop every year. Been coming to the falls ever since I was young. Now I bring my children. Can't wait until this year

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great photo stop”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The trembling waters cutting through the mountain is amazing. Completely in awe at the sheer beauty!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joyandlaughter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrhead, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The falls in winter are beautiful!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you're in the Jasper area in the winter, take the short 20 minute drive (not including stopping for photos of a lot of wildlife!) to the Athabasca Falls. They truly are stunning when they're frozen.

When we were there in February, the river and falls were almost completely frozen solid. There was still a bit of water running, but not much. We went in the early afternoon, around 2pm. There was still enough sun to hit the ice and make it shine.

Be careful of your footing, and wear proper winter footwear. The paths are someone maintained, but they are covered in snow and some ice. Common sense and good shoes will keep you safe!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Winter”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I love Athabasca Falls! It doesn't matter how many times I see them, I am still awed by their sheer power and beauty. I've stopped here in winter as well and the silence and stillness of these massive falls is equally impressive in winter.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athabasca Falls also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Athabasca Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing