We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a very clean, nice, and reasonable place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a very clean, nice, and reasonable place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel. It was very attractive and well-kept. The only drawbacks were the bed was rather hard and there was not microwave, but other than that--everything was great!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transplant06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    355
    225
    59
    26
See reviews for
153
416
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Chateau Jasper. Our room was a lovely and the king size bed very comfortable. We had a little refrigerator and safe in our room which made very convenient for us. There was a perfect place to walk our little dog just out the door from our room. I wish the Chateau from a little closer to the main part of town, but the walk was very doable. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanEdKirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Chateau Jasper is within easy walking distance of the small town’s business district of restaurants, shops, tour offices, etc. The hotel itself had a good restaurant at reasonable prices for this otherwise high-priced resort area between Banff and Jasper. The staff was friendly and helpful, the place maintained well and in comparatively good shape. They have a nice size indoor heated pool and hot tub in a large room with full-sized view windows to the outside. The only negative we found was that the typical motel-type beds were rather hard and the pillows a little too big - not enough with one but two was too many. WiFi was available in room, which also have small refrigerators

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Chateau Jasper was excellent for our short stay. Clean and in a convenient location. I would stay there again if returning to Jasper.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_arch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 726 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I have to start by saying that I didn't dislike this hotel particularly, but it was the most expensive and least fancy of the 7 hotels at which we stayed on our 13-day Calgary to Vancouver road trip, so I have to take off points for value. We stayed for 2 nights in early August. The underground parking lot had lint all over because the filter was missing between the laundry room and the exhaust which discharges into the parking lot. The front desk staff was very nice and professional. Lobby and exterior were attractive. The furniture and the furnishings were dated, but worked fairly well (except bathtub drainage). I did appreciate the extra sink outside the bathroom which lets one person shower while the other shaves. There was some vibration from the hotel's central heating or AC unit.
My biggest complaint was the hotel's restaurant, which was the worst of our trip, both in terms of food quality and service. After one meal there, we had the rest at the Best Western next door--which had great food and great staff at a fair price.
The hotel's location isn't great, being one of the furthest from downtown Jasper and all of its restaurants and other amenities. So while there was nothing really terrible about this place, I felt unhappy given the price to quality ratio.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed there for two nights. Our room on the third floor was located under some air conditioning (?) equipment in the roof. There was a constant low frequency humming that was hard to block with the earplugs.
Stuff was very friendly.
The breakfast buffet was bad. Very minimal selection for the price (though there were two choices of fresh fruit). The worst part was the tea - I asked for hot tea and it was poured at the table from a thermos container - tea brewed and served that way tastes stale and simply horrible.
The rooms were reasonably clean and mostly without issues, though the tub would not clean out quickly enough for you not to stand ankle deep in your own filth while showering.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkitsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
535 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

While recently traveling to Jasper, Canada we stayed at this hotel. The location was fine within walking distance to downtown Jasper with restaurants, the train etc. My only complaint was that there was not a decent air conditioning system in our room. I notified the staff upon departure in the hope that it would be repaired.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing